We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Experience in Roma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inka Chicken

Inka Chicken
Via Palestro 32/A, Rome, Italy (Esquilino)
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Inka Chicken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,503 of 8,547 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Esquilino
Georgetown, Guyana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Food Experience in Roma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This restaurant located in the basement is like walking out of Italy. It's brilliant!!! The food is EXCELLENT. My girlfriend was pleading for some non-italian fare and this place was just the ticket. I needed some chicken soup for a sick traveler and they provided a take away bowl no problemo. We had a bit of a language barrier ordering our dinner, but the food was truly amazing. Lots of chicken selections and light or dark rice to choose from. The pork chops were cooked so well. Great service and they go out of their way to help. There are so many non-italians eating here that you know it's got to be good. A hidden gem in Roma!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    93
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very authentic! Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife is Peruvian and some of her family lives in Rome. We visited this restaurant with them to mix it up a little bit from the great Italian food we had been eating. Very good service and the food was authentic and delicious. Highly recommended for anyone looking to have a little different taste while in Rome.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great authentic peruvian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Food is really authentic peruvian. Its like you are eating in Lima.
(I lived there for more than a year so I am sure about that).
Ceviche (original peruvian style) and papa a la huancaina (potatos with sauce of yellow spice and cheese) were excellent.
Causa de atun (kind of a cold potato pastel) was good.
Arroz con pollo and pollo a la brasa were delicous and came with original peruvian sauces (aji de polleria)..
Portions were very generous (especially the ceviche which I highly recommend!).
They also had original Chicha (traditional Peruvian drink from boiled purple corn), Cacncha (traditional peruvian corn reminding pop corn) and Pisco sour (the famous Peruvian alcoholic drink).
Service was very nice and fast.
It is located very close to a metro station and within 5 minutes walk from the termini.
In conclusion we liked it a lot and went twice :)
Peruvian or not - recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Unfortunately we hit a bit of a language barrier here, but it did not detract from the friendliness of the staff. The chicken was delicious and the prices very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very tasty alternative to Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This establishment was a totally hidden find which would have went unnoticed had my father not complained about having too much Italian food. I would definitely recommend any visitor near Termini and the nearby hotels to have a try at their succulent and delicious grilled chicken menus. There were other rice and chicken based dishes which seemed delicious too. I have no knowledge of Peruvian cuisine, but I know good chicken when I taste one.

Service was excellent too. The waitress (possibly owner) of the establishment had very little command of English but we managed to get across to her our orders. The preparation time was slightly slow, but you cannot rush good, chargrilled chicken!

The price of our dinner was relatively reasonable. We paid around 60-70 Euros for a good dinner and beer for four.

More people need to come to this place so this little gem does not close down

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inka Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Inka Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inka Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.