We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Is Not That Bad!!!!!!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Philia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Philia to your Saves list
Hotel Philia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #978 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
B'ham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Hotel Is Not That Bad!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

staff are extremely friendly and helpful by providing maps and tourists booklets while giving in depth recommendations.
Althought the room is a bit old and not air-conditioned, the cleanliness and the basic facilities are acceptable, the toilet is clean enough and breakfast is pretty good as well! 100 euro per night and breakfast included!
all i can say is it is highly recommended and the location is very good, near to the central triain station and bus station.
worth value!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    18
    26
    46
See reviews for
21
54
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

This hotel was disappointing. Staff friendly and helpful enough..gave us maps and explained routes on the metro to where we wanted to go. The 'hotel' is actually 2/3 floors on a building shared with others. The sign out front is very small. The rooms were horrible. Terrible stagnant water smell smell coming from who knows where. Old fittings, a towel rack that falls apart, a toilet with 1ft. clearance in front of it and a shower designed for what seems to be a child..not even a place to rest your soap in the shower!! No hand towels were provided and the towels were very hard and made of an unusual material. There was no local temperature control and the units were switched off. We opened the window to get some cool breeze in and to get out the smell. The noise of drunk partiers and police sirens was so much we had to decide between sleeping with the smell and heat or using ear plugs..we chose the earplugs. There are about 7 channels on the tv, none of which are in english. To get to the room we had to use a prehistoric lift smothered in dust and cobweb. For more than 100EURO a night we expected better..breakfast wasn't even included! Don't go here is you have other options in the area. Train station is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

We (a family of four) spent a night in Philia landing in Rome befeore travelling to Umbria. I had been searching a budget accomodation and was scared when found this hotel on hostels(!) site. The family was a little bit scared. What a shock waited us!
More then modest entrance (with a small table on building's wall), but after that... Small but clean, nice, well equipped rooms, good service (it is really a hotel, do not hesitate).
The location is ideal - four short blocks from Termini central station. Next day we went with our luggage to take our car (at Termini) by feet - it is so close. Via Palestro street itself is not noisy and full of trattorias, restourants and other food services right near the hotel - we were excited and used the opportunity.
Thinking that hotel prices in Rome are terrible (I reserved another two nights, when we returned from Umbria, in "Trojano" hotel - just guess the price) it is a really decent, worth to know budget accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

I strongly do not recommend you to stay in this hotel. The room is dark and small plus it has a strange smell. The lift is a very old one and it was completely covered by dust as if the life had been out of operation for decades. THE worst thing which really ----- me off is the attitude of a white-hair staff at the reception. When we came to check in, they said we could leave our baggages in the breakfast room as the check-in time is 2pm. When we checked out, we would like to do the same as our flight was at 11pm. However, to our surprise, we were told that they could not accept our baggages - no baggage room!!! i said we didn't mind putting our baggages in the breakfast room - presumably it won't take much space. but guess we were told - "CHECK IS IN ONE QUESTION, and CHECK OUT IS ANOTHER QUESTION." see?! poor service, poor environment - plus the price isn't cheap - if you are looking for a hostel in rome, any one but not this!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2005

We arrived in Rome late on a Friday night and expected something simple but clean and comfortable. Boy were we wrong. On arrival, the check in area was cramped and dirty as was the lift up to our floor. It felt like something out of a 1980's horror film. As we walked along the corridor it got slightly better but as we entered the room our hearts sank. The room was small, dark , noisy and smelly. The bed was so very uncomfortable and the blankets were not clean. Trying to get to sleep was a nightmare as you couldn't help but think of all the other guests who had used the bedding over the years, without it being washed in between - that's how it felt. However, worse was still to come...there was some noise from the rooms above ours which we thought would settle down shortly. However when 3 o'clock came, we realised that the chance of sleep that night was going to be slim. We decided the following day that we could not endure it for another two nights and booked into the hotel imperiale, which was lovely. However, when we came to check out, the manager was really funny with us and I actually felt very threatened. I kept asking how much I needed to pay, but he was unhappy about us leaving and wouldn't give me a straight answer. We will never go back there again. I have stayed in many hostels before and none of them have had such poor standars as this one. yuk. The only redeeming thing from our stay here was that breakfast was reasonable and the waiter was friendly enough.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Évora, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

This last week, we travelled to Rome in a study trip. Hotel Philia was our "home" for five days. At a first glance, it seemed a little bit worrying (mainly the elevator which needs maintenance)but when inside, we had some pleasant surprises: the rooms were comfortable, clean and the staff was always ready to help us. Considering that it is a two-star residential, specially intended for backpackers, it highly fulfilled our expectations. We strongly advise any teacher in a study trip to stay there. It is also very well located. Our special thanks go to Mr.Giovanni ( a little bit frightening but just in the beginning), to Manuel, always with a pleasant smile at breakfast and specially to Stefanno, who was always considering, polite, friendly and attentive to the needs of a group of 22 students and teachers. It was really a pleasure.Thank you for a nice staying.

Gabriela, Florbela , Elsa and all the students from E.B. 2,3/S. Dr.Isidoro de Sousa de Viana do Alentejo, Portugal

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2004

After the review I read about this hotel, I was prepared for something average--clean, yet simple. We had been traveling through Italy for about a week and stayed at similarly-priced places throughout Italy, including in other large cities such as Venice and Florence. However, what we saw at this hotel was WAAAY below avearge. The room was dark and hot, facing the inside of the building. When we opened the windows, a bunch of mosquitoes flew in. When we called the concierge to ask about how to turn on the A/C, we were told that it doesn't work and WILL NOT be fixed. The room had a bad smell about it, resembling a swamp or possibly a sewage drain. The walls were covered with mosquitoe guts killed by similarly unhappy guests, I am sure. The surprise came every morning when I discovered that my leg had bites all over--not mosquito bites but some other type. We realized that these were probably bed bug bites. THe staff was rude and unfriently. The breakfast was mediocre--croissants, yogurt, coffee and juice--far worse than at any hotel we stayed at in Italy. We paid 90 Euro /night in the begining of October for a double room. I definitely do not recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Philia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philia

Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Philia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Philia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Philia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.