We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a liitle too far from downtown rome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #340 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a liitle too far from downtown rome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had no complaints about the room or service. The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful, the only draw back was its location to downtown Rome. A short bus or subway ride will get you to the main attractions, but if you have anything early to do, you are going to need a taxi. Again not expensive, but not convenient either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you to reserve you stay at the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni and I’m really proud our Staff have been able to satisfy all your needs, but let me please explain something on your note as regards the distance from the Down Town area.
Doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group. It means we guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. It could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from east side of the city to the west side of the G.R.A. (Highways ring road), is about 35 miles (55 km.)
The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to the only world known Eternal City.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    411
    140
    58
    22
See reviews for
163
347
44
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The neighbourhood was a bit better than other reviewers led us to suspect, a few Trip Advisor restaurants close by! but, our hotel room floor had been flooded and we spent the evening admitting a porter who lay down towels on the floor. the smell in the room was very unpleasant, so I suspect it had been like that for a few days- but, still, they put in guests.
The next day we were moved ( make your suitcase..we will move you) to the room next door. Fine. But there is a surcharge for everything. - extra for internet, extra for tv, extra for internet in the lobby which was so slow that I had still failed to connect by the time my time was over. Our group was'assigned' a breakfast time, and a couple that needed an early breakfast so they could join their excursion were refused a breakfast package. End of the day, they just joined the early breakfasters and no one commented. It's not an expensive hotel, and that makes in worth investing in a day / week pass
leave the hotel and head left - aparently you run into a huge, wooded park that you can cut through and head for the via Appia!
The personnel was fantastic and friendly, every one of them!

Room Tip: the hotel overlooks the train rails. the inner rooms overlook a terrace. So, depending on the kind o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate you find the time to wrote a review as part of a Touristic Group, and the positive grade you gave to our Hotel, but as you perfectly know as being part of a Touristic Group the manage of such kind of massive number or people needs different rules than single Guest.

This is the reason why two of your Companion could not have breakfast earlier than the rest of the Group.

Regarding your note about the distance from the Down Town area, doubtfully you will be able to find Hotels more central located than the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni, but please remind the prices will be definitely higher. High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group.

It means we guarantee the same high standard level the 4 stars brand Holiday Inn adding an exceptional breakfast buffet always in rate included but without frills. This allow us to be very competitive in price range but Customer who need extra service as WI-FI as to pay for it, but nowhere you will find a mention to one, because is clearly written in our web page we don’t offer this kind of service.

Please also note in the H.I. Express brand the internet connection is provided as complimentary service only to Gold / Platinum IHG Rewards Members, for the Base Members the WI-FI connection is on charge until the end of 2013 but from Jan. the 1st, 2014 will be free even for them: this is our way to upgrade the Customers for their fidelity.

For all the other Guest not IHG Member the internet wireless Wi-Fi 20 Mg. connection network service costs € 11,00 for 24 hours service with taxes included and is very appreciated from all our business Travelers, but if you will need less connection the fare are as follow:

€ 2,00 1 half hours
€ 4,00 1 hour
€ 7,00 3 hours
€ 11,00 24 hours

Regarding your claim “extra for TV” it is absolutely wrong because we provide for free in each room 25 channels in the most important languages of the World. Without doubt you confused with the in-room movies on charge, but this service allows you to see the First Run Movie directly in your Hotel Room!

Concerning the room floor had been flooded, the night before your arrival a heavy thunderstorm has beat Rome and some water came in below the door-window of the ground-floor room, but we couldn’t assign other room because the hotel was fully booked.
The day after we asked you to pack all your staff (because we cannot touch your personal belongings) to move to other room.

All the 120 rooms are equipped with open wardrobe, the bedside table are made without drawers because the average stay is of 1 and ½ days but offers the same high standard furniture, with modern interior design with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

An excellent modern budget hotel. Clean and well-appointed rooms and bathrooms, with a both an internal lounge and a spacious internal courtyard. A wide range of breakfast selections, from cereals and fruit to freshly made cakes and pastries, with multiple choices of beverages, open from 6.30-10.30 daily. Friendly and helpful staff, speaking good English.

A short stroll from the Metro (Furio Camillo is more convenient to get to/from than Ponte Lungo) through Via Veturia with local shops including a mini-supermarket and fruiterers. Restaurants include the excellent Binario 96 on via Nocera Umbra, 5 mins walk from hotel.

Proximity to the Tuscolana rail station is an advantage getting from Fiumicino airport (we found the train to be unreliable getting back, but easy to get to Termini for Leonardo Express), and the noise of trains is a small price to pay for otherwise great value.

Room Tip: Away from Railway probably an advantage but noise can be heard in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you very much indeed for your kinds words used to describe your recent stay with us, this means a great reason of satisfaction for all our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Rome, I remain with best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had to extend our vacation by a week, as my passport was stolen and couldn't go on our cruise. The staff were very helpful and spoke English and went out their way to assist us. We also had a medical emergency and they helped us find a hospital and make phone calls and we were able to get the attention we needed. The bartender was great, if you buy one drink( 8 euro) after 5 PM, they had an hors d'oeuvre buffet you could help yourself to that was decent. The drinks were good ones! The hotel was very clean, and their breakfast buffet was very large and had a good variety of pastries, meat and cheese, bread, rolls, yogurt, fruit, all types of coffee and teas.

