We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Banzo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Banzo
Save
You added Casa Banzo to your Saves list
30 Piazza Monte di Pieta, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Casa Banzo Bed and Breakfast is located in the center of the center of ancient Rome. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring all parts of the city, and if you are in normal shape, you will not be needing anything but your legs for transport. We were three girls from Norway travelling to Rome in may for the second, third and fifth time respectively. Our tripple room was on the first floor right next to the reception. This resulted in perfectly quiet nights, which is quite rare. One minus was that the room only had rather thin glass doors. An other was that there was not too much hot water in the morning. (This was however rather refreshing). The rooms are spacious and clean! The service was splendid from the first mail to the last departure; we felt very welcome. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but in Italy it usually isn't. We prefered to have some bread with jam and some tea there before heading to the nearest bar for a cappucino and freshly baked cornetto. I will definately recommend Casa Banzo to anyone travelling to Rome. There are not many other options with the same standards and location with that price. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This B&B is really very special and beautiful, it is set amongst the pretty back streets in a nice part of town on a busy square. The entrance is through a lovely old wooden door, into a picturesque plant-filled courtyard, which It is peaceful and very 'Roman'. We stayed in the deluxe room which was stunning - high ceilings (wood-panelled) with beautfiul frescoes around the top sides, antique furniture and two lovely big shuttered windows over-looking the sqaure. It was huge! And very clean and comfortable. It felt very authentic and really added to our Rome experience! It's really a very special room - lots of character and so much nicer than some generic hotel room. I didn't see any of the other rooms but the rest of the B&B is very pretty (see photos) - a lovely central traditional courtyard, lots of lovely plants and other beautiful features.The breakfast room is very pretty but a bit on the small side (you might have to share a table with other guests if the B&B is full)
For the price you can't beat the location really - it is very central & in a buzzy little part of town with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. We walked everywhere from the B&B (literally everywhere - the Colosseum, Vatican, Pantheon, etc) but there is a tram line very close if you'd prefer. It is also an easy stroll (past a fab gelateria) over the river to Trastevere which is a beautiful area to stroll around full of perfect little trattorias. It's also very very close to the Jewish Quarter which is gorgeous - and the restaurants there are lovely (the speciality there is fresh fried artichoke, and courgette flowers stuffed with mozzarella & anchovies - yum!)
The staff at the B&B are lovely - we met 2 very friendly and helpful ladies, one who manned reception / breakfast (with perfect English) and another lovely girl who cleaned the rooms. We were very much given the keys and left to our own devices which is what we like - we came and went as we pleased - it was more like having a little apartment for the weekend then staying in a B&B. We felt very indepedent. So if you prefer more of a 24/7 hotel reception / concierge service then this is probably not the place for you.
The only slight dissapointment for me was the breakfast - it was just store-bought cakes, cereal, and some bread. It would have been nice to have just a bowl of fruit salad and maybe a few yoghurt pots, or just some bananas and apples! Just something fresh/healthy would have been nice. And like I said the breakfast room was very pretty but rather small, so we had to share a table once while we were there which is not my ideal when on holiday really.
Like I said the Deluxe room was stunning - although it was very clean (and it was thoroughly cleaned every day that we were there) it did smell a little musty but I think that is becase of the antique furniture and the age of the room. There was a lot of noise from the street - traffic noise and a bit of chatting/shouting, and also a huge clock that starts chiming at 8am every 15 mins! But I thought that added to the atmosphere. The street noise was a bit of a pain - but the room was so beautiful that we didnt really mind! But something to bear in mind if you are a light sleeper.
Overall I loved my stay here and I would love to go back - the location was unbeatable, the room and other communal areas were really traditional and beautiful, and the staff were lovely. A special place in Rome, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Deluxe room! Only a little bit more expensive than the others and it is stunning and so spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location of this cozy B&B is perfect. Just around the corner from Campo di Fiori it is easy to "conquer" Rome. We walked from there to all sightseeing places and restaurants. The hosts are extremely kind and helpful. We followed their recommendations and were totally pleased with it. The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast is small but very sweet. Would absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Casa Banzo was recommended to us because of its location and suitability. We wanted an hotel within walking distance of the sights, with places to eat close by and that someone had stayed in before (we didn't want to be trail blazers for others!) We had 2 rooms during our stay which were both clean, comfortable and traditional. We had 2 rooms because our allocated room for our stay was in use by others on the first night. The owners / staff moved our baggage over whilst we were out and about after our first night and were more than accommodating to let us leave our luggage in the office after we had checked out so we could continue our stroll around the sights before we left in the evening. Our price included breakfast which was simple and basic (Bread, danish pastries, cereal, tea, coffee), although we only had breakfast on one morning as we wanted to get out early and visit the sights, the 8.30 to 10.00 breakfast period was a little later than we had planned but we enjoyed the breakfast on the day we did partake. Casa Banzo is located near the Campo Dei Fiori, which has a wide range of Restaurants and great street entertainment. We found the area quite relaxing. I suppose the meals at the 3 restaurants we tried where expensive but the quality was good but it is Rome I kept saying to my self! We did find a supermarket within walking distance were we bought snacks (water, fruit, etc) The Campo Dei Fiori has a market during the day which has a good "buzz" All in all we would recommended Casa Banzo as a place to stay. Regarding the cost it was probably a little more than we wanted to pay for bed and breakfast but the location, hospitality and holiday experience made that part of our stay worth while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Banzo for ten nights at the end of April, 2013. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Rome. This is not a conventional hotel. The plant-filled courtyard is really special -- think atmosphere. How many b&b's are entered through an over-sized, typical old wooden door? As we walked up the well--worn travertine steps to our room, we had the feeling of walking in a place lived in for a very, very long time. Then, there is the location of Casa Banza. It is in a quiet area, but you are a few-minutes' walk from the Campo de Fiori, where there is lots of activity in the evening, and there is a market place in the afternoon. The whole neighborhood is very interesting to explore. There are many restaurants nearby. And finally, it would be hard to find a more helpful, friendly, and accommodating staff. If you stay at the Casa, you will meet Justine who will warmly welcome you and do everything she can to ensure that your stay will be a pleasant one. Her English is very good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at Casa Banzo for a weekend in March. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location can not be beat for the price.
I would have like more water pressure from the shower and some sort of arrangement so the water didn't spill out into the rest of the bathroom.


But I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed there recently for three nights in the first week of April. We had a lovely downstairs room which we found spacious and comfortable. The room was cozy enough though I personally would have preferred it a little warmer though my husband thought it was just right. The bed was nice warm and comfy once in it so I wasn't cold. I have to thank Justine who was working at reception while we were there. She was so warm easy to talk to and helpful. She suggested a restaurant to us on arrival, booked a taxi and even booked and printed tickets online to the colosseum for us which we hadn't done. Any of the staff we met were friendly and always had a smile. Anyone who is going to a Rome will not be disappointed by Casa Banzo with it's central location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casabanzo, Proprietario at Casa Banzo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for choosing Casa Banzo at your stay in Rome.
We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and you were satisfied with our location and service, it is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful and warm comments about our staff from our guests. Walking around is the best way to get to know "true" Rome but we know how these long walks can be tiring, that is why we do our best to make our B&B the place where you want to come back and relax.
We hope to welcome you back in the future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Banzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banzo

Address: 30 Piazza Monte di Pieta, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Banzo Hotel Rome
Casa Banzo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Banzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.