We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Save Saved
You added Fortyseven Hotel Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Once we were Romans
Ranked #42 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Recommended hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is well maintained and clean, the location is great, the breakfast is nice and the staff is very friendly and professional.
We will be happy to return to this hotel and to amazing Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    885
    330
    72
    21
    17
See reviews for
186
695
22
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I took my boyfriend to Rome as a gift for his 40th. After weeks of research (I'm fussy about my hotels) and lots of varied hotel reviews I stumbled across FortySeven...and thank god I did!
Clean, modern and spacious rooms - tick.
Great service - tick.
Walking distance of most sites - tick.
Good price - tick.
Air conditioning (we stayed in roasting hot July) - tick.
Now for the additional surprises.
Alina and Marco greeted us on arrival, both are an absolute credit to the hotel. Friendly, welcoming and always thinking of your needs. Every day you were met with a smile and asked how you were, what were you upto that day etc...To top it all Alina even arranged (unknown to us) a little birthday cake to be delivered to our room on my boyfriends birthday, what a thoughtful gesture, she is a star!
Breakfast is included and for a buffet was superb, lots of choice and a lovely courtyard in which to eat. Breakfast staff could be a bit disorganised with the exception of the dark french chap who was fantastic.
The location is fab for most sites, beside the Jewish quarter and 5 min walk from the river. We went there every night as the bars and restaraunts that pop up for miles along it of an evening are brilliant.
We will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

we recently spent four nigts at HOTEL 47 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were upgraded to balcony juior suite with a superb view. Breakfasts were lovely in the courtyard. Dinner at the Circus restaurant was a highlight of our visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here before and we will continue to stay with this hotel in Rome. Our experiences are quality assured and we do not want to be disappointed by any other hotel. FortySevens' staff are professional, organized, thoughtful, and do not have to be asked or told what is required to make our stay comfortable and blissful. The front desk reception and the gentleman who handles the car should be recognized for their splendid abilities. We extend our personal thanks to the staff and management for their ease at making us happy. The breakfast staff have seemed stressed during both visits, not the typical demeanor we experience elsewhere in the hotel. Breakfast is abundant in variety and quality. We had a wonderful room with a wrap around, large, L-shaped balcony and we could work outside, eat, and just enjoy the views of Rome and each others' company. We were three adult family members, and like all hotels in Europe the pull out beds are not so great, but this pull out was more acceptable than all the other 4-5 star hotels. While in Rome we will continue to visit FortySeven. Simple as that.

Room Tip: Get the suite on the 5th floor with the L-shaped balcony. Lounge, work, eat, and soak in the ancient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Forty-Seven is a spacious, well-appointed, property with comfortable accommodations and a warm and attentive staff, that would make any guest feel welcome. The staff's collective knowledge of the city, sensitivity to guest preferences and overall good taste, made my stay all the more enjoyable. And their restaurant recommendations were superb !! For a first exposure to Rome, this could not have been a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

So, my better half and I spent 2 days at Hotel 47. The place is as nice on the inside as it is out. The staff we dealt with were prompt, very friendly and extremely professional. Our room was quite spacious and surprisingly quiet - based on location. Restaurant on the terrace, wonderful, great views of the city and excellent food and wine.

Here's the problem... We used Hotel 47's laundry service whilst staying at the hotel, like many of us who travel around we're only usually around for 1-2 days, so on the 1st day we had around a dozen items laundered and asked for the 'express' service. This was around 9am. We got our Laundry back at about 5-6pm, everything was present and clean, EXCEPT... on inspection, 2 brand new shirts I'd purchased in Florence 3 days earlier had been shrunk!

The Laundry service had clearly tumble-dried our things, as our laundry items were still warm when we received them. My shirts were 100% cotton, and the care labels clearly state "DO NOT TUMBLE DRY" on the garment. After I cooled down (pun unintended - as my shirts were now about 2 sizes smaller & would probably not even fit my 18 year-old sister now) I went and asked to speak to the Manager.

The duty manager was apologetic, took the shirts and discussed the matter with what he called the Hotel's "Hospitality Manager". Later that day, we returned and had a discussion with this Hospitality Manager, who listened to our predicament, I asked for some compensation or replacement of my damaged shirts, and the Hospitality Manager said that 'as we had asked for the express service, she believed that the Laundry service (which is outsourced) had done what was necessary to return the shirts within 24 Hours, and there was nothing she could do'.