Room Tip: The only drawback, was no refrigerator. But we asked to store my husband's insulin and they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I’ve really appreciate your kind words to describe the skill of our Staff and all the amenities our Hotel offers.
We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because we are persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.
The complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with a choice among over 100 daily fresh products is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights in early September and we were both happy with our stay. The hotel surroundings are rather scruffy, but it is a very short walk from Tuscolana station which itself is only a 30 minute journey by train from the airport, costing 8 euros each. It is very handy for both bus (16 goes to Termini and 85 to city centre/colosseum) and metro (about 10 min walk ) into the city centre or to the Vatican. The neighbourhood felt safe for two females on our own. You could also walk into the city centre if you are feeling energetic - about an hour but passing interesting things and shops. One evening we got a taxi back from the centre, cost 15.50 euros. The hotel was clean, the room nice, en-suite facilities fine and roomier than expected, and on request we got a kettle and drink sachets within 5 minutes. We asked for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard, and slept soundly. Breakfast was certainly enough with an 'eat what you want' buffet and for a budget hotel I really can't fault it. Just a note for reception - you CAN get travel tickets from the kiosk at the bottom of the road! Just 6 euros for unlimited daily travel on underground, bus and tram - bargain. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a budget package and were offered an upgrade to include a balcony overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We can't tell you how much we appreciate the kind review of our hotel. It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated by our associates and we focus on training them to provide each guest with an pleasant stay, but let me have you and all the Readers some advise on the neighborhood and on the note you left for the Reception.

The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum. The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time even for two females on their own, the real suburbs are near the bounders of the city at almost 30 km. from here!

The Receptionist recommend to buy they daily tickets directly by the Metro Station automatic machine, because mostly of the time the News stand at the corner is unstocked, but you have been lucky!

Looking forward to welcome you as preferred Guest next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel was better than expected.

Very clean rooms and great wifi connection.

Breakfast was good also - lots of continental breakfast choices to be had.

We have stayed in a number of HolidayInn Expresses and we will certainly stay in this one again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much indeed about your nice survey about your recent stay with us and, as you perfectly wrote, our Hot Breakfast Buffet is our best way to thank you for choosing us.
We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely

Roberto Cangrande - Sales Manager.
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Which was a place to eat breakfast and sleep. The breakfast at this hotel is very good, and the most substantial of the 3 hotels we stayed at during our visit to Italy. The rooms were a little small but this was only a minor inconvenience. The bathroom did have a little bit of mold around the shower area. The desk staff were generally friendly and helpful.

Beware before you book that this hotel is NOT near the touristy Rome attractions. You can walk about 8 minutes to the PonteLungo Metro stop which is an inexpensive way to get to the more popular parts of the city. This area is considered the suburbs, which can be good if you want to eat at more local places and have a chance to get away from the buzz of touristy Rome.

Overall, a solid hotel that met our needs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you for you kind review on Tripadvisor.com about your recent stay with us and I’m glad we were able to satisfy most of your needs.
Regarding your complain about the mold founded near the shower area, it would be great if you tell immediately to the Reception in order to let you move to another room and contemporary to replace the silicon in the shower. Anyway we checked all the rooms to find out in which of them was the mold and resolve the problem.
The Hotel is located in the south side of the old historic city’s centre at only 4 km. from the real Heartbeat of Rome: the Coliseum.
The area is a residential district usually very quiet at day and night time, and it is absolutely not a suburb, as you wrote, because the real suburbs are near the bounders of the city at almost 30 km. from here!


Even if the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni isn’t side by side of the Monuments within the Old Roman Walls, we daily keeping to improve our high standard of services to grant the Customers’ satisfaction at a reasonable price, much lower than Hotel along the Roman’s Forum.
High percentages of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.

Using the public transport to move from the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is very easy because at 820 yards/750 mt. there is the "A" line underground stop “Ponte Lungo”, used to reach the city centre and the pedestrian areas, as “Piazza di Spagna”. The railway station “Tuscolana” is situated only at 380 yards/350 mt. and can be used to reach in 20 minutes the international airport “Fiumicino – L. Da Vinci”, with only € 8,00 per person.

Looking forward to welcome you next time you will plan a trip to Italy, I remain at your disposal for any further convenience.
Kind regards.


Roberto Cangrande - Sales Manager.
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rome
#119 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
#202 Business Hotel in Rome
#313 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to young and qualified Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. Recently built and renovated in 2010, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, flat 32" TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channels, pay TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers to protect the environment. A tasty complimentary buffet breakfast waits to wake you up, where it is possible to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home – made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. High speed internet WIFI connection in all areas and private garage, with direct access to the Lobby, are at disposal. The Hotel is located in the south part of the Centre of Rome, near the famous Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano. The nearest underground station is located at 5 minutes walking distance from the Hotel (820 yards / 750 m.). The most interesting monuments of Rome as the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti, Piazza Navona and Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican Museums (Sistine Chapel) are easily reachable within a 15/20 minutes underground trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.