We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the tomb of Saint Monica and works by Caravaggio and Raphael” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of St. Augustine in Campo Marzio

Basilica of St. Augustine in Campo Marzio
Piazza di Sant'Agostino, 2, 00186 Rome, Italy
06 6880 1962
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 687 Attractions in Rome
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
944 reviews 944 reviews
733 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
715 helpful votes 715 helpful votes
“the tomb of Saint Monica and works by Caravaggio and Raphael”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This lovely church houses the renowned Madonna del Parto, invoked by Roman mothers for centuries. The works of Caravaggio and Raphael evoke great emotion, but our favorite feature of this beautiful church is the tomb of Saint Monica, the mother of Saint Augustine. For whatever reasons you may choose to visit, it is worth the trip to experience this place of worship and all it contains.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge,Inghilterra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Caravaggio to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This exquisite chiesa del Rinascimento has some jewels - a Bernini altar and a Raphael fresco which , together with Sansovino sculptures make it well worth a visit . However , the most exquisite offering is the Madonna dei Pelligrini otherwise known as the Madonna di Loreto . I cannot describe the impact this picture had on me . I had just left the Caravaggios at San Luigi dei Francesi - three minutes walk away - and I had planned this visit to Rome to include a visit to all ten sites where there were Caravaggios available to view but I was totally unprepared for the emotional impact of this painting.The contrast to the normal depiction of the Virgin , either enthroned or as some ethereal being , with this young mother holding a naked bambino in the doorway of a run-down small house with two bare-foot pelligrini held me completely entranced , and quite unexpectedly conveyed a feeling of deep religious significance with an appreciation of a work of art that conveyed an impression of the figures being full of life . It is an unbelievably beautiful picture and was an unforgettable emotional experience for me .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Raphael & Caravaggio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

There's a lot to like in this Renaissance church - a restrained high altar by Bernini, sculptures by Andrea & Jacopo Sansovino, a Guercino altarpiece. But the real stars are two: first, the Raphael fresco of the prophet Isaiah on one of the pillars of the nave - pretty rare to find an admission-free & crowd-free Raphael fresco in Rome, & this is a beauty, handsome & muscular, inspired by Michelangelo's Sistine ceiling.

Then there's possibly my favorite Caravaggio, the Madonna of Loreto. Here we see Caravaggio's radical solidarity with the most needy segment of his society. Mary is gorgeous, holding a naked toddler Christ. She stands in a patched-up doorway - no princely real estate here. Two pilgrims kneel before her, the filthy undersides of the man's feet facing the viewer. There's an amazing rapport between the two sacred figures and the two very real, down-and-out Romans. This was a painter who remembered that it was supposed to be harder for a camel to pass thru the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven and who insisted that the Church fulfill its mission to the poor. If you're seeing the Caravaggios at S. Luigi dei Francesi, and you'd better, this is only a couple of blocks out of your way, and it's amazing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing find behind a plain exterior.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful! Walked in off the piazza to a real treat. No specific signage to say it was there just saw others going in so followed. So glad we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
204 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Overlooked church.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sant Agostino is right by Piazza Navona. It contains a work by Caravaggio and mural by Raphael. There are also other lovely decoration in the church once known for the presence of courtesans. Well worth a stop when touring the heart of old Rome.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of St. Augustine in Campo Marzio also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of St. Augustine in Campo Marzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of St. Augustine in Campo Marzio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.