We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Candia Luxury House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Candia Luxury House to your Saves list
Maison Candia Luxury House
Candia 20, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #584 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have reccommended this hotel to so many people. What a find! Perfectly situated within a few minutes walk of the Vatican, this boutique hotel is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.
Lucy cannot do enough for you. We arrived in our room and she cooked us complimentary snacks and made us feel very at home. Lucy is very attentive and is extremely helpful with answering questions for all that needs to be seen in Rome.

The bedrooms are stunning, contemporary styles, dark wooden furniture with a real Italian feel. Everything you need is in the room, a mini bar, coffee machine (at extra cost, but it isn't expensive at all), amazing bathroom facilities and not to mention the gorgeous jacuzzi hot tub which was used to unwind after a day of walking around the city. The breakfast was great too, continental but enough to fill you up until lunchtime.

Absolutely no faults at all with this accommodation. You are a 3 minute walk from the Vatican and St Pauls Square. PLENTY to do of a night time, lovely restaurants and bars. Not a far walk from the River Tiber.

Would love to visit again!! :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
56
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Highly recommended hotel located near the Vatican and close to the metro. The service was excellent, provided good suggestions for restaurants and itineraries along with helping with providing prosecco, breakfast and flowers to the room. Additionally, speedy help was provided in printing boarding tickets early in the morning. The small hotel is situated in a calm street a stone-throw away from the Vatican and a very short walk from the metro talking you to central Rome. The rooms very nice and elegant and breakfast was small but sufficient and very tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

On our trip to Italy,Rome was the first city we visited , we decided to stay close to the Vatican ,as our preference was history.For this purpose Maison Candia was excellent,located in Prati,we could just get out on the street and get into the Vatican,which was some 800 metres away.The room was really neat and clean and what was the gem in the crown was the service,our hosts Allesandro and Lucy were really warm and friendly people.They would go out of their way to make you feel comfortable .They would give you all the necessary information on places to see,transport and when my husband fell sick they helped us with booking an appointment with a tourist hospital on a Sunday(what was even better was that the hospital didn't charge us anything).Now that's something not all tourists will be aware of.Breakfast was also decent.It's a warm and happy place.....totally recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in Maison Candia just a stones throw from the Vatican Museum and it was wonderful. Starting with a warm and friendly welcome, through to an immaculate room with first class facilities, both my husband and I were suitably impressed. Within walking distance to most of the main visitor attractions, we would definately recommend, and a return visit is a must!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here end of Sept 13 with my wife for a long weekend. Staff were excellent, very helpful, arranged return taxi's from airport for us, all very smooth. Room was a delight, had everything we needed, jacuzzi bath was very welcoming after many hours walking around Rome. Breakfast was as expected in Europe, did the job and as usual service was cheery and always good advice on places to go available. There are some nice restaurants around the area, one with second name Molise is just a hundred yards or so to right as you exit apartment, another which is a pizza place is further along on left. The selection of bars is limited but not a problem to go to other areas for that sort of thing. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room at back, not a good view, but then you are in a city, doesn't matter. Room was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this hotel months ago only to arrive there late afternoon after travelling all day, to be told that there was a problem with our room and we couldn't stay there that night. The man behind the desk told us that we would have to walk up the road with our cases to stay in another hotel for the night. We walked for about 10 minutes to another hotel and the room was nowhere near the standard of the room we had booked. We decided to rebook at another hotel in Rome which ended up costing us another taxi fare and it was more expensive than the room that we were supposed to have. The only good thing was that they didn't charge us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I just came home from this B&B this morning. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights.
The B&B takes up a floor of an apartment block so it is relatively small - not that this was an issue, but I think they only have 6/8 rooms in total.
The exterior of the building and the lift up to the 3rd floor are both a little off putting, but they are not a reflection of the B&B so don't worry!
We were welcomed by a man that we only saw once during our stay, but he was very friendly and came into our room with us to show us how everything worked.
The next day we met Lucy and Alessandro and they both speak really good English and are both really friendly and welcoming people.
Breakfast is served from 7.30am - 10.30am ... one morning we didn't wake up in time for breakfast and Lucy rung the phone in our room to see if we wanted room service instead which I thought was very nice of her. She also rung us in the early hours of the morning when we left to make sure we were awake - also very kind of her!
The beds are comfy, the television is very big and runs SKY, (and we found out you can change most of the dubbed channels back to the original English language, which was nice!)
There is a safety deposit box, windows that block out noise from the outside well, (the road outside is quite noisy with traffic and for some reason the dustbin man came round every night at about 11.30pm and sometimes past midnight which was very noisy). Didn't hear any noise from neighbours next door.
Jacuzzi bath was lovely! (You have to make sure the bath water is covering all the Jacuzzi ports before it works by the way!)
Only a few problems/suggestions I would make about this B&B:
- When you arrive you are given a set of keys including about 4/5 keys - everyday it was quite difficult to distinguish which key was for which door so I would recommend they put colour tabs or something on the keys to make this easier.
- Our minibar was warm the whole time we were there, although we did ask the man on our first day if it could get fixed - but it never did :( would have been handy to have the fridge cold for our bottles of water.
- The key for the safe we such a pain to slot into the keyhole everyday! It has a keypad too, but for some reason you have to use the key and this was quite infuriating every morning.
- Watch out for the toilet - I am not sure their exact rules as the instructions above the toilet may not be translated into English very well, but we had a few 'issues' with their plumbing system and apparently you are meant to put toilet paper in the bin instead of down the toilet? Very weird but I suppose you have to follow their rules!
- Every time we turned on the tap or the shower, the water tank would make a weird noise, and sometimes it would make this noise in the middle of the night which was quite annoying - dodgy plumbing system maybe?
- The times of breakfast seemed to differ on a couple of days, even though on the welcome card in the room its specifies the times and so surely it should stick to these times.

The above comments make the B&B sound bad - but we really didn't have any major problems and it was a perfect, modern room only about 5 minute walk away from the Vatican and town and bus stops. Would recommend a stay here due to friendly staff, modern interior and location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Candia Luxury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Candia Luxury House

Address: Candia 20, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Candia Luxury House is without a doubt the perfect solution for an extra special experience in Rome.This Luxury House located right in the centre of Rome, perfectly combines the professionalism and hospitality of staff with sophisticated interior design.Located just 50 metres from the entrance to the Vatican Museums, less than 100 metres from renowned shopping streets such as Via Ottaviano, Cola di Rienzo and Piazza Risorgimento and just 500 metres from St. Peter's Basilica.Candia offers various room types and arrangements and knows how to welcome its guests in the best possible way, with style, elegance, and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Candia Luxury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Candia Luxury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.