We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria dei Musei

Pizzeria dei Musei
Via Sebastiano Veniero & Via Santamaura, Rome, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,682 of 8,759 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a wonderful family owned restaurant that is very close to the Vatican. The food was delicious; the service was top notch, but most of all, the atmosphere was fun, fun, fun.
Sala, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice restaurant and pizzeria near the Vatican Museum. Tasty pizza and pasta, good wine, accetable prices and very pleasant staff. You have to praise food, the best way - with applause and noisily. Chef will reward you :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem of a find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The place was packed with locals. The service was outstanding.

Now the food, forget menus this is Rome. A three hour experience a great meal.

The courses kept coming and being picky there could not be found a thing wrong. All 5 members of the group (two were local) were raving about the food. Cooked to perfection, more than enough, the wine selection was good, and in the end the total cost was avgerage for Rome in the area of 30 euro a person. If this was in NYC you would have spent 3 times that amount.

Will visit again when in Rome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing, cheap and close to the Vatican Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After walking 2 hours in the Vatican museum we were looking for a nice and cheap place to eat, we knew we were in a very touristic are and didn't expect to find such a hidden gem!

You just need to walk 5 minutes after leaving the museum and you arrive in the little street with the restaurant and its terrace. The place is really quiet despite being so close to the Vatican museum. The food was excellent!! We had pizza and pasta and it was delicious, for dessert we had tiramisu and we were not disappointed at all!

The waiter was really busy but still friendly and we couldn't believe it when we got the bill!

I strongly recommend this little pizzeria if you're hungry after your visit ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Burst gasping from the Vatican Museums-all 18 of them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant is just down the road from the exit of the Vatican museums. By the time I come out, I want something tasty, good service, a nice glass of wine , a friendly welcome and reasonable prices/ All of this is available in the Pizzeria dei Musei. Tell them Mary sent you. It is very good pizza and pasta, cold meats, good coffee and you are ready to head up to St Peter's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pizzeria Dei Musei, Rome, June 2013.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Located right outside the Vatican museums, so a good place to come after there. The food was very nice and the price was great, however the service wasn't too good. There was a tour group eating too and all the attention from the staff went to them. It must have taken a good 15 minutes after finishing our meal to get the bill. Despite that, very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria dei Musei also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria dei Musei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria dei Musei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.