I said I believed that it is not the customer's problem how the Laundry is done, as care instructions have to be followed and just because we want our things back quickly, that doesn't mean we want our stuff back 2 sizes smaller!!! If damage is done during this process then the responsibility lies with the Hotel to resolve the problem & not just ignore it!

I'm no expert on Hotels, but I'm quite sure if you outsource a service you need to take responsibility for those services like they are your own. When my work Subcontracts projects out, we don't wash our hands if something goes wrong, it's still our name that is affected at the end of things...

Overall I was gutted by this... All lip service, no real apology, no explanation, no compensation and we left very disappointed, angry and dissatisfied with the 'service' there. Over 200 euro I spent on clothing down the tube because some idiot was being lazy in their laundry. That day the Laundry was done was sunny and HOT too, it's not like they HAD to tumble dry these things, they would have dried in an hour in the sun!

In summary, yeah it's a beautiful hotel... If something bad happens, expect to be ignored and made to feel that it is your fault for asking for their services.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danypre, Sales Manager at Fortyseven Hotel Rome, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
It’s always nice to read compliments regarding Hotel Fortyseven.
There were many in your review.

-‘The place is as nice on the inside as it is out.’
-‘The staff we dealt with were prompt, very friendly and extremely professional.’
-‘Our room was quite spacious and surprisingly quiet-based on the (central) location.’
-The ‘Restaurant on the terrace, wonderful, great views of the city and excellent food and wine.’

There was one complaint in your very positive review:
-two t shirts had returned from the outsourced laundry ‘shrunken’.

Let’s see what Hotel Fortyseven’s Course of Action was:

-The Hospitality Manager listened to your complaint.
-The Management pointed out that the t shirts were very nice quality and in excellent condition after being laundered. There was no evident damage to the two t shirts. There was no opposition to this observation on your part. You simply said that they were smaller.
-You told the Management that all the other garments (apx. 10 of them), that had been laundered and were returned perfectly in the express amount of time stipulated-24 hours. (Your laundry was efficiently returned in 9 hours. This was stated by you.)
-The Manager pointed out that the customer had expressed 24-hour service.
-You wrote that you spoke with a Manager who, as you stated, was ‘apologetic’ about the situation.
-You desired to discuss the problem with the laundry company and you were given the laundry’s contact information in complete transparency.

Hotel Fortyseven handled the situation promptly. There was no concrete evidence of your complaint.
Take note of your starting compliments about the Staff being ‘extremely professional.’
The fact here is, is that what was written in Trip Advisor is a personal complaint, NOT a Hotel complaint.

Hotel Fortyseven has been given a list of compliments by you and you alone.
The fact that only one point is given in your hotel rating, is given after all your compliments is unbalanced, unjust and more than once contradictory.

Trip Advisor is an important site that should provide tourists with real information that must be based on balanced reviews. Trip Advisor should not be used as a source to ‘get back’ at a hotel for a personal ‘complaint’ to receive a monetary compensation that had not been given.

Hotel Fortyseven has had the opportunity to not only defend itself to an unbalanced review, but more importantly, to at least try and make it clear to Trip Advisor Users, to carefully consider the reviews written and how they can unfairly damage ‘an extremely professional’ Staff.

Regards,
The Hotel Fortyseven Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I can't say enough about Fortyseven Hotel in Rome. It was the best hotel we stayed at in Rome, and we only stayed there because we missed our flight home and needed accommodations for an extra 3 nights.

The staff were extremely helpful, particularly Alina at the front desk who helped us book our visit to the Galleria Borghese, recommend lesser-known attractions, and a more authentic Roman restaurant. The price was very reasonable given the location's proximity to the heart of Rome and it's many ruins. The hotel was very stylish and clean. The included breakfast was more substantial and offered better variety than other Italian hotels. We were visited by the hotel manager each morning during breakfast to inquire about our stay. The free wifi was more consistent than our previous hotels. The inner courtyard was a quiet sanctuary for breakfast. We also had a delicious dinner at Circus, the rooftop restaurant and lounge.

The only negatives about the hotel were the street-level noise and the intermittent power outages we experienced in the room. For the latter, we were visited by hotel staff to acknowledge the problem and each instance was dealt with quickly.

I would definitely stay here again, although I would request an interior room for reduced traffic noise.

Room Tip: request a room facing into the terrace for reduced noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortyseven Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortyseven Hotel Rome

Address: Via Luigi Petroselli 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#41 Family Hotel in Rome
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortyseven Hotel Rome 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Preferred Hotels, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fortyseven Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
47 Hotel Rome
Rome Fortyseven Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortyseven Hotel Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.