We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Elegant Hotel, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
THE HIGHEST
Ranked #50 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Elegant Hotel, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in December 2012. The hotel is in a great location and we were able to walk to all the main tourist attractions including the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps.
The hotel rooms are large and comfortable and really peaceful.
The rooftop venue provided an excellent view over Rome and an enjoyable dinner.
The staff were excellent throughout our stay. They are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They all speak good English and helped with any query we had.
I strongly recommend the Fortyseven Hotel in Rome to make your stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    367
    83
    25
    20
See reviews for
237
842
27
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in December 2012. The hotel is at a great location with many of the main tourist attractions being within walking distance - Piazza Venezia, Coloseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and the lovely area of Trastevere is just a short walk across the river.
The hotel rooms are large and well furnished. My only comment is that the rooms could do with more accessible power sockets that stay on all the time, in order to charge mobile phones, laptop PCs etc.
Breakfasts are good with a choice of food. Evening meals are excellent if somewhat pricey. We joined the New Year's Eve party. Food and endless drinks were all included in the price. The roof level venue provided an excellent view over Rome at midnight when fireworks were set off in many parts of the city.
Finally, the staff provided excellent service. They are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They all speak good English.
I strongly recommend the Fortyseven Hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in an executive suite and loved the stylish, spacious room! What a great value!! Breakfast was nice and quiet, staff sweet and helpful! Convenient location and great restaurant recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience with Hotel Fourtyseven. The staff very accommodating and helpful. We asked them so many questions, and they helped us with taxis, laundry, mailing post cards, and getting dinner reservations at excellent restaurants. The location is also fantastic - just a few minutes walk to the Capitoline, Circus Maximus, Forums, and Trastevere for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was out 2nd stay at the Hotel Fortyseven. We returned because we enjoyed the hotel the first time --- 6 years ago --- at that time the hotel was just 2 years young and very warm and friendly. We recall the spacious sun drenched room, the friendly reception, and the general warmth of the hotel staff. This trip we had a room that had little or no sun and had to have the lights on as we faced a small side street (virtually no sun at all). The car noise from Via Petroselli echoed up between the 2 buildings.
Also at night we heard water as if it were in our room --- actually it was from another room running down a pipe in the wall ---on our last night we had to call the reception desk as the room above was moving chairs and stomping on the floor --- this continued for a time.
To its credit the hotel is very clean. The bathroom is spacious and very neat and clean. The breakfast buffet area can become congested.
The restaurant (on the top floor) is disorganized. The timing between courses is way off and there is a fair amount of "fast walking" almost running between the tables and the kitchen. It took 45 minutes from the time of our order for the soup and shrimp tempura to arrive. The 2nd course took another 20 minutes to arrive and then finally our main course (the meat was actually delicious) but the smashed potatoes upon which the meat was served were icy cold. Without dessert or coffee the meal was over two hours.
The reception desk(s) are now located in the main lobby --- a nice idea but leaving no room for a personal conversation with the receptionist as the lobby is very small and open.
We loved the Fortyseven because of the location -- because of the sun bright room and the cleanliness and modern feel of the hotel. This time we got another look ....and another feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel! Large room and beautiful view of the fireworks for New Year's Eve! Friendly staff, good breakfast and great location (near Foro Romano and the Coloseo). Will stay here next time we come to Rome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as part of a pre -cruise package my travel agent arranged. The hotel was good enough in assisting me with private tranfers from FCO airport. Market rate was about 60 Euro's , the service the hotel provided was 50 Euro's. Arrived at the hotel early about 8AM and the room wasn't quite ready (normal check is at 2 I think). The hotel staff were extremely helpful in trying to speed things up to let me check in early. Was in my room by about 9:30.
I like the design of the hotel and the room size. The three previous times I stayed in Rome, hotels I stayed at were nice, but rooms were always closet sized. The Fortyseven though had nice spacious rooms. Free internet and a rooftop dining was really nice as well
Other part I liked were the bathrooms. Heated towel bars. Very large 8'x8' glass walk in shower, well lit, nicely maintained and fresh looking. Overall the hotel was far above average and a bargain for the price paid.
If I were to find any fault was the restaraunt for breakfast. During the first day only one waitress was available to do everything (put out buffet, serve coffee, bus tables), for the first two hours the buffet was open. When we were leaving the first day we noticed she finally had help 2.5 hours after breakfast started, and second day wasn't much better.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed to have larger bathrooms and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#79 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,633 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum - Small Luxury Hotel
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale A Montecitorio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#39 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
Hotel Campo De' Fiori
#16 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,269 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 4,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#51 Family Hotel in Rome
#58 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.