We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black and White Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black and White Suite to your Saves list
Black and White Suite
Via Santa Maria del Pianto, 67, 00186 Rome, Italy (Sant'Angelo / Ghetto)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€139 (EUR)
Ranked #10 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Perfect! Great central location and wonderful rooms. Stayed here with my wife for two days in August. We had been driving around Italy for a week in more rural accommodations so we really enjoyed the modern amenities of the Black & White Suite (strong AC and shower). Owners very hospitable and accessible. They gave me tips on where to go and what to do and were always just a text away. When I return to Rome I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We can only confirm all the previous excellent reviews.
Martina is a perfect owner and an always available host in this B&B in the Jewish ghetto in Rome.
In July 2013 the white room on the first floor was for us a shelter against the summer heat, a rest point with a comfortable bed, cooled beverages and daily fresh fruit. A perfect location to discover the city on foot.
Paule & Herman, Belgium.

Room Tip: No elevator in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The location is perfect in a vibrant neighbourhood with some roman remains at the end of the street and we had no need to use public transport besides our arrival from the airport & departure to the train station. We took the largest/top floor black & white suite & the facilities are better than other apartments elsewhere, with full cooking facilities & a washing machine.The owner even booked some of her favourite restaurants for us & we recieved a discount on one occassion because of her reccomendation. The apartments were cleaned daily whether occupied or not & we were were supplied with complimentary drinks & snacks throughout our stay. It was not an issue for us and the cleaner & owner will always help; but if you travel with a lot of luggage or have difficulty climbing stairs(no lift) you may want to consider the 1st floor apartment(black) which seemed slightly nicer than the second floor apartment(white).

Room Tip: If not taking the top floor black & white suite the 1st floor apartment (black room I think) was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Black and White Suite in the White Room for five nights July 11-16, 2013. We always research where to stay thoroughly before our trips. This is the best place in Europe we have ever stayed in. The owner Martina is a beautiful, savvy, friendly, business woman who has made her B&B in Rome - the place to be. The Black and White Suite is situated in the old Jewish Ghetto, which is within walking distance to most of the ancient sites in Rome around the corner from the Portico d'Ottavia, Teatro Marcello, area sacra of the Largo Argintina, the Circus Maximus, the Capitoline Hill and the Forum. In fact you could not find a more central, pleasing, and cool area to be in. The area has some great restaurants to dine in (we suggest Il Giardino Romano just down the street for gnocchi like pillows and artichokes lovingly prepared or Beppe a deli with incredible salamis and cheeses). There is a supermarket 5 minutes away. There are plenty of cafes,a bakery, and a great fresh gelato maker in the little piazza where the Suite is located. A walk across the bridge and you are in the lively, hip Trastevere area.

The location of the Suite is quiet and ancient, but the White room has all the mods cons and is very clean: great aircon, (a plus in the summer), giant shower with great water pressure, comfortable, large bed, a large closet, bed side tables, a small fridge and a Digital TV. Noel, the cleaner, is awesome and a lovely man. He replenishes the towels, toilet paper, tissues, as well as the beer, wine, fresh fruit, water, biscuits and cakes in the fridge. Martina and Noel will cater to your every need if you request anything special... you just need to ask.

We highly recommend this place and have let all our friends and colleagues know that when in Rome, stay in the Black and White Suite. So book early, as this place will become more and more popular. Until we return, ciao!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the B&W apartment, two short flights of stairs then one flight inside the apartment brings you to the Lounge which is exactly as lovely as on the website with Kitchen area off (see photo), it is just a small area with sliding door off the lounge but contains all you will need. Washer great asset travelling with children or the excessive heat our week in Rome 34/39 degrees the excellent air con was a relief every time we walked in the apartment it refreshed us. Our son (12) slept on the sofa bed in the Lounge which he loved, open stairway leads up to the spacious bedroom with shower room off. Noel the caretaker was really nice, helpful and keeps the place spot on, he came every day replenished fruit juice sweet cake and fruit - the breakfast. We bought in bread (plaited bread like short baggettes did not dry out) pastries lovely pizza from Antico Forno del Ghetto Bakery/deli (left out the front door and left again 1 min walk) choose (or in my case point) at what you want then pay at the door on the way out (there is another famous Bakery too on the corner) for mid day meals out of the heat. I wanted the Piazza Navona area but this was actually much better between the Baroque and the Ancient Rome you can walk everywhere or catch the Tram at the end of the street, which we did to get towards Piazza Venezia/Monumento Vittorio Emanuel until we realised you would walk to the other end of the street and through Teatro Marcello (down under the footbridge or turn left through the passageway just before) much quicker. If you panic like I did on the first day there is a DeSpar supermarket Via di San Bartolomeo de' Vaccinari, cross the square walk towards the river past the lovely fountain then take a right along the road that runs one block in from the river. Martina was lovely to deal before during and after the stay, by email and text; she arranged taxis for us at unearthly hours in the morning who were prompt and safe. I hesitate to mention, for fear I do not explain how well it was dealt with, that she contacted us before our stay to say there was some work that had to be done at the apartment between the last people leaving and us arriving - many people would not have given us warning of this and pretended they did not know before the day there was no sign of any problem or that any work had been done - well done Martina for your approach on this - a very genuine person. We felt safe walking this area at night (we took to having an air con siesta at lunch) and the double glazing stopped any noise from the restaurants in the area reaching the apartment, there were tourists about (but no street sellers as we saw in Navona/Camp Di Fiori areas) but also local people sitting of the benches in the early evening, I was a bit worried about the photos on the website that look like a building site but in fact these are railings to protect ancient buildings more like a viewing area at the end of the street. (only one thing - there is a hairdryer - there is just about everything - but if your hair is like mine take your own more powerful one). Try Rome by Segway if you want a different tour. Thanks Noel and Martina I will not contemplate going to Rome again unless we can book this apartment!

Room Tip: Our only tip is - stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in the Black and White Suites for four nights with our two teenage grandkids. It was even better than I expected. The location is fantastic and the service wonderful. Martina is charming. She was waiting for us when we arrived, explaining everything. Noel, the cleaning man, was thorough and attentive. There was milk in the fridge and fruit on the table! All the attractions, plus restaurants, bakeries, and grocery shops are nearby. The only minus is the stairs. Noel helped with the bags but it is not an apartment for people with difficulties. We had no problem sharing a bathroom with two teenagers but two couples might feel uncomfortable.

We loved our stay and will return if we are lucky enough to get a chance!

Room Tip: We had the 2 room apartment with a kitchen and dining table. Great for a family. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved staying at the Black and White Suites! Martina was a great host and offered an upgrade to us which was greatly appreciated and also arranged for a taxi from and to the airport. We only had a day and a half in Rome and were able to walk to the attractions that we wanted to see. Rooms were immaculate and the food and beverages were fantastic. We have great memories of our time there and will stay at the Black and White if we are ever lucky enough to get to Rome again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black and White Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black and White Suite

Address: Via Santa Maria del Pianto, 67, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Sant'Angelo / Ghetto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLACK AND WHITE SUITE apartment on two levels, bright, located on the second floor of an old building in the Jewish quarter of Rome. On the first floor of the apartment there is a large living room with dining table, kitchen; on the second floor bedroom with bathroom. The house has 4 beds, two in a double bedroom and a double sofa bed comfortable for two people. WHITE ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. the breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. BLACK ROOM: Room newly renovated in a minimalist style, with all the comfort, offers maid service, linen and daily breakfast. The breakfast is in the typical Italian style. Located in a historic building in the heart of Rome. Close to all the tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black and White Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black and White Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.