We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem On the Banks of the Tiber” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rome River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rome River Inn to your Saves list
Rome River Inn
23 Bresciani Street, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy (Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 3,079 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Gem On the Banks of the Tiber”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perfect location, on the Tiber, just across from the Vatican, walking distance of everything in Rome, and terrific hospitality. Recently remodeled, welcome Prosecco on arrival, I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    33
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When we arrived at the Rome River Inn we instantly felt very welcomed. Our room was huge and very clean and the bed was massive and comfortable. We only had a slight issue with the bath tub as you couldn't stand up and have a shower - so if you wanted to have a quick shower, you had to sit down... and when you're not on the slim side it could be a real issue. But other than that, it was a really nice room.
The breakfast was ok... nothing special, but that is just the Italian way.
The location was also really good, close to the Vatican and Campo dei Fiori, Piazza Navona...
The 3 sisters running this hotel are sooooo nice! Always a smile on the face and asking if everything is ok, wishing a good day/evening/night.
Ok, the hotel is a bit on the pricey side, but then what isn't in Rome?

Really happy with this little gem and would definitely come back, but would book a room with a shower instead of the bath. Maybe a longer shower arm and shower curtain would solve this issue? Just a suggestion...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

For those of you who value traditional five star perks and service, I don't believe you will find this place to a five star or outstanding standard.

If you value open arms and a warm heart, then it certainly would tick your boxes.

The location is fantastic. I didn't see a train station nearby but from there we walked to all the notably tourist sites without any issue. It is very close to the Vatican, the neighbourhood of Trastevere, and the markets at Campo de Fiori.

The room itself was slightly awkward, and the bath towels didn't appear to have been changed throughout our stay. But we got a great nights sleep every night in the comfortable bed, and the location was very well placed for the sights we wanted to see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place is just great. As soon as you arrive you feel at home... As if you are among friends. The 3 sisters who are running this place do a really good job. Incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are big, clean and modern. The bed is really huge. Breakfast is fine, there is always something you like. You can have tea or coffee all day if you want.
In general you make an excellent choice by staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is a nice B&B, clean and very confortable. It is very close to the city center and with small walks many turistic locations can be reached. The yòung ladies at the reception are nice and kind and do their best to help and solve issues.
Perhaps a bit expensive; breakfast could be improved with a small effort.
It is also very quiet and from some windows the Tevere river can be seen !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The room we got was very good and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful, and the only problem with this hotel is noise. Traffic noise can be kept at distance by closing the windows. But closing the windows also means that the only air you get, is what comes out of the air condition unit.
Walls in the room was no massive enough, and both shower and conversations could be heard from the rooms next door.

I'm not disappointed, but for 180 euros per night, I cannot recommend the hotel

Room Tip: People walking to and from their rooms could be heard at night, so I guess that the rooms that are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here at the end of Feb and what a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to make sure that we experienced the best of Rome.
The rooms were lovely and clean, all of which had sky TV and a mini bar.

I would highly recommend this B&B as the location is great, it's within walking distance to all the main attractions; Vatican City, Coliseum and the Trevi fountain. Make sure that you buy a map, as it's so easy to get lost as all of the little side streets look the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome River Inn

Address: 23 Bresciani Street, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 3,079 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rome River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.