We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Rome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE HIGHEST
Ranked #50 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classy Rome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed at the hotel 47 for 3 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!
Arrived slightly early but no problem in getting our room . I had booked a classic room which was one of the cheaper options and was at first disappointed as it was in fact a room without a view and no coffee ! However it did have the most important thing a huge comfy bed! We soon got over the lack of view and coffee by visiting the rooftop restaurant for superb coffees ,cocktails and a fantastic view , complimentary canapés were served with the drinks and this became our daily treat!Prices up there were comparable to British City prices although be careful soft drinks were much more expensive 7.50 euros for a schweppes lemon!
The atmosphere at the hotel was calm and relaxed and staff courteous. Breakfast was very nice not special but nice anyway!
The hotel is situated in an ideal location and we walked everywhere ,even to the Vatican ( 45 mins). We spent our evenings just across the road in charming Travestre and appreciated the air con , comfy bed and blackout blinds enabling us to get a good nights sleep when we returned.
The hotel also has a small gym and steam room if you've got any energy left after all the sightseeing!
The only slight disappointment was that our special anniversary seemed to be overlooked by the staff . I had sent an e mail prior to the stay but maybe it wasn't received? Also we had our cards up in the room also obviously not seen!I wasn't expecting anything special but maybe a card or some recognition of it would have been nice !
Hotel 47 is what you would expect a hotel to be in a classy city like Rome.
Recommended especially the rooftop bar!

Room Tip: Classic room fine ,you can visit the rooftop bar for coffee and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest, we thank you very much and we appreciated your comments. We apologize if we missed the special occasion of your anniversary.

We take the opportunity to explain, as we did in the past answering the reveiw, that we have only 61 rooms . For special occasion we invite to book in advance higher categories of rooms in order to have view guaranteed , deluxe rrom or suite with balcony..

Especially during the high season with full occupancy is very hard to upgrade .

Hoping that you will understand, I kindly ask you to contact me directly next time you decide to visit Rome again.

Kind Regrds

Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    367
    83
    25
    20
See reviews for
237
842
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went to Rome to celebrate my mothers birthday, and this hotel really made it perfect. We stayed here for four nights, and we could not have been happier with our choice! The rooms are very nice and quite big compared to other hotels I have visited in Rome. The location was amazing, everything we wanted to see was in walking distance! We also loves that the charming neighborhood of Trastavere was just across the bridge, with all its nice shops and cosy restaurants.
The staff at the hotel was very helpful, and the service was great! On my mothers birthday, we found that a complimentary cake had been placed in their room when we came back from our sightseeing of the day. That was just a wonderful surprise, as none of us had told the staff that it was her birthday. They must have noticed it by themselves, such a nice thing to do! The rooftop restaurant was amazing! We had a three-course meal there two nights in a row, and the food and the view was just perfect! I definitely recommend this hotel if you want the perfect place to stay in Rome. I´m definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
You said we were perfect and we really thank you . Our goals is to try satisfy 100% of the Guest , sometimes looks a mission impossible. We have 92% of good evalaution this is a great score and we thank you for encouraging us to keep working to achieve 100%

Best Regards

Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent 4 great days here and in spite of our luggage not making it until the night before we left we enjoyed everything about this hotel! The staff was helpful and encouraging while we were waiting for our suitcase. Food was wonderful. We all fell in love with the Hotel 47 bath foam. We wish you sold it! :D It was nice to enjoy it after we got home. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much . We are very happy you were satisfied 100% with the service, accomodation , food ....everything.
We look forward to welcoming you again , do not to hesitate to contact us and we will do our best again.

Kindest Regards

Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Rome for our minimoon in Rome. We were not disappointed with our choice and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

The location is fantastic. We walked to all of the major sites in the city from the hotel, in 1 day. just to give you an idea of time scales, we made it to the Wedding Cake in under 5 minutes and to the Colussium in about 15. There was a Metro station near to the latter, but we didn't feel the need to use it.

Our room. We went for a basic one as we weren't expecting to be there much but the black out blinds meant that we actually slept for far better and for far longer than we had planned! The bed was very comfy, the room itself spacious and the bathroom a great size (and it was all spotless).

