We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool little café in the middle of Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnum Cafe

Barnum Cafe
Via del Pellegrino 87, Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #790 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Bistro, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really cool little café in the middle of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We only came in here for the free Wi-Fi but this is a great spot! Really cosy, chill atmosphere, great coffee and the apple pie was delicious :) affordable too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Became our breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Staying a month in Rome we had to watch our spending and after trying a few places this became our permanent place for breakfast. Much more fun than eating in the apartment!
It`s definitely a quirky place with mismatched furniture but has great coffee and a good range of pastries, fresh each morning. Fruit juice also seemed popular with some.
Doesn`t seem to matter where you eat at the bar or table and at 5 E for the two of us was the best value in central Rome

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great cafe in the heart of Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Found this great little cafe when we were caught in a heavy rainstorm after visiting the Campo Di Fiori. Great cappuccino and even better carrot cake. Came back the following day for a couple of beers on the way back to our hotel in Trastevere. Liked the calm laid back atmosphere and very clean loo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky little Rome cafe ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. Its great for a chilled break to refresh with fresh juices and a warm snack. The open brick wall and quirky art style is lovely. Its a little hard to translate the menu to english but the staff will help as much as they can. Luckily we ended up with some good choices, hamburger con patate and panino con salsiccia, cipolla caramelut & emmental. Would definitely recommend. May even visit again on my trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This cafe is located down a lovely side street off Campo Di Fiori, and it has a really nice feel to it. The cakes are delicious and the coffee is very good. A place to relax or grab a coffee with friends. They also make fresh fruit juices which are tasty and there is a good selection!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnum Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Barnum Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnum Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.