We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna del Re

La Taverna del Re
Viale Manzoni 52/54/56, 00185 Rome, Italy
06 77 00 90
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,042 of 8,753 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stirling, Scotland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Delightful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had dinner on two occasions and was thoroughly satisfied with the food and service. A very extensive menu with the food being freshly cooked. It was delicious and packed plenty of flavour. The service was friendly and attentive. The numbers of repeat customers seemed to say it all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Rome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The dishes at Taverna del Re are simply delicious! I really liked the seafood pasta and risotto. Awesome!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eat the fish not the meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel, but on the way there we were accosted by a waiter in the street who gave us menus and escorted us to the restaurant!
The staff were mainly Asian and super friendly and spoke English. We could not work out what a young waiter and waitress were doing speaking on their phones, standing in the street and cuddling each other most of the evening though, in between standing in front of our table. It took us a while to realise they actually worked there. They were not serving tables or bringing in customers so it was a bit of a mystery.
The food was reasonably priced for Rome. About 25 Euros a head. The fish was beautiful and I would highly recommend it. Grilled sea bass, simple and perfect. The beef and veal steak were cheaper cuts and a lot of fat, bone and gristle had to be cut off. Steak knives would be a good suggestion. We had glasses of free prosecco and watermelon offered to us at the end of the meal which was a really nice touch. All in all we had a really nice meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Meal was ok for under € 20”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was decent , they could use a tiny little improvement, like adding more flavor to their pasta Bolognese

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with awesome atmosphere. The food was really good and the price ok. The service was also nice. Comfortable. I recommend it. The best of our 7 days in rome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna del Re also viewed

 

Been to La Taverna del Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna del Re, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.