We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat, breakfast and happy hour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #342 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
GreenLeadersGold level
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a treat, breakfast and happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 5 day stay at this hotel and I have so many wonderful things to say that I don't know where to begin. The front desk staff is welcoming, knowledgeable and speak excellent English. My mom and I were traveling alone and this hotel could not have felt more like a home away from home. We had a balcony room overlooking the courtyard in the second floor. The beds are very comfortable, the maid service exceptional, the shower was hot and full of pressure, but small (as the showers in Europe are). The daily breakfast saves a bundle and the home made cakes and fabulous cappuccino machines for us fueled and ready for a day of touring! Upon return to the hotel each evening from a long day of walking, we had snacks and appetizers in the lobby accompanying the delicious, local bottle of Frascati wine available for a great price of €15. The transportation system in Rome is fantastic and all accessible from this hotel. Save your money on the hotel and stay here to afford the delicious food at the restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because I’m persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.
We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Rome. Its sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we are delighted to let our team know that you found their service to be impeccable. High praise indeed, we appreciate your generous comments.
The complimentary breakfast buffet for any kind of rates is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests.
The Happy Hour Buffet will allow to all our Guest to enjoy of the free groceries every afternoon from 05:30 p.m. to 08:30 p.m. (except on Sunday).
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host your next visit to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    409
    140
    58
    22
See reviews for
163
346
43
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warm Springs, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was staying at the ICH downtown Rome, but the staff were very rude so moved out to the Express the next day. The staff was excellent. Will stay here the next time I come into Rome. A couple of really good restaurants in the area, metro is only a couple of blocks away, train is one block away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I was particularly happy to read your comments about your stay at our Hotel, especially if you compare with another 5 stars Hotel down town Rome.

We focused to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because I’m persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.

We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and looking forward to welcome as favorite Guest, I remain with kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

close to Tuscolana station( cheap transport from fiumicino airport) and bustop nr 16and 85 to city center, also metro ponte lungo( 500m) very nice and wel maintained hotel. polite staff and rich breakfast. Breath very good quality! In the neigbourhood good and cheap restaurants e.g. try c'era una volta. Stay in this hotel every year for 10 days. Wifi is free in the lounge.

Room Tip: rooms in front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Let me thank you for the nice survey to describe our skills and looking forward to have once again as preferred Guest i wish you a marvellous 2013.
Yours’ faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean spacious rooms and bathrooms. Good breakfast with both Italian and American favorites. Very close to train line from airport, metro, transport. Great local neighborhood with good food and market, for a family of 6.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you to choose your Hotel between the several lodging options and we are very pleased you find everything of your appreciation.
In the mean time to host you once again as precious Guest, I remain with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at this HI Express hotel twice for couple of nights each during Christmas 2012, using combination of points and paid nights. We were recognized and greeted as Gold members, and the Internet was complimentary as a result. It is a modern looking hotel, close to the Ponte Luongo metro station (8-10 minutes walk) and Tuscalona FR1 station (5 minutes walk). the neighborhood is quiet, very safe and a welcome change from the crowds at the main attractions in Rome. Rooms were bright, cheerful and absolutely adequate for a hotel in this class. The rates were very reasonable by Rome standards. Included breakfast was excellent. The best part was the staff at the front desk as well as the restaurant, they were friendly and helpful all throughout. Grabbing a drink from the bar and carrying it back to our room in the nights became a habit :) . Of course this is not a happening or luxury or romantic hotel if that is what you are looking for in Rome, but it is a clean, modern, convenient and affordable hotel to stay for a few nights to spend in the Eternal City.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
we are very proud to be your elected Hotel to spend each year your Christmas vacation and you find the personnel all at the high standard to exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to host you as favorite Guest during your next trip to the Eternal City I beg you to accept in name of all the Staff our kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had a plesant stay at this hotel. It was great for our stay in Rome, close to the means of transport. It's situated in an quiet area. The room I had was very clean bed was very comortable. I recomand this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much indeed for your kind review concerning the recent stay at the H.I. Exp. Rome San Giovanni.
Looking forward to host you soon as favorite Guest, please do not hesitate to contact me to manage personally your next journey in Rome.
Faithfully Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our first visit to Rome this year was great. The hotel was very clean and very handy to transport to and from all the major attractions. train station is a few minutes away. Metro Station is a 10 minute walks with lots of shops etc on the way. It is in a starnge part of town but we did feel pretty safe walking the streets even late at night when we arrived.
The staff are excellent and will do all they can to help.. A nice casual bar and lobby area .
The breakfast buffet had everything anyone would want. Ham , Cheese , Eggs pastries and all so fresh.
Room was very clean and batchroom was nice. Only slight issue we had was with the show cubicle.. No matter how you closed the doors the water would still flood the bathroom floor.

The menu was what you would expect of a smaller hotel and the portions were a bit small.
We only ate because we were so late arriving.
Down the hill, there is a main street with shops and restuarants if you wished but we spent the days in the tourist areas so we ate at those locations.

Overall , I really like the location and cost . hence the 5 stars . I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto C, Direttore vendite at Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I thank you for your estimated words used to describe your stay with us, a real satisfaction for all of us.
We are proud to let the Guests feel like “Home away from Home” because I’m persuaded this should be the most important target to be reached from all the Hoteliers.
Its sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we hope to have you return on your next visit so we can exceed them.
As you perfectly descried the complimentary breakfast buffet for any kind of rates is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our Guests.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in case you would like to stay with us again, I’ll be happy to let you have a special rate.
Proud to be your hotel of choice in Rome and looking forward to welcoming you back, I remain
Yours’ faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni

Address: Via Assisi 51, 00181 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rome
#194 Family Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
#312 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Rome San Giovanni provides a charming and relaxing atmosphere nearly in the heart of Rome, thanks to young and qualified Staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious courtyard, ideally location for tasting an appetizers or having some rest at the end of a hard work day or after a sightseeing tour. Recently built and renovated in 2010, the Hotel offers 120 fully furnished rooms with brand new sommiers and anatomical mattresses, eiderdown, 2 graduated compression pillows per person, flat 32" TV set with 6 free of charge Sky channels, pay TV, direct dial telephone, air conditioning system, bathrooms with shower and liquid soap dispensers to protect the environment. A tasty complimentary buffet breakfast waits to wake you up, where it is possible to choose among over 100 products, many of them freshly home – made as pastries, season fruit gateaux, candied or dried fruit cakes and croissants. High speed internet WIFI connection in all areas and private garage, with direct access to the Lobby, are at disposal. The Hotel is located in the south part of the Centre of Rome, near the famous Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano. The nearest underground station is located at 5 minutes walking distance from the Hotel (820 yards / 750 m.). The most interesting monuments of Rome as the Colosseum and the Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Piazza di Spagna and Via Condotti, Piazza Navona and Pantheon, St. Peter’s Basilica and the Vatican Museums (Sistine Chapel) are easily reachable within a 15/20 minutes underground trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni Hotel Rome
Holiday Inn Rome
Fiuggi Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rome - San Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.