We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for sightseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HQH Colosseo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HQH Colosseo to your Saves list
HQH Colosseo
Via Dei Serpenti 6, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #965 of 2,892 Rome B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great base for sightseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at HQH Colosseo Rome. Our room wasn't the biggest, but it was at the back of the building so much quieter than the bigger rooms at the front (we were given the choice and chose quiet over size).

The location is hard to beat - 10mins walk from the Colosseum and Roman Forum, 5mins to the Cavour metro station which is one stop from Rome Termini (or a 20min walk).

The rooms had a small kitchenette so we were able to cook our own dinner one night, all utensils, pots and dinnerware is provided. There's also lots of restaurants, cafes and gelato places nearby.

The rooms are basic, but clean and serviced each day so not much is left to be desired there. They are up on the third floor though so be prepared for the stairs!

Overall this was an affordable, comfortable place for us to stay during our time in Rome, thanks Orielle and your team!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the location! Hotel room was clean and comfortable. It was really ideal for us. Service was excellent! The only issue that all should be aware of is that there is no lift..you must walk up 4 flights. This is something that they do not put out there so if walking up stairs is an issue for you don't stay here..otherwise perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent almost a week in Rome with my daughter, and our stay In HQH Colosseo was fundamental to make our trip memorable. The room was nice, clean and cozy. The location is perfect, wherever the place you wanna go in the city. Via dei Serpenti is a very cool place, and you won't regreat if you spend some time walking around, day or night. But what really impressed me is how kindly we wherever treated by Orielle, the nice and kind lady that hosted us. In these days of fake quality and pretenciousness wherever you go, Orielle and her HQH Colosseu are gems for those who care about confort, simplicity, honesty and a good talk. I've been throwing some coins on those beautiful roman fountains so, I shall go back to Rome again. When this time comes, I'll call you, Orielle. Thank you!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and were very pleased with our experience. The room was a good size and very clean!! It is wonderfully located next to the colosseum and within walking distance to all of the sites. The room had an individually controlled air-conditioning system, Wifi access, and a private, decently sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet from the city noise. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I found this hotel after searching trip advisor. My main concerns were location and price, and this hotel delivers on both of these in spades. The hotel is situated in the dead-center of Rome. It is a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum and is only a 5 minute walk to the Cavour subway station enabling you easy access to all of Rome's major sights and attractions. However, my girlfriend and I did not use the subway much. The hotel's location made exploring Rome by foot much easier for us. In addition, there are many convenient restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity.

Our room was clean and modern and I did not feel confined. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a very roomy shower. The room was refreshed every day, and our clothes were folded for us and placed neatly on the bed. There were complimentary muffins, coffee and tea, as well as machine to boil water.

When you first arrive, you will need to buzz reception from the callbox to the left of the front green door and they will let you in. They are listed as 'HQH Colosseo.' Reception is not on the ground-level, but is instead on the third floor and you will need to negotiate this by going up several flights of stairs, and some parts are a bit narrow. This did not bother me personally, but be prepared if you have heavy luggage. There is no working elevator.

Keep in mind that this hotel is in the center of Rome, and of course that means it's very busy and very noisy, and the Via Dei Serpenti is no exception and our room faced it. There is also a fountain just across the street, and at night the locals like to gather there to hang out and they can be quite loud. The noise did not bother me, it was part of the experience of staying in the center of the city, and I was always so exhausted after a full day of walking around Rome and I still slept like a baby.

I would definitely stay here again. The price and location could not be beat, and the quality and the cleanliness of the room was great too. For me, that's all I'll ever need in a hotel when visiting Rome. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for these three core things as well.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a room that is not facing Via Dei Serpenti as it will likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a great little spot and we would stay here again if we get a chance! It is a 20 minute walk from the Roma Termini Train Stop. It is located in the Monti neighborhood near the colosseum, roman forum, and walking distance to many of the other key points of interest in Rome. It is also close to bus stops if you don't walk to most of your destinations. There are many great restaurants, bars, and bakeries very near by. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was decorated with a modern style and was the typical european size. The staff was very nice and helpful. Orielle suggested some very delicious restaurants and gave great directions. She also spoke english well, a HUGE blessing! Thank you for the wonderful stay!

A few tips:
1. HQH Coloseo is located in a residential building on Del Serpenti on the 3rd floor. You will need to look for it carefully (across the street from American Apparal and next door to a Pizza place with a Neon "Pizza" sign) and ring the buzzer to be let in. A staff member will email you before you arrival to discuss the time you will be arriving so they will be sure to be there when you check in.
2. There is no elevator. The gentleman that checked us in was kind to carry my bag upstairs. So if you stay here pack light, which is a good recommendation really for staying anywhere in Italy (hard to roll luggage on cobbled streets)
3. April is a great time to stay in Italy. The weather is fabulous during the day (mid 70's) and at night it is nice and cool. So the airconditioning units haven't been serviced to be used in most hotels (the case with HQH) so you must sleep with the windows open if you like it cool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street and the suites are affordable if you prefer a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea C, Proprietario at HQH Colosseo, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your comment and for sharing your experience in our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, the location so convenient and our hospitality! The fine words fill us with joy and encourage us to improve services and hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first trip to Rome and both my wife and I didn't know what to expect. We received a really warm from Orielle who I had been in contact by email regarding restaraunts and transport etc. She couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. Large bathroom with a large shower and a kitchen with all the necessities should you wish to cook. We were in walking distance to the Colosseum (roughly 5 mins) which was a huge bonus. We will definitely stay here again if we're lucky enough to get another holiday in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HQH Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HQH Colosseo

Address: Via Dei Serpenti 6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 2,892 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes walk from the Colosseo and Fori Imperiali, this property is right in the heart of the eternal city. About 15 minutes from the stunning Trevi Fountain and Piazza Venezia. Boasting free Wi-Fi and air conditioning, accommodation at the HQH Colosseo has modern decor, with parquet floors and a flat-screen satellite TV. Studios also include a fully equipped kitchenette. Just 300 metres from the property, Cavour Metro Station offers direct links to Termini Train Station and the Vatican Museums. Guests can find many shops, restaurants and cafes in the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HQH Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HQH Colosseo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.