We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our four-night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Raffaello Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our four-night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just returned from a 3-week France/Italy trip which culminated in four nights in Rome. Our party of three had two rooms and we all agreed that we would stay at Hotel Raffaello on a future visit. We took the Leonardo Express from the airport to the Termini train station and it was just a 10-minute walk to the hotel.

While it is a block off a major street, Via Cavour, the hotel itself is very quiet. The rooms were larger than we expected compared to rooms we have stayed in while visiting Paris and New York and they were spotless. Breakfast, which is included, was nicely prepared with a wide range of choices. The street the hotel is located on, Via Urbana has quite a nice nightlife with a number of restaurant choices, markets with fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, and little shops. So after a long day of being on your feet in Rome. You do not have to go far to have a nice meal if you choose.

Luciano, the concierge, was friendly and helpful each time we asked his advice.

My husband's only complaints were the smallish shower and that he couldn't always get WiFi but they were very minor complaints and would not stop us from enjoying the hotel and location on a future visit. But the free coffee in the lobby made up for it in his opinion! And I loved the fresh apples at the reception desk. Very refreshing after a busy day in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your enthusiastic review, we are glad to have met your preference and your satisfaction.
We always try do do our best in order to meet our guests' gratification, by implementing services like the free wi-fi connection, which gets slow sometimes because of the thickness of the building's walls. The showers get to be a little bit smaller due to their hydro massaging feature, one of the most high tech models.
Hotel Raffaello's position allows our clients to mix the contemporary Italian life style with the ancient and medieval Roman sites and buildings of major interest, thank you for pointing that out.
We hope we will have you again soon here, with us.
Until then, our regards.

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    529
    89
    20
    8
See reviews for
358
903
84
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel Raffaello is situated about 10 minutes walk from Temini station. Reception was excellent and our room reasonable size for a city centre hotel. It had a small balcony but an uninspiring view. All services worked as expected. The breakfast buffet was good and service there friendly. we would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your appreciation. Your satisfaction is the reason we continuously try to improve ourselves, by implementing services like the Pillow Menu (a selection of firmer or softer pillows), the free wi-fi connection, or the concierge service (an exclusive for a 3*** hotel) . We consider our clients deserve the best that we can do, and reviews like yours keep us wanting to do even better than this.

Until we will have you back as a guest,



Best wishes,



Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends, and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The location was very convenient, everywhere was spotlessly clean, staff were friendly and helpful and as other reviewers have said, breakfast was excellent. Would certainly stay at Raffaello again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest, ...




We would like to thank you for such a beautiful review. It means a lot to us knowing our efforts of trying to make our clients' holidays as pleasant as possible are being noticed and considered.
We are continuously trying to improve our services, that is why we added a concierge in our staff, an exclusive service we offer our guests in order to enhance their comfort.
We are looking forward to having you here again soon.


Warm regards,

Elena, concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel mid September. The hotel was located in a good position, close to most of the tourist attractions. We walked most places, however the Metro subway was just down the street. We were disappointed when we arrived for check in. The male staff member was off hand and with out a semblance of friendliness nor a smile. I have travelled extensively and worked in the hospitality industry for many years and know that a friendly welcome makes a huge difference in a guests perception of a hotel. Having said this Francesca was another staff member at reception who always had a friendly smile and a great personality and it made the world of difference. The breakfast was very good and would satisfy most tastes. The staff at breakfast were friendly except for one day when a staff member who was obviously having a bad day and became irritated because we sat at a table that hadn't been cleared as this was the only one available; a frosty reception and spilt coffee made it abundantly clear to us that we had transgressed one of the dining room rules. The bedroom was large and comfortable, the bathroom was also large which makes me wonder why the shower was barely big enough to squeeze into (and i am no heavyweight) as there is plenty of room in the bathroom to have a shower of a suitable size. The room was very clean and a credit to the housekeeping staff. The WiFi was terrible and dropped out continously; free WiFi shouldn't be advertised if it does not work effectively.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoConciergeHR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We apologize for the inconvenient. Staff’s friendliness and hospitality are our main strengths as you can read from the hundreds reviews written by our guests. Probably at the moment of your arrival, our reception staff was particularly busy.
As you could see the Hotel set on an ancient building of the 19th century, the Wi-Fi signal does not arrive well in certain moments due to thick walls, but it now works really well (especially at the lobby) with the recent fine tuning of our connection.
The showers are a little bit smaller because of their hydro massage feature.

We hope to meet you again to give you the warmest welcome possible.

Kindest regards,
Luciano, Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent hotel for the value. It's just a 5-10 minute walk to the central station and about 10 minutes to the coliseum. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. We even had a small balcony in the room. The only downside could be the shower. If you are a large framed person (over 6ft tall and 200+ lbs) then the shower could be a little uncomfortable.

Traveled January 2011

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoConciergeHR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your beautiful review.

We like to offer the much enjoyable and comfortable stay ever. We added a Pillow Menu to enhance comfort of our guests ( a selection of firms or softer pillows).

We look forward to giving the warmest welcome to your friends and family and hope to meet you again at Hotel Raffaello,

Best wishes,
Luciano, Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really liked Hotel Raffaello. The description I read said it was on a quiet sidestreet....I don't think anyplace in Rome is actually quiet...but this may be as close as it gets. Our window opened on the side of the hotel... we prefer fresh air to a/c....it wasn't too noisy. Large bathroom but can't understand why so many Italian hotels use those stand-alone shower units...they remind me of vertical coffins...keep your elbows in! Buffet breakfast was very, very good. Generous with the coffee too. Reception desk staff and concierge were all helpful and truly friendly. There are umbrellas in a stand in the lobby for the guests to use...nice touch. Loved the winding streets, each filled with shops and restaurants of all types. Other guests included Americans, Brits and Italians...a nice mix and fun to chat with others at breakfast about their experiences. All in all, an excellent hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoConciergeHR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear guest,

We are really happy to learn about your satisfaction.

we try to offer our guests the best we can do - value for money, services and of course smiling Staff.
We are all happy to welcome our clients, and we will do it always – It Is our passion!

We hope to see you soon at the Hotel Raffaello,
waiting for you we send our warm regards,
Luciano, Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights in Rome as I was having medical assessments for a legal claim resulting from a fall I had in Ostiense Station, and which resulted in me fracturing my patella very badly. Once again I picked Hotel Raffaello as that is where my family and I had stayed before my accident 2 years ago.

The hotel is perfectly situated close to Termini and Cavour Stations and within walking distance of most attractions. Even though I now have difficulty walking I was still able to do some wondering around after my assessments, and I purchased a one day Metro pass to get closer to some of the attractions which were slightly further away. I did not feel threatened when walking around to restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel at night, and I was a single lady.

I chose a single room as I was travelling alone. This room (116) was very small, but more than adequate for one person. The only criticisms I would have of the room would be that the shower is very very small (my husband would not have fitted in it) and the bed would only be suitable for a person under 1,82m (6 foot) as it did not allow for your feet to hang over the edge. Other than this it was exceptionally clean, and it had a mini-bar, safe, small TV, table and cupboard - everything one would need, especially as not much time would be spent in the room.

Once again the breakfast was of a high standard for Italy with good choices of cereals, fruit, toast, meats, cheese, eggs, etc. The staff in the dining room are very cheerful too. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and will store your luggage for early check-in or late departure (I had both!).

I would certainly recommend this hotel to people visiting Rome as it is very good value for money (I only paid EUR115 per night incl breakfast) and well situated.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with balconies on the top floor - we had one when we stayed as a family and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoConciergeHR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We wish to express all our gratitude to have received an enthousiastic review from you, and we would like to remind all Tripadvisor users that they have special discount!

We are really glad to know that efforts made to improve our customer service are a plusvalue for our guests.

We hope to see you soon at Hotel Raffaello.

Warm wishes,

Luciano, Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: Via Urbana 3 / 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffaello Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.