We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martina House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Martina House to your Saves list
Martina House
Via Lazio, 9, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,297 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Indianola, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location at good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Martina House was a unique and personal space. It may not be for everyone, but for one night for us, it was comfortable and close to everything we wanted to be around that night. Air conditioning worked well and it had a unique and personal quality that made it a very comfortable experience. We felt like we were staying in someone's home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent location, clean, friendly and a good value. The place for me that hates huge crowded hotels when I'm on holiday. Martina is very assisting and help you in planning your stay / where to visit in Rome. Friendly place and i definately recommend it to others AND we will come back to stay in our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had an amazing 6 night stay at Martina House! The service is impeccable. The rooms are roomya nd comfortable. Breakfast is very filling and Martina's hospitality made us really feel like home. We were going to go to Venice and Florence for a couple of days but instead decided to stay here for longer! Thanks Martina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beautiful and full of charming features. Everywhere was within easy walking distance. Wonderful area with great local restaurants and bars. Only down side was breakfast. Would be better if it was a bit more self service than put on your plate and felt you had to eat it or offend. Had good air conditioning and the room was spotless. Great choice for a stay in Rome

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Martina was very informative and helpful.
Great breakfast. The location was great as well
Only downfall is that they cannot store luggage before you check in or check out.
Other than that very clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic 4 day stay at the annexe rooms at 54 Via Marche (pronounced Via Marke). Although very basic with absolutely no frills we found the room (no 3) was very clean with an en-suite, air conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was cleaned daily and the bedding and towels were also changed every day. We did not find any issues with water pressure, the bathroom was spotless and we had a lovely hot shower available imorning and night.

As we did not stay in the main hotel we were given (on arrival) a voucher book for a local cafe called Palombi just round the corner on the Via Venetto. The voucher entitled us to a capuccino and a pastry, which were all always delicious. The voucher stated that we had to be at Palombi between 8.15-10.30 but we were sometimes earlier/later and there was never any issues with service. We were advised that on Sunday morning we would have breakfast brougt to us instead of going to the cafe. Promptly at 9am we were served with cappucinos, fruit juice, parma ham, bread rolls, pastries and jam - Delicious!!

There was no issues with security during our stay. Provided with 3 keys - one for the main door to the building, the corridor for the rooms had another security door with a 4 lock system and then a key to our private room,

The rooms are situated at the top of the Via Veneto where the more expensive hotels are situated, Even more reason we feel that we got such a great bargain staying where we did. The likes of Harry's Bar and other famous well known eateries are near by. The Borgesse Park is less than a 5 minute walk away as are the Spanish Steps. once we got our bearings the Trevi Fountain was about 20-30 mins walk depending on how fast we walked, the Pantheon was slightly further. From our room The Colloseum and Vatican were a good hour's walk but I am sure we did not take the quickest route.

There are metered taxi ranks very locally placed on the next street down from the rooms.

All in all, I would not hesitate in recommending Martina House to friends or family. I enjoy 5* luxury hotels as much as the next person but I can honestly say for how much Rome has to offer in sight seeing, we were out and about from 8am to 10-11pm in the evening and the room did the job for what was required of it - washing and sleeping purposes - What more did we need!! Will happily return.

Thank you to all staff who helped make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the associated apartment in via Toscana. It was a spacious apartment for 2 in a good location, and very convenient for a visit to Villa Borghese which was splendid. The apartment is within walkng distance of many of the central attractions and there are also good transport and taxi links nearby. The apartment was also quiet being above some offices. The bathroom and kitchen would benefit from some upgrading but it represented excellent value for money. There were good restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: Arrange a visit to Villa Borghese if you like art and antiquities. You are likely to find you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martina House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina House

Address: Via Lazio, 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,297 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Veneto, the heart of Dolce Vita, in the centre of the town, Martina House is five minutes walking far from Spanish Steps.The double rooms have private bathroom, LCD, frigobar, air conditioning and wifi connection. From the windows over Via Veneto you have the panoramic view of Villa Borghese, the most beautiful park in Rome, and the people crowding the shops and the bars of the famous street.All the rooms have soundproof windows, decorated doors and walls.The very charming and convenient four stars solutions for travellers that want to feel the real atmosphere of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martina House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martina House Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martina House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.