We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal city hotel. Perfect for short stay exploration.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #50 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal city hotel. Perfect for short stay exploration.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great location in Ancient Rome. Really lovely and helpful staff-service with a smile. Complimentary tea/coffee all day. Plentiful choice of breakfast. Large comfortable room. Couldn't ask for more from a city break hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Jps2345,

Short, but concised and concrete. :)

Well, thank you for having given us a little bit of your time and for writing about your impression of us.
We were glad to see you have enjoyed your trip in Rome, and that we were able, somehow, to make it more enjoyable.
Hoping some day you will renew your visit, we wish you all the best!
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,018
    495
    84
    18
    8
See reviews for
346
852
77
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

For a family trip to Rome during Holy Week 2014, we had a group of 7 traveling together. The Raffaello was extremely clean (even bathroom floor corners --- I have a sister who checks these things) and the houskeeping staff were very cheerful. The hotel has a 24 hour coffee service on the ground floor next to a house computer with complimentary internet service. The overnight desk attendant is great company if you suffer from jet lag and spend odd hours at the coffee/computer area! Breakfast was included in the price of our rooms and has eggs, (my sister said these were the best she ever tasted), cheese, pastries, toast, fresh fruit, cereal and things like that. After the first day, the women serving coffee and tea remembered our preferences. We were a demanding group and the staff was patient at all times. My niece had her 17th birthday during our trip and Elena arranged for a local restaurant to serve a special dinner including a birthday cake. Elena also arranged a complicated three leg pick up and drop off with a local van company for Easter Sunday. When we had an issue finding the driver at St. Peter's Square after Easter Mass because a road was blocked, the hotel staff kindly coordinated our communication. The beds were comfortable. The elevator is very small, but taking the stairs was good exercise for me. I've seen other reviews complain about the layout of the bathrooms and small showers. We had 4 separate rooms --- with bathrooms that were all fine. But pictures don't lie, so there must be at least a few rooms with a poor bathroom layout. We had a "Superior Room" with a terrace that was well worth the extra cost. I saw a post of a very depressing view looking at an inside wall -- our "Family Room" (double bed and two single beds) had that same view but there are very nice thick curtains so we didn't even notice the depressing view until the third day. If you want a good view, get a Superior Room with a terrace. I saw someone say that the staff don't like Americans. We were a group of 7 --- so American that we could have been in a sitcom -- and all of the staff treated us with the most generous hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Lisa,

I have laughed with tears reading your review ( the sitcom part was delirious! :))) ) As I guess you already know, here I am, answering yours, as well... :)

It was a pleasure assisting you through all the things you needed, as it is always for us. We do all our best in order to make our guests' staying as beautiful as possible.
From our point of view, it is always a pleasure to knowi that our guests do appreciate all our effort and our work, and it renews and refreshes our enthusiasm, therefore...THANK YOU for having given us a little bit of your time!!!

Next time you want to organize a new episode of your sitcom in Rome, ...we would be more than glad to be your stage... :)
Warmest regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands U.K
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at hotel Raffaello 2nd April to 6th April 2014 and we had a fantastic time, we landed at Ciampino airport and got the Ryan air shuttle to the city which drops you off at Piazza Indipendenza and from there we walked to the hotel, it took about 15 minutes but was very easy to find, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.

When we arrived we were welcomed by friendly staff and we were very pleasantly surprised to hear our room was ready for us even though it was only 11.00am. The room was spacious with a nice view of the city, the pillow menu is a great idea.

Breakfast was good with lots to choose from.

The location is fab, just a 10 minute walk from Colosseum in one direction and 15 minutes in the opposite direction to the Trevi Fountain. Monte is great, it has a nice feel with lots of bars, restaurants and boutiques. We especially enjoyed joining the locals sitting round the fountain in the evening after a long day with a beer, great atmosphere.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel Raffaello, it is a very good 3 star hotel better then many 4 star hotels and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Markydee,

Thank you for having given us a little bit of your time, and thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

Yes, one of Raffaello's strenght points is the position: Monti district is the most ancient neighbourhood of Rome (it already existed during Nero's time, and its cobblestoned streets, along with the 18th and 18th century buildings, lots of them hosting now handcraft shops, small boutiques, bars or restaurants...make the Monti district a charming lovely neighbourhood...
Both subway lines, as well as the main train station (Termini) and Coliseum... are at less than a mile away...

