We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Once we were Romans
Ranked #44 of 1,266 hotels in Rome
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just ended a 3 day stay in Rome. This was my first trip to the city. Rome is a beautiful place and I had a great time. A big part of the enjoyment was the hotel. It was excellent. Great service, excellent location (within walking distance of the forum, colosseum, subway stops, etc.) and a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. No complaints at all. And, I want to single out the evening concierge, Claudia. She recommended 2 excellent restaurants, gave directions and was incredibly patient when I got lost and had to come back to the hotel for more directions. I got lost because of me not her directions. Anyway, she went well out of her way to make sure my stay was the best it could be. This hotel was recommended by friends and I am recommending it to you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    873
    315
    72
    22
    17
See reviews for
192
700
22
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was my first stay in Rome, and the hotel made it a perfect one! The staff was friendly and helpful, multiple bus stops are right out front, and breakfast was great! Our room was upgraded, clean, spacious, and had lovely bath products. The restaurant has a great view, and I recommend it for dinner. You can walk to the Colosseum or over Trastevere with ease. In addition, we met Adrienne, manager, who went beyond the typical check in with a guest. Overall, a fantastic stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2012. The hotel is in a great location and we were able to walk to all the main tourist attractions including the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps.
The hotel rooms are large and comfortable and really peaceful.
The rooftop venue provided an excellent view over Rome and an enjoyable dinner.
The staff were excellent throughout our stay. They are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They all speak good English and helped with any query we had.
I strongly recommend the Fortyseven Hotel in Rome to make your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in December 2012. The hotel is at a great location with many of the main tourist attractions being within walking distance - Piazza Venezia, Coloseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and the lovely area of Trastevere is just a short walk across the river.
The hotel rooms are large and well furnished. My only comment is that the rooms could do with more accessible power sockets that stay on all the time, in order to charge mobile phones, laptop PCs etc.
Breakfasts are good with a choice of food. Evening meals are excellent if somewhat pricey. We joined the New Year's Eve party. Food and endless drinks were all included in the price. The roof level venue provided an excellent view over Rome at midnight when fireworks were set off in many parts of the city.
Finally, the staff provided excellent service. They are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They all speak good English.
I strongly recommend the Fortyseven Hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in an executive suite and loved the stylish, spacious room! What a great value!! Breakfast was nice and quiet, staff sweet and helpful! Convenient location and great restaurant recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience with Hotel Fourtyseven. The staff very accommodating and helpful. We asked them so many questions, and they helped us with taxis, laundry, mailing post cards, and getting dinner reservations at excellent restaurants. The location is also fantastic - just a few minutes walk to the Capitoline, Circus Maximus, Forums, and Trastevere for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was out 2nd stay at the Hotel Fortyseven. We returned because we enjoyed the hotel the first time --- 6 years ago --- at that time the hotel was just 2 years young and very warm and friendly. We recall the spacious sun drenched room, the friendly reception, and the general warmth of the hotel staff. This trip we had a room that had little or no sun and had to have the lights on as we faced a small side street (virtually no sun at all). The car noise from Via Petroselli echoed up between the 2 buildings.
Also at night we heard water as if it were in our room --- actually it was from another room running down a pipe in the wall ---on our last night we had to call the reception desk as the room above was moving chairs and stomping on the floor --- this continued for a time.
To its credit the hotel is very clean. The bathroom is spacious and very neat and clean. The breakfast buffet area can become congested.
The restaurant (on the top floor) is disorganized. The timing between courses is way off and there is a fair amount of "fast walking" almost running between the tables and the kitchen. It took 45 minutes from the time of our order for the soup and shrimp tempura to arrive. The 2nd course took another 20 minutes to arrive and then finally our main course (the meat was actually delicious) but the smashed potatoes upon which the meat was served were icy cold. Without dessert or coffee the meal was over two hours.
The reception desk(s) are now located in the main lobby --- a nice idea but leaving no room for a personal conversation with the receptionist as the lobby is very small and open.
We loved the Fortyseven because of the location -- because of the sun bright room and the cleanliness and modern feel of the hotel. This time we got another look ....and another feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#19 Business Hotel in Rome
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.