A special mention has to be given to the staff in the roof top restaurant. We popped up on our first night to check out the view and ended up staying for a drink, which turned into a few drinks etc. At about 7pm we decided that we didn't want to move on so I went to speak to a waitress to see if they could squeeze us in. To cut a long story short, they were fully booked but ended up dressing and setting our table so that we could eat. We ended up taking a few hours over our meal (it was delicious) and also having a beautiful bottle of wine and it all came to about 110 Euros (with a 20% off voucher that we were given when we checked in). Watching a lightening storm over Vatican City whilst eating this meal was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

We were not as impressed by the breakfast but the roof top restaurant had set a very high standard! It was all fine (there was a good selection of meats, cheese, pastries and cereals etc), but the staff didn't seem as warm. There was also a limited selection when we went down towards 10am but this was partly due to another group who loaded their plates to make sure that they didn't miss out on anything.

My niggles. There were a noticeable number of blown light bulbs on our corridor and dirty room service plates that took a very long time to disappear (other people's).

We made some fantastic memories in Rome and Fortyseven served to be a fantastic base, but also a sanctuary away from such a busy city. Would I go back? Hell YES!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sir thank you for your comments
Sorry for some inconvenience you had . We forwarded your feedback to room service and maintenance departmet.

Thank you again and we hope next time to perform at higher level.

Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Mrs and I found ourselves in Rome in an unacceptable hotel situation on a busy Saturday in May. The 47's staff was able to fit us into their establishment, even arranging to move our luggage once or twice during our one week stay.

The 47 is very comfortable, with rooms similar to American ones, a big clean fully functioning bathroom, excellent rooftop restaurant with unbeatable views of Rome's oldest buildings. Very friendly and helpful service, great breakfast, good recommendations from the staff ... well, we really really liked it. If there is any drawback it would be that the location is (slightly) out of the forum / pantheon / spanish steps axis.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests , thank you very much we usually share comments with the staff and reading this positive comments is the best way to keep working.

Thank you and hope receiving you agian.

Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It was a really terrific hotel located in a good location near the Forum and Circo Maximo. We were able to walk to a lot of places. The rooms were well kept and very nice and we were able to get two adjoining rooms so the whole family could be together. Nice views out over a lot of the city. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. But the best part was the rooftop restaurant. Absolutely beautiful destination with stunning views out over Rome. The restaurant was really well done and hip and fun. And the food was excellent, as was the service. This is a great place to visit whether you're staying at the hotel or not.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for the "Terrific" you are too generous. We are very proud to host families to make their holydays so special. We hope to satisfy your expectations also on the occasions do not hesitate to contact us when back in Rome.

Best Regards
Paolo Dalle Vacche
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location a stone throw from the River and 10/15 minute stroll to the Colosseum and other central sights.

We were given a 20% off voucher for the Rooftop restaurant (for a la carte menu) on check in and took advantage on the first night, after nipping up for a glass of fizz and finding the service so good we enquired about a table to eat ... although full for the next few hours, they converted our drinks table to a dining one and we enjoyed a fantastic meal - 3 courses and a bottle of red for €116 (including 20% discount).

The room was clean and spacious for what we needed. We were on the first floor however were not disturbed by any street noise (we weren't on the front, near the main road though). Black out blinds were brilliant, especially if you wanted to have a little extra snooze in the morning without the morning sun. Also robes and slippers in the room were a nice touch.

What stops this being an amazing hotel - we checked in to dirty room service dishes left outside our room, and they were still there the following morning, quite disappointing. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing compared to the standard of food served upstairs on the roof - we even found a hair in the sausage, but with a buffet offering this could have been a guest rather than a member of staff?!?)

The staff were all very friendly and no matter at what time of a day or night we ordered a taxi it took just 4 minutes to arrive with the system the hotel has in place.

Would we stay again ... for sure!!

Room Tip: With the black out blinds all rooms should allow a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Director of Sales at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff, and management, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here with us at the Fortyseven Hotel with Tripadvisor readers! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Roof Garden Circus, yes we are quite busy for dinner but it was a good thing you could try our Chef’s specialities, all our pasta is home made and dishes are really a genuine sample of the best tradition of the Italian Cuisine. I am really sorry for the inconvenient at breakfast but a buffet is a little delicate to handle, the sausages are in a container that have a cover but sometimes guests serve themselves and do not close it afterwards. All my colleagues at the kitchen wear a cap so as you said, it was probably from a guest.
We truly hope to welcome you soon again and hear that you found a better service!
Warm regards from Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#79 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#39 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
#16 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 4,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#51 Family Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.