We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THE HIGHEST
Ranked #50 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel came highly recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We traveled as family for my son's 14th birthday and it could not have been better. The welcome we received the way we were looked after was second to none. Alina took such care of us and sent a birthday cake to my son which was devine and such a nice treat. The terrace bar is the perfect place to unwind after a busy day site seeing with spectacular views of Rome. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy. If you want a central, friendly and spotless clean hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    344
    80
    25
    19
See reviews for
218
789
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel had some great recommendations. I don't know what room they stayed in. But we were first put in a room where the internet, TV and telephone did not work. They moved us to a room on the 3rd floor. Nice enough; with a decent view. But you could hear every sound from the room above and beside us. While they did offer to move us "again", we had already moved once, and we were all unpacked. For a pricey hotel, they need to work on fixing the doors so they close without slamming, and work on the sound problems. The breakfast was the worst we had on our 2 week vacation, the gym was in the basement, and basically we were not happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear ShellieBH,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to comment on your review posted on September 24, 2012, allowing us to give additional information to our Tripadvisor Readers.
Hotel Fortyseven believes that transparency is a key aspect of our business and we feel that this is the best way to respect all of our Guests.
First of all, we apologize for the inconvenience created by a slow connection on the net.
Problems on the net or with telephone lines or with technology in general, can occur everywhere and anytime for reasons based on the efficiency of the providers or simply because technology is perfect at about 99%.
Our Front Desk Manager applied our procedure promptly by providing to change your room. You had the opportunity to choose between two rooms and you chose the one with ‘descent view’. The ‘decent view’ offers one the opportunity to look onto the Temple of Portunus, second century BC circa, Temple of Hercules, 1132 AD and Basilica of Saint Mary in Cosmedian, home of the internationally famous, Bocca della Verità, 4BC.
Further on during your stay, on September 15th, you stated that people in the adjoining hotel rooms were noisy to the Front Office Manager. He invited you to a quieter area of the hotel which you refused. Instead, you insisted on an economical compensation.
Our Staff is sensitive to any reasonable and balanced request and we decided to deliver a personal gift to you in order to clarify that we were doing our best.

We noticed that you never mentioned this friendly and polite gesture on your Tripadvisor review. We think that this is particularly unfair and unbalanced.
Our convincement is confirmed again when we read your extremely negative judgement about the breakfast service which usually receives several compliments by our Guests. In fact, we invite you to read some recent Tripadvisor reviews regarding breakfast from people who stayed at the Hotel in September like yourself.
Hotel Fortyseven boasts 91% positive score on Tripadvisor as a whole and equally positive figures on other websites as well.
Finally, we confirm to all the Guest that Hotel Fortyseven’s gym is located underground and consists of the following:

- 13 TechnoGym machines
- 20 individual weights
- Several workout mats
- Pilate exercise equipment
- Collapsible massage table
- Complimentary towels, shampoo, soap and mineral water
- 2 changing rooms including 24 lockers with keys
- 2 complete bathrooms including individual showers
-Steam room, large enough to seat 10 with 2 showers incorporated within it
- 3 anatomically-shaped chaise lounges
- Reading material
- Instructions in English on how to correctly use the Gym and Steam bath
The fact is, Mrs ShellieBH, is that you requested an economical compensation for the ‘noise disturbance’ that we invited to correct, but was refused by you and you alone.
Tripadvisor is a powerful tool that needs to be used in a balanced fashion, not as a way to ‘attack’ a hotel after not receiving financial compensation.
We invite all the Tripadvisor Readers to use the site in a constructive fashion.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Fortyseven Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is well maintained and clean, the location is great, the breakfast is nice and the staff is very friendly and professional.
We will be happy to return to this hotel and to amazing Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I took my boyfriend to Rome as a gift for his 40th. After weeks of research (I'm fussy about my hotels) and lots of varied hotel reviews I stumbled across FortySeven...and thank god I did!
Clean, modern and spacious rooms - tick.
Great service - tick.
Walking distance of most sites - tick.
Good price - tick.
Air conditioning (we stayed in roasting hot July) - tick.
Now for the additional surprises.
Alina and Marco greeted us on arrival, both are an absolute credit to the hotel. Friendly, welcoming and always thinking of your needs. Every day you were met with a smile and asked how you were, what were you upto that day etc...To top it all Alina even arranged (unknown to us) a little birthday cake to be delivered to our room on my boyfriends birthday, what a thoughtful gesture, she is a star!
Breakfast is included and for a buffet was superb, lots of choice and a lovely courtyard in which to eat. Breakfast staff could be a bit disorganised with the exception of the dark french chap who was fantastic.
The location is fab for most sites, beside the Jewish quarter and 5 min walk from the river. We went there every night as the bars and restaraunts that pop up for miles along it of an evening are brilliant.
We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

we recently spent four nigts at HOTEL 47 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to balcony juior suite with a superb view. Breakfasts were lovely in the courtyard. Dinner at the Circus restaurant was a highlight of our visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here before and we will continue to stay with this hotel in Rome. Our experiences are quality assured and we do not want to be disappointed by any other hotel. FortySevens' staff are professional, organized, thoughtful, and do not have to be asked or told what is required to make our stay comfortable and blissful. The front desk reception and the gentleman who handles the car should be recognized for their splendid abilities. We extend our personal thanks to the staff and management for their ease at making us happy. The breakfast staff have seemed stressed during both visits, not the typical demeanor we experience elsewhere in the hotel. Breakfast is abundant in variety and quality. We had a wonderful room with a wrap around, large, L-shaped balcony and we could work outside, eat, and just enjoy the views of Rome and each others' company. We were three adult family members, and like all hotels in Europe the pull out beds are not so great, but this pull out was more acceptable than all the other 4-5 star hotels. While in Rome we will continue to visit FortySeven. Simple as that.

Room Tip: Get the suite on the 5th floor with the L-shaped balcony. Lounge, work, eat, and soak in the ancient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Forty-Seven is a spacious, well-appointed, property with comfortable accommodations and a warm and attentive staff, that would make any guest feel welcome. The staff's collective knowledge of the city, sensitivity to guest preferences and overall good taste, made my stay all the more enjoyable. And their restaurant recommendations were superb !! For a first exposure to Rome, this could not have been a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.