We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel no more ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #356 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel no more ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I Spent last 4 days in Roma ,staying in this hotel ( booked by organisators FRAM) , not so closed to Roma center , but closed to a Railway station ...(a bit noisy)
A bit noisy , the worse are the missing smiles of the staff if any problem with the room .
Breakfast coffee is ok and correct for food. Acceptable but no real advantage to take nights there .If you plan to take snapshots of Rome by night choose another one is too far ...
In addition you have a wall as a view ( downstairs) from you room . Bath local is small ,bed confortable .

Room Tip: Try first level and second level .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay.
Regarding your complain about the location please note rven if the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni isn’t side by side of the Monuments within the walls, we daily keeping to improve our high standard of services to grant the Customers’ satisfaction at a reasonable price, much lower than Hotel along the Roman’s Forum.

High percentage of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.


The real heart beat of Rome is the Colosseum and we are located at only 4 Km. from there and at only 6 km. from the Spanish Steps, in the south side of the City Centre therefore it could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from east side of the city to the west side of the G.R.A. (Highways ring road) within is considered the city centre of Rome, is about 27 miles (45 km.)


Concerning the noisy coming from the railways station nearby the Hotel, we provided all the 120 rooms with soundproof glazed window therefore will be possible to hear some noisy only if you leave them opened.
Do not forget the operating hours of the train inside the city are from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 pm. to allow the sleeping hours to all the neighborhood residents and tourists.

The complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with a choice among over 100 daily fresh products is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss anything in further detail feel free to do so.
At your disposal for any further convenience, I remain with kind regards




Roberto Cangrande Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    440
    157
    60
    22
See reviews for
171
379
47
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I wasn't happy with this hotel location, the rooms very small and no service, food not bad,

hotel very near to the down town.

I didn't recommend this hotel for vacation, as business is not bad.

Breakfast I like it very much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for choosing us for your trip to Rome among so many lodging possibility the city offers.

Please note our Hotel belongs to the Holiday Inn Express Brand (3 stars rating) this means is the limited service brand with the InterContinental Hotels Group.

The rooms are 18 sq. m. large, therefore absolutely correctly for the European standard, this information is also written on our web site.
Regarding the assertion “no service” sincerely I don’t understand what you mean, because the hotel has 24 H. Reception, Bar service and Daily Housekeeping, but not Room Service because it belong the brand Express, as previous explained.


Even if the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni isn’t side by side of the Monuments within the walls, we daily keeping to improve our high standard of services to grant the Customers’ satisfaction at a reasonable price, much lower than Hotel along the Roman’s Forum.
Concerning your write “I don’t recommend this Hotel” probably you were looking for a 4 o 5 stars Hotel, but note high percentage of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices, especially on our free Express Start Breakfast offers guests the freedom to relax and help themselves to as much as the like with a variety of over 100 products worthy o a 5 stars Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss anything in further detail, please feel free to do so.
Once again thank you for your review and for staying with us.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here last month for 2 nights. The location is great for either taking the train or the metro (2 different stations), an easy walk. I had a bit of trouble with my room at first, there was a piercing sound in the room and in parts of the hall, it took a couple of tries to find a room that was quiet but the staff did their best to accomodate me. The wifi was fine and the room was standard HIE. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni hotel and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We are thrilled that our associates found a solution to the problem you had with the noise coming from outside the building, moving you to another available room.
Looking forward to welcoming you back I beg to accept my best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice with a great outdoor area where you can enjoy your breakfast or a good drink in the night... Very tropical style. A swimming pool would suit well in the area.
The location is really good, as you're not in the middle of the big crowd of Rome, but close to train and subway stations anyway. 10 min and you can reach the city center.
The service provided is really good, breakfast is amazing with fresh selection of breads, cakes, cold cuts, etc.
Staff was polite and friendly. Special thanks to Adriano and Domenico who were very helpful.
In general it is a good hotel to spend your holidays and enjoy the beautiful Rome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I’ve really appreciate your kind words to describe the skill of our Staff and all the amenities our Hotel offers.

The Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni is glad to offer a tasty complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast, where is possible to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Schonborn, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have book this hotel for the business trip in Rome. I found the hotel quiet good one. Hotel staff was welcoming. I have request for the room facing courtyard and I got one. I have read few previous reviews which complain about train noise, but I did not find any noise as such. Room was cozy and bit small, but as this was Express so I wont complain of the same.
Breakfast in the morning was good and quiet in quantity, quality and variety. I will recommend this hotel if you planning for the short trip to Rome. As metro station is on 7-10 minutes walking distance and bus stop is very near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Dear Valued Guest,
I’ve really appreciate your kind words to describe the skill of our Staff and all the amenities our Hotel offers.
We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because I’m persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.


The Holiday Inn Rome San Giovanni has been renovated at the end of 2011 and offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, real eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person.
All the rooms are equipped with liquid soap dispensers, located at the toilettes and showers, flat 32”TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channel, pay tv, direct dial telephone and hairdryer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back I beg to accept my best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After being in typical Italian hotels for 12 days, it was nice to be in a American style hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The hotel was not in the best of locations but felt safe and about a 10 minute walk to the metro. The breakfast was served in a nice, light filled room that opened onto the courtyard, which has nice, modern style seating. The breakfast itself was a pretty typical free breakfast, nothing special but plentiful. The hotel is a little further from the airport than the city center hotels but worth it for he american style amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Rome. Its sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be faultless. High praise indeed, we appreciate your generous comments.

Even if the Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni isn’t side by side of the Monuments within the walls, we daily keeping to improve our high standard of services to grant the Customers’ satisfaction at a reasonable price, much lower than Hotel along the Roman’s Forum.
High percentage of our Guests are pleased of our service with a perfect balance between supply and prices.
The Holiday Inn Rome San Giovanni, it is located in the south side of the City Centre and it could be absolutely considered central located, because the distance from east side of the city to the west side of the G.R.A. (Highways ring road) within is considered the city centre of Rome, is about 27 miles (45 km.)

The complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with a choices among over 100 daily fresh products is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this trip for a short break for my husbands 80th birthday and all of my requests were graciously met.We had a very quiet room overlooking a charming courtyard where you can have breakfast or drinks in the evening and the room was very clean and comfortable. Upon arrival the reception staff were very wecoming and provided us with a map and information about tours The hotel is very close to Tuscolana station with a dirict line to the Airport and costs 8euros each way. There is a bus stop adjacent to the hotel that takes you directly in to the city and also the Metro is about 10minutes away. The breakfast at the hotel is excellent with a huge choice of a food and very helpful staff. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again if we were visiting Rome again which is a facinatig city with so much to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I was particularly happy to read your comments about your stay with us because our biggest satisfaction will be to maintain the hospitality promise: to let you have a pleasant and unforgettable stay.
The complimentary Hot American Buffet Breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rome
#191 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Business Hotel in Rome
#333 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to young and qualified Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. Recently built and renovated in 2010, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, flat 32" TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channels, pay TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers to protect the environment. A tasty complimentary buffet breakfast waits to wake you up, where it is possible to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home – made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. High speed internet WIFI connection in all areas and private garage, with direct access to the Lobby, are at disposal. The Hotel is located in the south part of the Centre of Rome, near the famous Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano. The nearest underground station is located at 5 minutes walking distance from the Hotel (820 yards / 750 m.). The most interesting monuments of Rome as the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti, Piazza Navona and Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican Museums (Sistine Chapel) are easily reachable within a 15/20 minutes underground trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.