We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in Rome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Save
You added La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B to your Saves list
Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #24 of 3,445 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have experience from many hotel visits all over the world. This was really one of the best. Of course there were no extra facilities which you can find in 5-star hotels but a B&B is a B&B. The service by the owner Aldo was extremely good. It started with a "welcome meeting" where we were informed about what were "the musts" in Rome. He also helped us with several phone calls to find our lost suitcase from our flight from Stockholm via Copenhagen and it ended up with that Aldo came to the B&B in the middle of the night when a taxi arrived with the suitcase. The room was spatious and extremely clean (the three room flat was renovated in May this year). We have never slept in a more convenient bed in any hotel before. The B&B was situated 10 minutes from Colosseo and between two underground stations also 10 minutes away. Nice restaurants were situated not far away. The breakfast was sufficient to start a tourist day. Fruits and beverages were free in the room. The only drawback was that there was no English spoken TV channel but hundreds of Italian.
If we will visit Rome again we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Essen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The B&B is perfect if you want to relax after a long walk around Rome. The Room is very clean and nicely furnished, the atmosphere is nice and cosy and the owner can give important and useful information on where to go and what to do. He has got a great personality and is very helpful and kind. The breakfast is tipically italian (sweet) and very good.
The B&B is very close to two metro stops, so you can get there easily and it's very comfortable to explore the city from there. The street is quite busy and you can hear the traffic in the room, so if you like it very quiet, this is maybe not the right choice. But we never had problems sleeping as the bed is very comfortable.

Room Tip: We booked a room with colosseo view, which in the retrospect wouldn't have been that necessary a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this bed-and-breakfast a couple of weeks ago. It was amazing. Aldo's hospitality was unmatched. The decor was beautiful. It was very clean and the breakfast was nice. We felt at home in Rome! If we ever venture back to Rome we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipandBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at Finestra sul Colosseo from 19-26 Novemeber 2012. The booking process was very easy and Aldo responded very quickly to all of my questions prior to booking and then prior to arrival. It was very easy to find and Aldo was waiting outside for us when we arrived. He immediately offered us a drink and gave us a map of the city along with a number of recommendations, as well as answering our questions. This was a trent throughout the week - if we had a question we ask and, whether it be in person or by email, Aldo answered quickly. The B and B is very close to many of the sites and also to 2 Metro stations so getiting around couldn't be easier. Don't be intimidated by using any of the forms of public transport - it is incredibly easy. However, if you'd rather not, walking is a viable option throughout the city centre. A walk from Vatican to Colesseo took about 40 mins, at a leisurely pace with plenty of pauses to look in shops etc.
The room itself was very nice and comfortable - especially the bad which facilitated some excellent rest. We had a couple of minor problems with the plumbing/pipework (it's an old building!) but these were addressed immediately by Aldo. I think that staying here offers a little more personal service than most hotels. For instance, my travel adaptor did not work, so Aldo went to see his brother and borrowed an Iphone adaptor for me. He also allowed us to check-out later on the final day for no additional charge. This meant we could spend an extra half-day in Rome, rather than babystting our baggage!

Thanks Aldo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratnumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The standard of service Aldo extends to his guests is something you experience well before you even get to his charming B&B. He kept me posted via email and via SMS re the fastest and easiest way to get to La Finestra. Then when I finally got off the train at the Coloseo stop, Aldo met me half way along Via Labicana as he was concerned that I might lose my way (though I never did because his directions were very clear). While the building where his B&B is located seems a bit gloomy, stepping into La Finestra was so refreshing! Bright, airy and tastefully decorated, it’s exactly how it looked on its webpage! My room was lovely, adequately supplied with bottles of water every day and a bowl of fresh fruits by his warm and hospitable staff, Roy. Wifi kept me connected with family and friends as I was traveling solo. As mentioned in the reviews, Aldo offers very good advice on places/restos to visit, what routes to take (La Finestra is close to the coloseo, Via Imperiali, Coloseo stop (blue line), Manzoni stop (red stop)). Best of all, he made reservations for me at the Galleria Borghese and gave me tips re visiting the Vatican Museum. His brand of service made my 5-day Roman holiday a truly memorable experience. Grazie, Aldo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maskinano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berg Sur Moselle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Perfect position to explore Rome, what a beautiful city. The room was truly as nice as the photo, which is refreshing. Aldo could not be there to meet us when we arrived late (2200 a Tuesday evening) but he had arranged for his brother to be there, nothing was too difficult and everything is done to help you and make you feel comfortable. The entrance to the building is a bit strange, after the initial apprehension you get to the fantastic apartment which has a true WOW factor.

There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk for the evening, when your feet are tired this is very helpful, with full quality menus and wine for about 60 EUR for 2. My wife and I loved Rome, the city is fantastic, this B&B however really made the trip memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week. My flight didn't arrive until 10pm and I didn’t arrive at the hotel until around 11pm on the Thursday night. Even at this hour Aldo (hotel manager) was there to meet me – other places I have stayed in Europe have charged an additional fee to arrive at such a time however Aldo was very welcoming and met me at the front entrance to the building. The room which had the view of the Coliseum was amazing (especially for the price), very clean and very well presented. Complimentary fresh fruit and bottled water was provided in the room. The stay was very enjoyable and I cannot speak highly enough of Aldo’s hospitality and friendly manner which really made the stay very enjoyable. I have travelled extensively in Europe and this is the first time that I have taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, however I felt compelled to write this review due to the fantastic stay I had and I would highly recommend visitors to Rome to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#5 of 1,272 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 5,070 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#10 of 3,445 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Prati
Rome Armony Suites
Rome Armony Suites
#3 of 3,445 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Relais 155
Relais 155
#13 of 3,445 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#1 of 3,445 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Monti
Mok'house B&B
Mok'house B&B
#35 of 3,445 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 3,445 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing