We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Meal in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Quarantaquattro

Osteria Quarantaquattro
Via Aureliana 42/44, Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)
0642013318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 8,545 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here for dinner upon the recommendation of our hotel concierge during our three night stay in Rome. It was near our hotel in a more residential area of town and seemed to be filled with mostly locals. The menu was all Italian with no English translation but Sergio, the owner, walked us through the entire menu line by line giving us recommendations along the way. We ended up having appetizers, a first course pasta, a main course and dessert and we emptied every single plate! The food was spectacular and reasonably priced. Sergio ended up sitting down with us after dinner for a great conversation. He seemed to be genuinely care about getting to know his customers and seemed to be just as friendly with the other patrons. The rest of the staff was friendly as well and we walked away feeling great about the dinner. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back next time we are in Rome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    70
    38
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Service non-existent!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After half an hour we finally got the menu. Then we tried to order for 90 minutes and left the restaurant in the end, without having eaten something but water and bread. The only positive was that we didn't have to pay for bread, water and apperitif, after another 30 minutes of trying to get the bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Really appreciated the lovely maitre'd who encouraged my basic Italian. Complimentary prosecco, wonderful meals and wine. Would definitely return. Can understand why the restaurant became full. Recommend booking during busy periods

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lot of hype....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The quality of food here...is really mediocre. Many reviewers have claimed it is the best they have had in Rome? I'm really not sure what other restaurants they have been reading ate. Service is OK, not great considering it is much more expensive than most tourist joints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was my 7th time in Rome and best dining experience I have had in the wonderful city.
I have no doubt that this model will catapult this year old restaurant to one of the top restaurants in Rome very very soon.
It's in a great location away from all the commotion, bad restaurants and street vendors...just a short walk from Barberini Square. The restaurant is located at the end of a very quiet street, adding to the romantic ambience.
A complementary glass of pro secco arrive soon after you are seated along with the menu. The waiter informs you that the owner Sergio will soon come around to take our order. We discover that the menu was all in Italian so my wife and I tried to decipher what it all meant. Sergio arrive just in the nick of time. He started by asking us where we were from and giving us some background about himself, born in Sicily and has a home in Umbria (interesting fellow). He then asks us about the type of food we like and quickly assessed how hungry we were. Sergio then explained the menu to us and recommended the most amazing complementing dinner and wine that my wife and I shared.
What really impressed me was that his recommendation was not price driven as the food was low to mid range price and the wine was the least expensive.
The waiters were terrific and very efficient.
Thank you Sergio and staff for an enjoyable experience and great food. This was a great way to end our 2 week vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Quarantaquattro also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Quarantaquattro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Quarantaquattro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.