We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria da Baffetto

Pizzeria da Baffetto
Via del Governo Vecchio 114, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)
39 06.6861617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,351 of 9,253 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good pizza...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

Yummy! !! There's so long line but when you have table you will eat very very good pizza....you should try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    386
    234
    114
    169
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

This pizza is thin crust and very good. Our experience here was great. The server was nice enough and the food was served quickly. This place turns over quickly so expect to be seated with others, be ready to order when the server comes over, expect to be served quickly, and be ready to leave once your meal is done. If your expectations are where they need to be, you will enjoy.

I should say that they were closed for lunch when we stopped by our first time. Because we visited a couple years ago and enjoyed, we made the trek back for dinner and were happy we did. The buzz is that they are just serving dinner right now. They have a notice on their doors that if you come for lunch, try the son's restaurant around the block. Lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You come here for pizza, not for romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

After having had some very dodgy pizzas during our 5 day visit to Napoli - the pizza capital of the world- we headed to Baffetto on our first evening in Roma as, having visited Baffetto during our previous visits, we knew for a fact that theirs would be the best pizzas we'd have during our two weeks' stay in Italy.

So, having been at Baffetto before, we knew there would be a queue right from 6:30PM. We were fortunate enough to be ushered in to the upper floor with some other couples. And I mean ushered, the waiter just waved at us asking "due?" and up the stairs the six of us strangers ran after him and were seated in front of a long table. Now, I must specify that the table was indeed for three COUPLES, so it didn't feel as if we were sitting in a plane, there was plenty of elbow room :)

Our orders were taken fairly quickly but we did have to wait for our pizzas for quite some time. That didn't come as a surprise, though, as the place was packed. On our previous visits I had had the joy of watching the gentlemen making the pizzas, and believe you me, those men work like a well trained dancing group, never missing a beat and keeping those pizzas coming out of the wood-fired oven at an amazing speed.

Their pizza menu is vast and I believe they can make any sort of combination of fillings if you so please. Well, perhaps not pineapple and banana (which, I am shamed to admit, have once had in Tenerife, XD) I had my favourite, Prosciutto, and my husband chose the one with anchovies. Both pizzas had just the right amount of pomodoro, cheese and toppings so that the nice, thin crust didn't go soggy and was easy to cut. And they were without a doubt the best pizzas we had during our stay in Italy :)

Well then, the service. The waiting staff are brisk, efficient and no-nonsense. You will be seated, your orders taken and -when the time comes- you will get your food. No one will come to your table, sing songs, play the accordeon and bow down to discuss the intricacies of the menu with you. The Baffetto is all about tasty pizzas, decent vino della casa and a hectic atmosphere bordering on chaos.

We would reccommend Baffetto. The pizzas are great and the whole experience is truly Roman. And with their reasonable prices, you really can't go wrong. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Decent pizza, horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

Pizza was good, service? No so much...you can get good pizza at a lot of places in Rome, but only a few will make you angry, too. It's as though we weren't even there. Couldn't even get their attention by waving. Finally had to go to the cash register to get then to even acknowledge we were there. Locals were coming right in and getting served. If you are travelling to Rome, my suggestion is to go elsewhere, or you'll ruin your day.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

The pizza here is really good, the place is not really nice and the service is not so good. The most important thing is to eat well and perhaps the pizza was one of the best that I ever had.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria da Baffetto also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria da Baffetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria da Baffetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.