We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Raffaello Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy (Monti)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #70 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands U.K
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at hotel Raffaello 2nd April to 6th April 2014 and we had a fantastic time, we landed at Ciampino airport and got the Ryan air shuttle to the city which drops you off at Piazza Indipendenza and from there we walked to the hotel, it took about 15 minutes but was very easy to find, the hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.

When we arrived we were welcomed by friendly staff and we were very pleasantly surprised to hear our room was ready for us even though it was only 11.00am. The room was spacious with a nice view of the city, the pillow menu is a great idea.

Breakfast was good with lots to choose from.

The location is fab, just a 10 minute walk from Colosseum in one direction and 15 minutes in the opposite direction to the Trevi Fountain. Monte is great, it has a nice feel with lots of bars, restaurants and boutiques. We especially enjoyed joining the locals sitting round the fountain in the evening after a long day with a beer, great atmosphere.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at hotel Raffaello, it is a very good 3 star hotel better then many 4 star hotels and we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Markydee,

Thank you for having given us a little bit of your time, and thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

Yes, one of Raffaello's strenght points is the position: Monti district is the most ancient neighbourhood of Rome (it already existed during Nero's time, and its cobblestoned streets, along with the 18th and 18th century buildings, lots of them hosting now handcraft shops, small boutiques, bars or restaurants...make the Monti district a charming lovely neighbourhood...
Both subway lines, as well as the main train station (Termini) and Coliseum... are at less than a mile away...

Hoping we impressed you so much that you will honour us with a new visit as soon as possible, we wish you all the best, and ...serene return to the daily life! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    562
    95
    24
    9
See reviews for
388
973
90
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My son and I stayed here for Easter, first time in Rome, and we loved this hotel. From the gentleman that greeted us at the front desk, the always-smiling maids, to the two ladies that serve a delicious breakfast every morning! The best coffe I've had in many years. The hotel is very clean, the room mid size but nice, great size bathroom with only one draw back: the shower! Granted is a full body shower, but the "enclosure" is way too small,

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This hotel is walking distance to many monuments and very close to Termini train station, so it is perfect for a city tour

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a tub instead of a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Alvaro J,

We were so glad hearing you had such a lovely time here, and we can only say we are happy you have enjoyed your staying here so much! :)

We are here for you, our guests, and this is just what we know how to do best: try to keep in mind and heart our guests' wellbeing, happy you could sense that! :)

Hoping you had a blessed Easter, and that you will come back here soon, we wish you all the best! :)
Warmest wishes for a wonderful return back home,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location was decent, within a 15 minute walk of a few major attractions. The room was not in the best condition and you could definitely see the filth/wear & tear on their carpets, walls, furniture and bathroom fixtures. We also had the lovely experience of holes in the bed linens and sheets. Despite the condition of the hotel, my main issue was the extremely rude hotel staff. The front desk could not have been more unaccomodating, rude and difficult. We stayed in 6 different hotels during our stay in Italy and this was by far, the WORST staff.

Aside from verbally insulting myself, my fiance and "America as a whole" - This atrocious staff nearly ruined my fiances plans for a proposal because they allow their cleaning staff to go through your baggage when you leave the room. (Yes, you read that correctly. When we returned from a day of sightseeing, I noticed things in our luggage were strewn about and not as we had left them. I contacted the front desk and they informed me that the cleaning staff is allowed to touch/move/reorganize luggage that is "in their way". My luggage was locked in closet and certainly not in any cleaning person's "way".)

I will absolutely return to Rome because it was one of the most beautiful, cultured and exciting cities that I have visited but I will definitely choose a different hotel for my next stay. Do yourself a favor and stay far away from this place!! I promise, you will have a much more enjoyable visit in the eternal city without the added stress of these unprofessional animals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Travellistaa,

We were amazed to hear about your experience, and we have taken you in deep simpathy, but please look again at the booking of the hotel you have stayed in Rome, and place the review to the right one, as this review is outrageous, and it ruins OUR image, US NOT BEING THE HOTEL YOU HAVE STAYED IN.
We are deeply sorry for your such negative experience, you must have been very unlucky: NOT ONE POSITIVE THING IN ALL THE STAYING IN ROME, and we feel you, but if someone simply looked at just 10 out of our 1700 reviews, they would see our rooms are "immacolated", "spotless clean", "bright clean", just to quote some of our guests...
Most of our guests are Americans. We never had any debate with anyone, WE ARE NOT RACISTS...
Also, as a hotel ourselves, we would like to simply advise you to moderate your words, just as an idea...As we said, we are sorry for your negative experience, but words DO SPEAK about a person's character: calling someone an "animal" is not the best way of making a point, besides the fact it could cause you a penal trouble...
Regards,
Elena ,
Hotel Raffaello, Via Urbana, 3/5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a very nice four night stay at Hotel Raffaello. It was a short walk from Termini Station and walking distance from many sites. Just down the street were many excellent restaurants. The room was very good for Rome standards and the breakfast was very up to standards. The staff was very friendly and helpful in making reservations and providing us with suggestions for restaurants and sites. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear korbt,

Thank you for having written such a brief, but consistent review about us, we are glad to hear you had such a nice staying! :)

Hoping you will renew your visit as soon as possible, we wish you a warm welcome back home! :)

Warmest regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights prior to Easter. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel and our room was very clean with everything we needed. We liked the traditional decor and the fact that the walls do not have wallpaper but are padded and hung with fabric. The bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are excellent with lots of choice of well cooked and fresh food. Our mattresses were very, very firm which may not be to everyone's comfort but perhaps it's possible to ask for a softer one if necessary?

