We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware, tourist trap! They will rip you off.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ciro&Ciro

Ciro&Ciro
Circonvallazione Trionfale 59, 00195 Rome, Italy
0639720861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,633 of 8,711 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be aware, tourist trap! They will rip you off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Avoid this place at all cost, this is a tourist trap. We had the worst experience of our trip here. We ordered one if their specials listed in their board outside the restaurant about €20 but they ended up serving us their rip you off special catch of the day with a surprise €150 bill at the end. exorbitant price for a mediocre restaurant. They didn't want to give us a receipt, we only got it after repeatedly demanding it. the food was boring, terrible, terrible experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    109
    55
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What a ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I wanted to try some authentic Italian food and decided to visit Ciro & Ciro since it was close to our hotel. We looked at the menu and tho it was appealing, the waiters insisted on trying the special of the day. We curiously asked for more details and the waiter explained it but also adding that it was the best they had and at a very good price. Seeing that most of the dishes on the menu seemed reasonably priced, we made the mistake to order the specials without asking for the cost.
To make the long story short, we were shocked to see the final bill charging as each special at 3x the cost of the most expensive dish on the menu. When we asked to see the actual price of the specials, the waiter said that it wasn't written anywhere but he would've told us if we asked :/ btw, he also insisted that service was not included and we had to pay for it as well.

The place is a total ripoff and I've heard many people have similar complains. Please save your money and go somewhere else. Our evening was ruined and we don't want anyone to go through a similar experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to be confused with the Ciro & Ciro near the Pantheon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I started reading the reviews for Ciro & Ciro and then realised I was reading about another restaurant close to the Pantheon and the reviews were shockers. So I'll write one about Ciro&Ciro (nowhere near the Pantheon). This restaurant is about a 5 minute walk from Cipro Metro station (turn right out of the station and keep walking) - which also does not look like the photo on this page.

This restaurant was recommended by someone at our Hotel and I have to say was an absolute find.

The food was fresh, inexpensive and good value for money. The Bruschetta - the best I have ever had and my grilled swordfish was succulent - cooked perfectly and served with a lovely crunchy salad. There was no shortage of seafood in the pastas and although the pizzas were great in terms of the dough and taste.. the toppings probably could have been more abundant! Having said that for 7 euros as opposed to the average of 12 euros in Rome - not really anything to complain about.

Pizzas aside - value for money was beyond question, service fantastic and friendly doesn't even begin to cover it from the waiting staff right through to the lovely lady sitting at the till who was elegant and charming.

I rarely visit the same establishment twice but we kept going back and were not disappointed. There may be two Ciro and Ciro's in Rome - but this one is most definitely the better of the two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The waiters were great! Very fluent in English. Protected me from bothersome locals. Best pizza makers in the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with it, nothing superb.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food was good, and it is located in a lovely piazza 1 minute from the Pantheon.

The service was ok, but more emphasis was placed on urging customers into the restaurant.

Food was plentiful, as was the drink. Well priced; but don't expect the world.

I would eat here again if I was looking for something low cost.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciro&Ciro also viewed

 

Been to Ciro&Ciro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciro&Ciro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.