We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House in the Light

Rome
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicola C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Welcome to Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Massimo & Paola are the perfect hosts and we felt as though we were extended family rather than strangers from the other side of the world. Travelling can make you feel very dislocated, but we felt very at home in this spacious apartment. I can't recommend this place and these lovely people highly enough.
Thank you.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The apartment felt like a home rather than a holiday rental.
Liked least: Small shower - but no smaller than the rest of Europe.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DarlenaMi...
Hudson, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our first trip to Rome and our host Mossimio made our stay wonderful. The apartment was clean and cute. Really has the flavor of a Rome neighborhood. Convenient to all attractions, walking and hop on hop off bus ,public bus and the Metro. A little market a few steps away. great local restaurants. The host really had a personal touch from day 1 to making sure we had a 7a.m. cab our last day.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing was wrong with this propert
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Raimondas...
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Paola and Massimo are really perfect - from the first contacts till the farewell words. Prompt in answers, flexible to the changes and sincere in communication. Apartments are spacious, kitchen is able to feed even more than four persons, especially when local market with all Italian freshness is very close. With always hungry kids it is really important :-).
"House in Light" is located very close to the Vatican City and to metro station, so both makes simply for you to get from airports and to reach Vatican Museum, St.Peter and other places of Eternal City.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Helga J
Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central, comfortable and felt like home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The owners are very organised and promt. The apartment is just right for 3 people... the wifi, washing mashing, the well equipped kitchen and TV made life easier and felt like home. Bus/metro connection is just round the corner. The mini market next door and the Trionfale market just at the corner of the street made shopping very easy. Area very safe at night... restaurants and ice cream parlours at walking distance. Only complaint would be the noisy traffic... but I suppose that is normal in Rome; and one gets accustomed to it by the end of the stay!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the noise pollution
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karin M
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Paola and Massimo met me at the door and were incredibly helpful pointing out all aspects of the apt. Everything was fantastic. I loved the location as it is only 3 blocks from the Vatican museum. I loved how close it is to the Metro. I especially loved being able to cook and that the Andria Doria market was only a block away: fresh vegetables & fish every day!! For me it was the perfect place to stay in Rome. I highly, highly recommend the House in the Light and if I ever travel to Rome again I will contact them first!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: That my visit was only 4 days!
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nina-Jode...
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome central place to stay in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start, everything was fantastic. My boyfriend and i rented the apartment for a 3 day stay in Rome. To start off the apartment was easy to find and both Paola and Massimo were great about making sure we got to the place easily and they worked around our schedule to meet us and give us the key. The apartment is a great size espcially for two people, the kitchen was great,living room was spacious and comfortable,bathroom was very very small but it was easily overlooked. The bedroom was big and the ac unit made it a great place to sleep at night. The shutters and curtains in the bedroom allowed us to sleep later to avoid jetlag which was nice.

As for the location, it is only a 2 minute walk to the vatican muesum and maybe a 5 min walk to St Peters. It was also surprisingly close to central Rome and all the sights like the Pantheon and Colosseum. Most days we jumped on the underground ( a 2 min walk from the house) because it got to hot but at night we could walk to all of Rome from from Piazza Popolo to the Coloseum in close to an hour. From the house to Pantheon it was about a 25 min walk and from there everything was no father then 15 mins.

I would highly recommend this apartment. Paola and Massimo were great. When a travel delayed kept us in Rome another night we asked them if we could stay an extra night and they were very accomadating and easy to get in touch with answering emails, texts and calls promptly. The apartment also has fast wifi which was great esp for those whose dont have international phone plans!

All in all great place to stay!

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
2011_Gild...
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly feeling at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

At the beginning of June, my boyfriend and I spent a whole week in this wonderful apartment and we absolutely loved it! From the very first moment, we liked the homely feeling that comes with it. The flat is indeed very bright and cool too. Despite the temperature on certain days would rise up to 30-35 degrees outside, indoors it was fine without air conditioning on. Overall it's a very charming flat, very clean and with some nice features too, like arched doors and the sink's tap in the bathroom shaped as a shower head with the hose attached to it too! The actual shower cabin is a bit narrow but the water jet is powerful. The bed is great! One of the best we've ever slept on!
The area is very lively (one evening, at home by one of the living room's windows, we managed to listen very clearly to a great gig performed at a nearby music club!) and literally next door to the flat there are a small supermarket and a huge covered local market where you can find all sorts of fruits&vegs, cheese, fish, meat, etc., you name it, all very fresh, delicious and at very reasonable prices. Actually one friendly lady that was selling cakes and cheese and much more, hugged us and gave us extra biscuits and cheese for free when she heard that we were very sad to leave the next day. She was so sweet! There is even a coffee corner inside the market, where we had one of the best croissants in town!
The location is great with the Vatican Museums right on your doorstep and St. Peter's Square within 15 min walking distance.
We also found very convenient the Cipro metro, at walking distance too.
The owners, Paola and Massimo were friendly, accommodating and reliable. Paola was very patient and thorough in answering all our questions before booking.
In one sentence: We had a great stay and we highly recommend it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The homely feeling
Liked least: Being a mezzanine flat, we would hear the slamming of the building's front door done by residents who did not bother to close it gently
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$102
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Paola M
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Sep 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing