We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around --semi-disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Once we were Romans
Ranked #44 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Westwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“2nd time around --semi-disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was out 2nd stay at the Hotel Fortyseven. We returned because we enjoyed the hotel the first time --- 6 years ago --- at that time the hotel was just 2 years young and very warm and friendly. We recall the spacious sun drenched room, the friendly reception, and the general warmth of the hotel staff. This trip we had a room that had little or no sun and had to have the lights on as we faced a small side street (virtually no sun at all). The car noise from Via Petroselli echoed up between the 2 buildings.
Also at night we heard water as if it were in our room --- actually it was from another room running down a pipe in the wall ---on our last night we had to call the reception desk as the room above was moving chairs and stomping on the floor --- this continued for a time.
To its credit the hotel is very clean. The bathroom is spacious and very neat and clean. The breakfast buffet area can become congested.
The restaurant (on the top floor) is disorganized. The timing between courses is way off and there is a fair amount of "fast walking" almost running between the tables and the kitchen. It took 45 minutes from the time of our order for the soup and shrimp tempura to arrive. The 2nd course took another 20 minutes to arrive and then finally our main course (the meat was actually delicious) but the smashed potatoes upon which the meat was served were icy cold. Without dessert or coffee the meal was over two hours.
The reception desk(s) are now located in the main lobby --- a nice idea but leaving no room for a personal conversation with the receptionist as the lobby is very small and open.
We loved the Fortyseven because of the location -- because of the sun bright room and the cleanliness and modern feel of the hotel. This time we got another look ....and another feel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    872
    315
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
191
699
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel! Large room and beautiful view of the fireworks for New Year's Eve! Friendly staff, good breakfast and great location (near Foro Romano and the Coloseo). Will stay here next time we come to Rome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here as part of a pre -cruise package my travel agent arranged. The hotel was good enough in assisting me with private tranfers from FCO airport. Market rate was about 60 Euro's , the service the hotel provided was 50 Euro's. Arrived at the hotel early about 8AM and the room wasn't quite ready (normal check is at 2 I think). The hotel staff were extremely helpful in trying to speed things up to let me check in early. Was in my room by about 9:30.
I like the design of the hotel and the room size. The three previous times I stayed in Rome, hotels I stayed at were nice, but rooms were always closet sized. The Fortyseven though had nice spacious rooms. Free internet and a rooftop dining was really nice as well
Other part I liked were the bathrooms. Heated towel bars. Very large 8'x8' glass walk in shower, well lit, nicely maintained and fresh looking. Overall the hotel was far above average and a bargain for the price paid.
If I were to find any fault was the restaraunt for breakfast. During the first day only one waitress was available to do everything (put out buffet, serve coffee, bus tables), for the first two hours the buffet was open. When we were leaving the first day we noticed she finally had help 2.5 hours after breakfast started, and second day wasn't much better.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed to have larger bathrooms and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We returned again to this terrific boutique hotel. The location is superb to those interested in easy access to the Roman Forum, Colosseum, and Palentine.the rooms are modern; the staff is helpful & friendly. Grazie to Marco, et. al. The buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room.
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were just visitng Rome for 5 days with our two little boys. The hotel has a great location-walking distance to Colosseum and the Spanish steps. Since I read about the hotel "being children friendly", I did expect friendly staff who doesn't mind kids running around etc. this hotel is not only that but much more! Unfortunately one day before our departure back home, our son started to compain about his ear ache. I decided to ask at the reception desk for help. Ms Adrienne Bini came to rescue. Even though it was 6pm, she was kind enough to go with us to the hospital where she took care of all the administrative work and then translated in the doctors office. We returned to the hotel after 2hours with necessary medication. Our son was feeling much better the next day and so did I. I strongly recommend this hotel to all concerned mothers who want to enoy Rome and wamt to be sure that their children are in good hands!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had a standard room which was large and comfortable, very clean with decent products in the bathroom along with slippers and bathrobes. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the side of the building, so we didn't really hear any noise from outside - which is most unusual in Italy!

All staff we encountered were friendly, efficient and spoke English. Breakfast was a very good mixture of fresh hot and cold items (including extremely good cakes, well, we were on holiday).

The whole place was very stylish, modern and clean with interesting art dotted around and it had a nice atmosphere. The location was good - you are about a 5-10 minute walk from Piazza Venezia in one direction, and moments away from the Bocca della Verita in the other, with the Circus Maximus being just around the corner from there. Trastevere is an easy walk away. The hotel is on a main road with plenty of bus stops so getting around is easy, and the hotel staff were good at telling you what bus to get and could sell you bus/metro tickets.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to others for a stylish and comfortable place to stay in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Very good small hotel in a great location. Walking distance to the Forum, Vittorio Emmanuale and Via del Corso. Stylishly updated 1930s building, with lots of modern art (some of it bordering on soft porn). Comfortable beds and good showers. Ground floor bar was completely empty and lacking in atmosphere while I was there but the 6th floor terrace bar/restaurant was open, and has great views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#19 Business Hotel in Rome
#32 Family Hotel in Rome
#52 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.