We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

S.Rufina home. Elegant suite in the palace of '700

The living room
The living room
The living room
The view from the condominium terrace
The building
Trastevere map
The view from the hall
Rome
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
asa_0
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location; Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at the S. Rufina apartment. It was as advertised. This review isn’t meant to be negative, just informative. There were four of us: my husband and my 15 and 11 year old. The apartment was equipped well enough; we found olive oil, salt, pepper, various spices and sugar left over from previous residents. It also had soap, shampoo and detergent. The apartment had great views, but be warned. Testavere is a busy neighborhood in the evening and if you leave your windows open, it can be quite noisy with diners. When we first arrived, the apartment was closed up and hot and stuffy. We turned on the A/C to cool it down while we were out but the A/C really isn’t very effective and since you pay for the electricity, the costs can add up quickly. We compromised; we closed the windows to fall asleep, then later when the room was stuffy, I’d get up and open the windows and turn off the A/C. By that time, the neighborhood had settled down. There is a Conad market in the basement of a store a few blocks away for supplies. It’s to the left as you exit the apartment, on the same side of the Viale as the apartment. Don’t forget anything because the steps up are wicked steep, and after a day of walking around Rome, this last climb can be defeating. There is a tram stop right before the bridge across the Tiber which takes you to the Wedding Cake. From there it’s a 15-minute walk to the Colosseum, and maybe another 15-20 to the Pantheon and Trevi. We were given a hotspot to use for our Wifi, which worked OK but it apparently went over its monthly limit on our second day, and we were cut off until the fourth day. You can get tickets at the newsstand near the tram; most people didn’t seem to validate their tickets. We used the roof deck, which was nice and cool but had no furniture. The washing machine works well, but has no dryer. DO arrange with Antonio for the taxi pick-up (~42euros). After a disorienting flight, your name on a sign is a welcome relief. Our driver was 10 minutes late, but even still it was easier than trying to figure out Roman taxis. Electric was deducted from our deposit; we averaged about 12 euros of electric a day over four days. I imagine a lot of that was the A/C; which we don’t recommend you run unless absolutely necessary. The apartment can accommodate four, if two of you are small, but really seams geared for three people.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Price, Location
Liked least: Air conditioning, steps
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
TrvlFam09
The Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect home base for visiting Roma!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My husband, three-year-old son and I stayed in ths apartment on our trip to Roma in March. We had a wonderful experience. The location is perfect. We walked to all the sights (except the Vatican, it was raining that day), but you can easily access buses and taxis from the apartment. Trastevere is a great part of Roma and you get a real feel for living in there in this place. There are several restaurants, shops, bars, etc. all around the apartment. We had a great dinner our first night at Pan'Unto, which is a pizzeria right next door to the apartment. Traveling with a young child, it was very important to us to stay in a accessible location and still have a separate bedroom so he can go to bed before us. This was a perfece place for us and I recommend it to anyone (note: there are several flights of stairs to climb, so be prepared).

Lastly, Antonio and his neice, Simona, were very helpful with all of the arrangements. Antonio arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport and Simona waited to meet us at the apartment, even though our plane was late! They were great hosts.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2013
Thank you very much Johanna. Your review is fantastic. Our House is always open for you when you decide to come back to Rome.
Have a good we
Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
VeronicaW...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Simply flawless!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is in GREAT location!!! It's within walking distance to all major sights (Vatican, Centro Storico, Forum Romanum, Colosseum, etc.) but at the same time Trastevere is not too touristy and has plenty of nice and authentic restaurants. I was originally debating between P. Navona and Trastevere and am I'm very glad I choose S. Rufina.

The apartment itself looks even better than on the pictures. It's charming, super clean and very well equipped. It also has beautiful view in three directions. The owners are very nice and accommodating (I had to change my arrival date in last minute and they accommodated my request despite the inconvenience it caused them without hesitation). They even texted me during our stay and asked if everything was fine.

I would stay in this home again when in Rome and recommend it highly!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything: really!
Liked least: Maybe little hard to find the first time.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Stefano31...
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Piacevole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation

Abbiamo soggiornato per 4 notti, eravamo 2 adulti e 2 ragazzi. E' stata una soluzione molto apprezzata dove era davvero piacevole rientrare alla sera dopo le giornate passate in visita alla citta'. L'appartamento e' in una casa d'epoca con travi a vista, pulito, ben ristrutturato e dotato di ogni confort, viene fornito il necessario per prepararsi la colazione. Si trova in un'area pedonale, in una via tranquilla di Trastevere, un quartiere che fa veramente sentire di essere a Roma. La posizione consente di raggiungere a piedi le principali mete turistiche senza la necessita' di prendere mezzi pubblici. Grazie a Claudia ed Antonio per la cortesia, la puntualita' e la disponibilita' nel fornirci informazioni. Decisamente da consigliare

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lauramich...
Crema, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tutto fantastico !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
Google Translation

Abbiamo soggiornato in questa casa per 4 giorni , eravamo in 4 adulti. Location veramente bellissima, curata in ogni dettaglio è pulitissima , oltre che attrezzata veramente di tutto . Ottima la posizione centrale , comodissima per visitare Roma senza l' uso della macchina . Precisione e cortesia dei proprietari sia nella comunicazione che nella consegna delle chiavi . Un grandissimo grazie di cuore per tutto . Ci vediamo a Maggio

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karoline...
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Una estancia excelente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

He pasado una semana con mi madre en este apartamento y ha sido una estancia muy agradable para las dos, sobre todo teniendo en cuenta que pasamos largos ratos desacansando en el apartamento. La relación calidad-precio es excelente. El apartamento está amueblado con buen gusto, es práctico, cómodo y el entorno en el Trastevere es muy agradable. Los dueños y Claudia están pendientes de todos los detalles y también nos ayudaron con algunas gestiones de transporte. Me parce un sitio altamente recomendable y si vuelvo a Roma me gustaría repetir.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Beny333
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Emplacement idéal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation

Il s'agit d'un charmant appartement avec des pièces spacieuses. Il est situé dans le quartier de Trastevere où nous pouvons trouver plusieurs de bons restaurants à proximité. Le secteur est à la fois tranquille et branché, parfait pour un agréable séjour à Rome. Nous avons eu un bon contact avec le propriétaire.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$104
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
antonio m
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2013
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing