We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #355 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff and Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The staff was friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and very helpful from the moment I arrived until departure a few days later. They were especially helpful in arranging tours of Rome and the Vatican. The room was modern, clean and the breakfast was excellent. While there were only a few restaurants in the area, on the plus side the hotel is a five-minute walk from the Tusculana train station (on the line to the main airport) and a bus stop and metro station for a short ride into the center of Rome. All-in-all, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear ValuedGuest,
let me express my deep satisfaction knowing we have been able to gratify all your expectations, it means for us we reached our target.

Looking forward to welcome you once more time when you will plan a trip to Italy, we remain with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    440
    157
    60
    22
See reviews for
171
379
47
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

In October I spent a week in lovely Rome with my wife and we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is located outside the city center but with easy access to tourist attractions by bus, train and metro. We enjoyed staying in a neighborhood among ordinary Romans. The room was fine, breakfast was super and the staff professional and always ready to help.
When we had checked in at the airport, I discovered that I forgot my handmade umbrella from London, but all it took was a phone call to the hotel. They found the umbrella and then sent it to me at home.
My best recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Its sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be faultless. We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because we are persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. It could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from the north bound to the south bound is almost of 45 km. The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time
We appreciate your comment about the service provided on the forgotten umbrella, because we have been happy to deliver it to your home address.
Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here from 25/10/2013-28/10/2013 and were really surprised at how much we enjoyed this hotel.
Reception staff could not have been more helpful and polite. Very nice! They are also open 24hrs which is very good. Same for the bar next to it.
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, pastries, toast, selection of meats/cheese's, fruit and cold/hot drinks.
Our room was a good size with a balcony and flat screen TV. We had tea/coffee facilities, bath robes, slippers and hair dryer. Bathroom was also equipped with shower gel, soap, shaving facilities etc.
There is a busstop at the end of the road which is about a 10 minute ride to the Colosseum. The area isn't great at night - only two restaurants close by. We only visitied one which was very nice, we went back again the next night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to women travelling alone as there are a lot of homeless people around and I generally didn't get a safe vibe outside of the hotel... Although this isn't the hotel's fault.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much indeed about your nice survey about your recent stay with us and as you perfectly wrote our Hot Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us.
I’d only remind all followers, you booked an executive room more equipped than the standard room with bathrobes, slippers, Illy coffe Expresso Machine, free WI-FI, free Garage and in-courtyard facing balcony at only € 15,00 per day more.
All the standard rooms are furnished with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, real eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Concerning some home–less founded during the day near Hotel, I would like to explain to all readers, there is a House of Mercy on Via Assisi, (same street) therefore they comes every day for lunch and dinner time, but nothing happen to our Guests since the opening of the Holiday Inn Rome San Giovanni 11 years ago, even during the night time. They are only poor unfortunate people not dangerous in any sense. It is absolutely safe!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanaimo, BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late October. No complaints. Staff very friendly and property clean. Lovely courtyard in the center. Nice to relax with cocktail after a day of sightseeing. Close to bus to take you into the tourist zone. We actually were happy not to be right in the mayhem that is Rome central. We found the suburban neighbourhood safe and found lots of options for dining within walking distance. Internet was not included and pricey. Breakfast was very nice and had lots of options. Easy train ride to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me express my deep satisfaction concerning your precious world used to describe your stay with us, real reason to us continue this way!
Please also note in the H.I. Express brand the internet connection is provided as complimentary service only to Gold / Platinum IHG Rewards Members, for the Base Members the WI-FI connection is on charge until the end of 2013 but from Jan. the 1st, 2014 will be free even for them: this is our way to upgrade the Customers for their fidelity.

For all the other Guest not IHG Member the internet wireless Wi-Fi 20 Mg. connection network service costs € 11,00 for 24 hours service with taxes included and is very appreciated from all our business Travelers, but if you will need less connection the fare are as follow:

€ 2,00 1 half hours
€ 4,00 1 hour
€ 7,00 3 hours
€ 11,00 24 hours

Looking forward to welcome you back, I remain with
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had no complaints about the room or service. The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful, the only draw back was its location to downtown Rome. A short bus or subway ride will get you to the main attractions, but if you have anything early to do, you are going to need a taxi. Again not expensive, but not convenient either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you to reserve you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni and I’m really proud our Staff have been able to satisfy all your needs, but let me please explain something on your note as regards the distance from the Down Town area.
Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group. It means we guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. It could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from east side of the city to the west side of the G.R.A. (Highways ring road), is about 35 miles (55 km.)
The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to the only world known Eternal City.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The neighbourhood was a bit better than other reviewers led us to suspect, a few Trip Advisor restaurants close by! but, our hotel room floor had been flooded and we spent the evening admitting a porter who lay down towels on the floor. the smell in the room was very unpleasant, so I suspect it had been like that for a few days- but, still, they put in guests.
The next day we were moved ( make your suitcase..we will move you) to the room next door. Fine. But there is a surcharge for everything. - extra for internet, extra for tv, extra for internet in the lobby which was so slow that I had still failed to connect by the time my time was over. Our group was'assigned' a breakfast time, and a couple that needed an early breakfast so they could join their excursion were refused a breakfast package. End of the day, they just joined the early breakfasters and no one commented. It's not an expensive hotel, and that makes in worth investing in a day / week pass
leave the hotel and head left - aparently you run into a huge, wooded park that you can cut through and head for the via Appia!
The personnel was fantastic and friendly, every one of them!

Room Tip: the hotel overlooks the train rails. the inner rooms overlook a terrace. So, depending on the kind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate you find the time to wrote a review as part of a Touristic Group, and the positive grade you gave to our Hotel, but as you perfectly know as being part of a Touristic Group the manage of such kind of massive number or people needs different rules than single Guest.

This is the reason why two of your Companion could not have breakfast earlier than the rest of the Group.

Regarding your note about the distance from the Down Town area, doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group.

It means we guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills. This allow us to be very competitive in price range but Customer who need extra service as WI-FI as to pay for it, but nowhere you will find a mention to one, because is clearly written in our web page we don’t offer this kind of service.

Please also note in the H.I. Express brand the internet connection is provided as complimentary service only to Gold / Platinum IHG Rewards Members, for the Base Members the WI-FI connection is on charge until the end of 2013 but from Jan. the 1st, 2014 will be free even for them: this is our way to upgrade the Customers for their fidelity.

For all the other Guest not IHG Member the internet wireless Wi-Fi 20 Mg. connection network service costs € 11,00 for 24 hours service with taxes included and is very appreciated from all our business Travelers, but if you will need less connection the fare are as follow:

€ 2,00 1 half hours
€ 4,00 1 hour
€ 7,00 3 hours
€ 11,00 24 hours

Regarding your claim “extra for TV” it is absolutely wrong because we provide for free in each room 25 channels in the most important languages of the World. Without doubt you confused with the in-room movies on charge, but this service allows you to see the First Run Movie directly in your Hotel Room!

Concerning the room floor had been flooded, the night before your arrival a heavy thunderstorm has beat Rome and some water came in below the door-window of the ground-floor room, but we couldn’t assign other room because the hotel was fully booked.
The day after we asked you to pack all your staff (because we cannot touch your personal belongings) to move to other room.

All the 120 rooms are equipped with open wardrobe, the bedside table are made without drawers because the average stay is of 1 and ½ days but offers the same high standard furniture, with modern interior design with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

An excellent modern budget hotel. Clean and well-appointed rooms and bathrooms, with a both an internal lounge and a spacious internal courtyard. A wide range of breakfast selections, from cereals and fruit to freshly made cakes and pastries, with multiple choices of beverages, open from 6.30-10.30 daily. Friendly and helpful staff, speaking good English.

A short stroll from the Metro (Furio Camillo is more convenient to get to/from than Ponte Lungo) through Via Veturia with local shops including a mini-supermarket and fruiterers. Restaurants include the excellent Binario 96 on via Nocera Umbra, 5 mins walk from hotel.

Proximity to the Tuscolana rail station is an advantage getting from Fiumicino airport (we found the train to be unreliable getting back, but easy to get to Termini for Leonardo Express), and the noise of trains is a small price to pay for otherwise great value.

Room Tip: Away from Railway probably an advantage but noise can be heard in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you very much indeed for your kinds words used to describe your recent stay with us, this means a great reason of satisfaction for all our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Rome, I remain with best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rome
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Business Hotel in Rome
#333 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to young and qualified Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. Recently built and renovated in 2010, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, flat 32" TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channels, pay TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers to protect the environment. A tasty complimentary buffet breakfast waits to wake you up, where it is possible to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home – made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. High speed internet WIFI connection in all areas and private garage, with direct access to the Lobby, are at disposal. The Hotel is located in the south part of the Centre of Rome, near the famous Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano. The nearest underground station is located at 5 minutes walking distance from the Hotel (820 yards / 750 m.). The most interesting monuments of Rome as the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti, Piazza Navona and Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican Museums (Sistine Chapel) are easily reachable within a 15/20 minutes underground trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.