The location is convenient and atmospheric- 10 mins walk from Colosseum - with lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc. I am always somewhat nervous going abroad when I cannot speak the language and communicate but everyone spoke good English which made me feel so much more relaxed.
One little highlight each day was coming back tired from sightseeing to the little refreshment area where you could help yourself to delicious free coffee/tea at any time of day or night and relax or use the Internet or read the papers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear scibrian,

Thank you for having shared us with the other Tripadvisor users, whom we would like to remind they have a special discount! :)

We are glad to hear your staying here was such a pleasant one, as our guests' wellbeing is the thing we mostly care about, and services like the Pillow Menu (our guests can choose their pillow based on how they are used to), the Concierge (who provides info to the guests concerning museums, restaurants, schedules and prices, or the cofee machine and the tea facilities in the lobby, as well as the computer which our guests can use free of charge. :)

Hoping we will have you back here as soon as possible, we wish you all the best! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is lovely and comfortable. The staff are very nice and helpful, the breakfast very good with lots of fruit and also tomato etc, which I like. Although I did not eat it, my partner had some scrambled egg which looked very good and not rubbery as it often is in hotels. The hotel is about 5min. walk from Termini train station and having been to Rome before, we like the part of town the hotel is in. Follow down Via Urbana and you'll find nice little shops and bars which are a bit different and there are no end of good restaurants reasonably priced. Absolutely everything is within easy walking distance. The only draw back is that the hotel has nowhere outside to sit but it has a sister hotel which has and Rafaello guests can use it. However, At the bottom of the road is a fountain and a small shop. Everybody seemed to buy a drink there and sit by the fountain which we were more than happy to do as well. just follow the noise as you head down the road. I am confident I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Penelop365,

We are so glad to hear your staying here was such a nice one!

Yes, we have a huge respect for our guests, and we prove it by always trying to give our best- from the quality of the products we use (for breakfast, as well as in the rooms) to the services we have implemented , and that we are continuously trying to add or improve: such as the free wi-fi, the coffee machine and the tea facilities in the lobby, the computer which our guests can use free of charge, the vending machine where they can buy themselves a snack or a drink late in the night, or the concierge service, where guests can get assistance regarding tickets for museums, train schedules, or any other information concerning their staying here...

Hoping your new visit will be a soon reality, we wish you all the best, and thank you once again for having chosen us, for having enjoyed us, and for having given us a little bit of your time while writing this review! :)
Warmest wishes,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We returned from the Rafaello yesterday. It had been recommended by friends so we were already expecting it to be suitable for our needs but it was far better than that.

Easy to find, short walk from Termini (15 mins), welcome was friendly, quick check in and up to our room (in the tiny lift but it does just the job - kids used the stairs!). Take the train from the airport it's easy to do and quicker than a taxi - though for 4 people the cost would be similar 14 euros each, free under 12.

We had a quad room on the 4th floor as we had an 11 year old and 14 year old - not old enough for their own room but too old for camp beds. Room was just what we required - bedroom off a bedroom - proper beds for all and a nice spotless bathroom (shower). No view, as stated in previous reviews - that would just have been a bonus. Pillow menu was a nice surprise - we all chose differently (!!) and free Wi-Fi was fantastic bonus - where would we be without email and Facebook! Also, it is an area restricted for traffic so there is very little road noise so we got a very good nights sleep even with the windows cracked open!

The area of Monti is super - loads of reasonably priced, authentic bars and restaurants. Pretty square with fountain & evening sunshine surrounded by nice bars, plenty of nice small boutique shops and a fantastic gelateria on Via Leonina for after dinner ice-creams. It feels safe, busy in the evenings with nice local people having a good time and no hard sell touts. Perfect for families with older kids looking for an "Italian evening" without crowds or having to walk too far!

The Rafaello doesn't have a restaurant - it doesn't need to with all those great restaurants on the doorstep. However its small breakfast mezzanine is perfect. Breakfast was lovely and the service from the ladies there every day was just great - friendly, smiling, helpful and kept everything clean, tidy, topped up and running smoothly. And, there is a nice coffee machine, kettle etc in the lobby to help yourself to a free drink when you return from a long day out!

Front desk staff very cheerfuly, friendly and helpful. Return airport taxi (set cost 48euro) arrived 3 mins after booking and was efficient on a Sunday - weekdays I would use the train again. Housekeeping impeccable & friendly.

I would definitely stay at the Rafaello again if we returned to Rome and would recommend it to anyone (expect perhaps those with small kids in pushchairs - the cobbles, hills, stairs, lift etc may be too much a challenge for them). For us, the area in the evenings was the biggest plus - a really nice place to be, particularly if you've had a hard day sightseeing.

Thank you to all the staff at Rafaello.

Room Tip: Quad rooms for family perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear SomersetSarah,

Are you sure you are not a hotel critic?! :) As you seem very fit to me, you have thought about everything, I don't know what else we could add to such a complete review like yours! :)

Thank you, first of all, for having chosen us. Second, thank you for having enjoyed us. And third, thank you for having given us some of your precious time, while writing such a detailed and precise review! :)

We are glad to hear we have impressed you so much, and that your staying here was such a warm one, and we do hope you will give us the chance to host you here again soon. :)

Warmest wishes and welcome back home! :)
Regards,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, T4B and Agoda so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.