Hoping we impressed you so much that you will honour us with a new visit as soon as possible, we wish you all the best, and ...serene return to the daily life! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My son and I stayed here for Easter, first time in Rome, and we loved this hotel. From the gentleman that greeted us at the front desk, the always-smiling maids, to the two ladies that serve a delicious breakfast every morning! The best coffe I've had in many years. The hotel is very clean, the room mid size but nice, great size bathroom with only one draw back: the shower! Granted is a full body shower, but the "enclosure" is way too small,

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This hotel is walking distance to many monuments and very close to Termini train station, so it is perfect for a city tour

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a tub instead of a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Alvaro J,

We were so glad hearing you had such a lovely time here, and we can only say we are happy you have enjoyed your staying here so much! :)

We are here for you, our guests, and this is just what we know how to do best: try to keep in mind and heart our guests' wellbeing, happy you could sense that! :)

Hoping you had a blessed Easter, and that you will come back here soon, we wish you all the best! :)
Warmest wishes for a wonderful return back home,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location was decent, within a 15 minute walk of a few major attractions. The room was not in the best condition and you could definitely see the filth/wear & tear on their carpets, walls, furniture and bathroom fixtures. We also had the lovely experience of holes in the bed linens and sheets. Despite the condition of the hotel, my main issue was the extremely rude hotel staff. The front desk could not have been more unaccomodating, rude and difficult. We stayed in 6 different hotels during our stay in Italy and this was by far, the WORST staff.

Aside from verbally insulting myself, my fiance and "America as a whole" - This atrocious staff nearly ruined my fiances plans for a proposal because they allow their cleaning staff to go through your baggage when you leave the room. (Yes, you read that correctly. When we returned from a day of sightseeing, I noticed things in our luggage were strewn about and not as we had left them. I contacted the front desk and they informed me that the cleaning staff is allowed to touch/move/reorganize luggage that is "in their way". My luggage was locked in closet and certainly not in any cleaning person's "way".)

I will absolutely return to Rome because it was one of the most beautiful, cultured and exciting cities that I have visited but I will definitely choose a different hotel for my next stay. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this place!! I promise, you will have a much more enjoyable visit in the eternal city without the added stress of these unprofessional animals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Travellistaa,

We were amazed to hear about your experience, and we have taken you in deep simpathy, but please look again at the booking of the hotel you have stayed in Rome, and place the review to the right one, as this review is outrageous, and it ruins OUR image, US NOT BEING THE HOTEL YOU HAVE STAYED IN.
We are deeply sorry for your such negative experience, you must have been very unlucky: NOT ONE POSITIVE THING IN ALL THE STAYING IN ROME, and we feel you, but if someone simply looked at just 10 out of our 1700 reviews, they would see our rooms are "immacolated", "spotless clean", "bright clean", just to quote some of our guests...
Most of our guests are Americans. We never had any debate with anyone, WE ARE NOT RACISTS...
Also, as a hotel ourselves, we would like to simply advise you to moderate your words, just as an idea...As we said, we are sorry for your negative experience, but words DO SPEAK about a person's character: calling someone an "animal" is not the best way of making a point, besides the fact it could cause you a penal trouble...
Regards,
Elena ,
Hotel Raffaello, Via Urbana, 3/5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very nice four night stay at Hotel Raffaello. It was a short walk from Termini Station and walking distance from many sites. Just down the street were many excellent restaurants. The room was very good for Rome standards and the breakfast was very up to standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making reservations and providing us with suggestions for restaurants and sites. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear korbt,

Thank you for having written such a brief, but consistent review about us, we are glad to hear you had such a nice staying! :)

Hoping you will renew your visit as soon as possible, we wish you a warm welcome back home! :)

Warmest regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to Easter. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel and our room was very clean with everything we needed. We liked the traditional decor and the fact that the walls do not have wallpaper but are padded and hung with fabric. The bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are excellent with lots of choice of well cooked and fresh food. Our mattresses were very, very firm which may not be to everyone's comfort but perhaps it's possible to ask for a softer one if necessary?

The location is convenient and atmospheric- 10 mins walk from Colosseum - with lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc. I am always somewhat nervous going abroad when I cannot speak the language and communicate but everyone spoke good English which made me feel so much more relaxed.
One little highlight each day was coming back tired from sightseeing to the little refreshment area where you could help yourself to delicious free coffee/tea at any time of day or night and relax or use the Internet or read the papers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear scibrian,

Thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

We are glad to hear your staying here was such a pleasant one, as our guests' wellbeing is the thing we mostly care about, and services like the Pillow Menu (our guests can choose their pillow based on how they are used to), the Concierge (who provides info to the guests concerning museums, restaurants, schedules and prices, or the cofee machine and the tea facilities in the lobby, as well as the computer which our guests can use free of charge. :)

Hoping we will have you back here as soon as possible, we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,264 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.