We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, laid back and yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Pizzeria da Otello

Osteria Pizzeria da Otello
Via Della Pelliccia, 48/50, Rome, Italy
+39 06 589 6848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #994 of 8,707 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $19 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ristorante Tipico Romano a Trastevere
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Traditional, laid back and yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have visited this restaurant many times - this week it was the main motivation to travel 140km across Italy, but well worth it. We have eaten here as a family and as a couple and it is a restaurant that we all enjoy - the food and the atmosphere. There is a laid back approach to the waiting but it is always friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent. We have eaten all over Italy and find it hard to match the experience we have here. As a family we have a ecclectic palate and find that the menu offers a range of foods such as fresh meat, sea food, vegetarian, pizza and pasta. The cold salad bar is interesting and diverse and offers something alternative. I would definitely agree with mnhall that the Bruschette is wonderful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    192
    69
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Fish Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We went here because we were recommended by Luigi, a seventysomething year old local Roman. Situated in Trastevere, one of thebest areas to go out at night, it made or a typical italian evening. We also saw a few celebrities: players of the local Roma soccer team. The food was high quality. Not cheap, but made for a memorable and out of the ordinary evening.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent food but there is better in Rome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Recently while travelling with a small group (6 people) we stopped at the da Otello for lunch. The restaurant had been recommended by an Italian friend to one of our group.

Upon arrival we were sat at two tables outside, there is no room outside to accommodate a group of 6 or more as the "patio" is located on a narrow side street. The waiter spoke English which made it convenient for our group and our limited Italian. He recommended that we look at the Roman specialities on the menu. Based on his recommendation I ordered a salumi antipasti plate and the roast lamb, which the waiter said was the best dish on the menu. My partner ordered a caprese salad and beef rolls (piece of beef rolled and stuffed). Several people in the group order the mixed seafood salad as an appetizer and the roast lamb as a main.

I found the lamb to be just okay - it was over cooked though not tough. I prefer my lamb a little pink. Also, the portion was just small pieces and I found myself wanting more. The roast potatoes that came with the lamb were the highlight of the plate. The salami appetizer was just okay and not what I expected. It was listed as a Roman specialty but what I got I could pull out of my fridge in Canada. My partners caprese salad was good and she really liked the beef rolls. They reminder her of a German dish her family makes. She found the filling very flavourful. The people that ordered the mixed seafood felt there was too much calamari and not enough variety. Others that got the lamb felt it was just okay.

It bit of a disappointing experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Busy but it can't be for the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nice location in heart of Trastevere but although the place was busy that was probably just because it is cheap. Service was average, particularly if you didn't speak Italian and the food was mediocre. Lots of better options all around so I can't understand why they don't make the effort. Missed opportunity.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Terrible the worst in Rome they are in nice venue nice spot. in Trastevere but sucks everythings brrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Pizzeria da Otello also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Pizzeria da Otello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Pizzeria da Otello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.