We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun weekend in Rome...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B
Save
You added La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B to your Saves list
Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #22 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fun weekend in Rome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

La Finestra Sul Colosseo is a charming B&B well located 5 minutes from the Colosseum. We wanted to stay away from the big or chain hotels in Rome for a more casual experience, and La Finestra Sul Colosseo fit the bill. The proprietor, Aldo, is a great guy. Very charming and helpful, he took time to point out all sorts of attractions and restaurant recommendations on a helpful map of Rome which he provided for us. He even set up a car service for us for our return to the airport. We walked all over Rome and never felt that our B&B was too far away from anything. Our room was clean and inviting, the continental breakfast was perfect, and the experience as a whole was delightful. I highly recommend this B&B for people looking for a different kind of experience in Rome. We felt more like invited guests rather than tourists.

The B&B is just short ride from Roma Termini (11 Euro by cab), and then very convent to walk anywhere in Rome. Be sure to give the cabbie the address rather than the name. I didn't get the impression it was a well-known B&B, but it is literally 4 or 5 blocks from the main train station. We avoided the buses and struck out every morning, and returned at night. We were exhausted but got to see so much more by walking all over than we would being confined to a bus. Overall it was a charming Roman Holiday and we feel we got a much better impression of the trip by staying at La Finestra Sul Colosseo!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
170
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A friend of mine racommended this B&B right in front the Colossium, 3 minutes away from the Metro station.Aldo the owner is very friendly and he gave us so many tip for save money for trasportation and restaurant(the most important in a city like Rome).Also he gave us a bottle of wine and water for free.The room was big and very clean and a very confortable bed.Breakfast was delicious.I reacommend this B&B at all my friends and family,Thanks Aldo for amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask Aldo the Colosseum view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Could not have found a lovelier place to stay. Convenient, safe, beautifully decorated, lovely breakfast and coffee each morning, wi-fi, flat screen TV, view of the colosseo from window, near the metro and shops, cafe's and galeto! Aldo the host helped us with taxi's, info on exploring the city of Roma. I will stay here when in Rome next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the colosseo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in September 2012, and we'd highly recommend it to anyone. The location is great, we walked all over, and there's really easy access to the tram system. The main thing we'd say is that the rooms are absolutely lovely - don't be put off by the lack of a sign on the front of the building, and the slightly uninspiring entranceway, the rooms are delightful, in a converted apartment in which arched tiled ceilings really give the place a personality, the rooms and bathrooms are stylishly decorated and clean. Aldo is a great host too, nothing was too much trouble, and he guided us to several really nice restaurants and bars, even calling them up to book for us. His knowledge of Rome is excellent, and he highlighted the sights to us on a map so we could decide what to do and in what order. I've never left a Tripadvisor review before, but this place moved me to do so - highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were so pleased that we did. What a beautiful establishment! The rooms are top quality and the service from Aldo is just as special. Such a friendly person, able to answer any question you have about Rome sightseeing. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and i had a short stay in Rome on October half term. From the moment I booked Aldo was brilliant with prompt responses to emails. The b&b is really easy to get to and just a very short walk from a metro station. Aldo was there to meet us and was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was delicious each morning. Overall a perfect stay in the centre of Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Aldo's beautiful B&B. When next in Rome, we will definitely stay here again and we will be suggesting this B&B to all of our friends and family who are interested in visiting Rome.

Aldo was a lovely host. He was passionate about his city and very thoroughly explained (and marked on a map) how to get around Rome, the best districts for nightlife, food, and fashion, and all tourist attractions, parks etc. By the way, Aldo is a relatively young guy, which we loved (being young ourselves) because he was able to recommend more interesting/trendy districts for us. He also was kind enough to make a couple of restaurant reservations, over the phone, on our behalf. During breakfast, he was very attentive to our needs and always encouraged us to have more food/drink! We were also given fruit and water for our room when we wanted it.

Additionally, the physical property was very well presented. Our room was very big, had a large window that could be opened, as well as a high ceiling. Our bathroom was spotless. The decor of the bedroom and bathroom was clearly well thought through and was very soft/pretty/romantic. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows - this is the place that we both slept the best.

With regard to the B&B's location, it was lovely to walk past the Colosseum every day, at different times of the day. It is also close to two different Metro stations, but was within walking distance to most things in Rome (we walked most of the time).

In sum, we highly recommend this B&B. You'll really enjoy your stay and will enjoy Aldo's company! Thanks a lot for your hospitality, Aldo, and we wish you all the best for all of your (ambitious) future endeavours!

Kara & Chris.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms at this B&B and from peering into the room next to ours, I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B

Address: Via Labicana 72, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Via Labicana 72, "La finestra sul Colosseo" is a welcoming structure dipped in the wonders of Imperial Rome, a few steps from the Coliseum."La finestra sul Colosseo" is located in the heart of Rome near the Colosseum and the Fori Imperiali, is ideally situated in the immediate proximity of the Basilica of San Giovanni and Santa Maria Maggiore. The structure is also well connected thanks to the proximity of the Metro A (Manzoni stop to 700 meters) and Metro B (Colosseo stop 400 meters). The rooms are spacious and bright, elegantly furnished in order to combine the modern style of furniture with the most ancient of particular vaulted ceilings in ancient Roman style. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Finestra sul Colosseo B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.