We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in the center of Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconuts Female Hostel

Save Saved
You added Coconuts Female Hostel to your Saves list
Coconuts Female Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconuts Female Hostel
Via Giolitti 137, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 594 Specialty Lodging in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location in the center of Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Coconuts is a nice, pretty safe hostel for lone female travellers (and groups! I met a lot of girls travelling together there, but about 50% of us seemed to be staying alone). In my room there were two bunk beds and two singles - lone travellers are usually given a single which is nice. There's really big lockers and a reasonably-sized bathroom in there, too. The lock was very stiff in the bathroom and resulted in me and a couple of other girls getting stuck a couple of times. So just be careful with that!

You really need to know when you're going to arrive so the owner can let you in and give you keys to the hostel and lift - there are quite a few guys outside who like to look at and cat-call you, which is easy to deal with but not so nice if you were coming back alone at night. My bed was right next to the window onto the main street, and the hostel (in May...) was very humid so unfortunately the window had to be kept open so if you're not good with noisy places this hostel might be unsuitable for you. At night you can hear a few drunks, lots of cars, trains, station noise... but the location is so convenient if you can put up with that! Actually I walked to most of the places I wanted to go - so central attractions are very accessible by foot. And of course that makes a trip cheap even cheaper - this hostel is really worth the price!

There's also a little kitchen with a fridge, some utensils and dishes and a microwave, kettle, etc... so it's easy to go and buy food from the Conad supermarket in Termini and to bring it back. There's only a tiny social area but the wi-fi isn't bad. Also a lot of people leave behind guidebooks (especially in Korean!) so you can find some reading material if you've come back earlier. As for the curfew published on a few sites - this is not enforced. You can come and go as you please.

Room Tip: Random allocation - the room that sleeps 6 was absolutely fine, though, and really spacious! You hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am still new to hostels so I was very hesitant of this one after booking it on a whim while planning a last minute trip by myself. Altho it was hard for me to find it from the street. (There is no sign outside) The hostel room was very large and clean. You get your own locker and cozy pillows and blanket. Much nicer than any other I have stayed at. As long as you head back to your room well before dark. The area is super sketchy at night. It was noisy as it is literally across the street from the train station but it was very nice and I would definitly recommend it as a female budget traveler!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location is VERY convenient, right across the street from the Termini station. The lockers are fairly big and come with a lock and key, and can fit bigger backpacks. The internet worked fine while we were there, although there were times when it was slow. The rooms and bathroom are reasonably clean. It's a good option for female travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Coconuts was good, overall, but the WiFi was awful the entire duration of our stay (3 nights). Also, the water in the shower sporadically changed from really hot to really cold. As other reviewers have been saying, the location is super convenient - right across the street from the train station. We noticed some pretty creepy guys liked to hang around at night, though. It was clean and offered private bathrooms and a common kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Coconuts is located right across the street from the main train station (termini). It is very clean with a small common area with a computer. Wifi is great. There is a small kitchen with dishes and a refrigerator. each room has its own bathroom with a small shower. The water is tricky because it goes from cold to very hot through out the entire time in the shower. I had to move out of the way of the water because it got too hot so you had to wait for the water to be just right to get back in and then you only had a short time before it got very cold so the shower took a long time because of the changing of the water temperatures. The beds are ok for a couple of nights and the pillows are comfortable. You get a big locker. it was big enough to put in my suitcase and a duffle bag. They have an elevator however it is small so it you are traveling with another person and you both have luggage you will have to ride up individually but it is worth it. I met very nice women there. The outside surrounding area is a bit seedy with a bar next door but I was never bothered by anyone day or night. I would stay htere again. they also rent you a towel for 1 euro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms for the price! And you can't beat the location it's close to the main train station so chances of getting lost are reduced! The communal area is alittle on the small side and as it's next to the boiler but it's fab value for money, it has a lift and the rooms have their own bathroom so there's no long queues for the shower in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Location is great but a little bit ugly near Termini station.
But hostel is fine and very nice.
Only girls and nice ones.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconuts Female Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconuts Female Hostel

Address: Via Giolitti 137, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 594 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Coconuts Female Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconuts Female Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;