We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON'T STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Beautiful

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Beautiful to your Saves list
Hostel Beautiful
Via Napoleone III, 35, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DON'T STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hostel seemed okay on the outside...but don't be deceived! There are several terrible aspects of this place that must be mentioned:

1. First of all we didn't get a key to our room...so we constantly had to be let in by either the other people in the room or track down some guy that works there to let us in.
2. It is so goddamn loud in the mornings, starting at 8 AM because the cleaners are banging around in the thinly walled building and making tons of noise. THEN they bust into your room every day telling you to check out when you have the room booked for 5 days. Not a good way to wake up each morning with a creepy dude staring you in the face.
3. Elevators don't work.
4. Lukewarm showers.
5. Horrible Wifi. You'll have a tenuous connection only if you're staying in a room near the lounge, otherwise you'll have to leave the room and go to the lounge.

AND THE WORST PART OF ALL: THIS PLACE HAS BEDBUGS. I got them the first night I was there and suffered the whole trip and long afterwards. Hopefully I didn't bring any back with me, but they were definitely there, munching away. So...screw this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    16
    12
    24
See reviews for
9
15
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Germany, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

hello
i was very dissapointed by booking a double roome tin this hotel, the bath room had a terrible smell that were not able to stay in the bath room . water was very cold to have a showere and the drunken guests were screaming that the rest couldnt sleep. no one was there to look into the drunken people to calm them down. bad place for the price. more than hundred euro spent on no shower and no sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for our first few nights in Italy, and really enjoyed it!
We checked in late having just come from three disastrous weeks in Morocco, and we did have a little problem finding it, the lonely planet map shows the wrong location, but only by a block or so. Adding to this the area isn't great, but in no way did i feel threatened, the streets are pretty wide, and well lit, they're just a bit dirty and quiet at night. But don't let this deter you!

We arrived at reception to be told that our twin w/shared bath had been upgraded to an en suite for no extra cost. We were stoked, especially because we were staying for 3 days, so this saved us about $15! There was an Indian guy that worked nights, who was pretty nice and remembered faces, and an Indian girl who worked in the day and was full of information about the city! Both spoke excellent English. Our room was clean, had a great en suite, and was very comfortable! Also, there's a small communal area a floor down (free computer for internet access), and a kinda under equipped kitchen, which was pretty handy for cooking breakfast and saving money (Huge supermarket 3 blocks away).

On the flip-side, the building is in a big shared apartment block, so you have to go to the second floor to check in, and then there are rooms and kitchen on the third floor, and more rooms on the fourth floor. This get to be a bit of a pain if you're staying on the fourth floor, and want to go to the kitchen, because you have to go down to the second, and get them to buzz you in on the third. Great exercise but a bit of a pain! :P If they had a key fob system or something, that could easily resolve this issue!

All in all though, we had a really good stay here. We came back a few days later having been in Naples and emailed them the morning we were returning, and got our same room, for the same price! Fantastically located near the train station for arrivals via train, airport bus, or just the metro. Would seriously recommend this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've been in Hostel Beautiful for one night with a friend. We'd booked a twin room with shared bathroom. Reaching the hostel is just a quick walk from Termini station, which is definitely a plus. The neighborhood is certainly not nice, which you would reasonably expect from an Italian hostel so close to the train station, so that was no surprise and for one night, we sure didn't mind.

Finding the place is kind of difficult though, because there are no signs on the street and the hostel itself occupies a flat on the 2nd floor of a building. When we first arrived, the guy at the reception was not really nice, spoke no Italian at all and actually spoke a really poor English as well. The guy from India that was on shift during the night, however, was really nice and friendly, but still, he spoke no Italian and was not able at all to help us with directions and information about the city.

Our room was really spacious, with a nice, big window and lots of free space. Unlike the hall of the hostel, which smelled really bad, it was pretty clean. The beds were comfortable and there was even an extra blanket in the closet. Thank God, because there was no heating!!! It's the end of November, and outside it was about 8 degrees. In the room there was actually one radiator, but unfortunately it was off.

The worst part, however, was this: The bathroom was across the hallway, meaning that we had to walk past the reception and past the main door in order to reach it from our room. Seriously NOT pleasant.
Our room was in fact right next to the reception, and apparently the walls are very thin, because we could clearly hear the reception guy talking on Skype - so he could probably hear us as well. Kudos for the privacy.
The bathroom itself was pretty dirty, only one toilet for both men and women, showers not working really well, no hairdryers.

Positive points are the location and the fact that it is open all night long, so you can go out and enjoy your night and go home whenever you want. They do not have a proper night shift, though: The reception guy sleeps right in the reception area, on the floor, and you simply wake him up when you ring the bell. You do feel sorry for him.

We didn't have the highest expectations about this hostel, but we were pretty disappointed nonetheless. I am sure you can find a better accommodation in Rome for about the same price.

Room Tip: If you choose the twin room with shared bathroom, specifically ask them NOT to give you the one next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

we really appreciate the service and especially the price.
there was a free 24h kitchen free wifi and free computer that we can use.
the location was perfent and thanks for the staff they made our stay very lovley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My stay at this hostel was fantastic! When I arrived late for my booking they welcomed me in without a problem, and then helped me to find somewhere to eat. The staff, especially Mike, were very friendly, and he helped me find all the major sights in town on the map and showed me how to get to them! And on top of that he was stunningly handsome! My room was very clean, along with the bathrooms which always had hot water. The location is also amazing as it is only a couple short blocks from Rome's main station. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who wants an easy and enjoyable stay in Roma!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Unfortunately i slept in this place, but i really wonder if all those positive reviews i saw online are for real!
I don't know where to start.....

First of all there's no sign outside, wich is a bit strange.
Staff spoke bad english and almost no italian,they couldn't give any usefull info on Rome.
I wonder what they do when italians stay there?!We didn't get a proper receipt after paying the full amount for our stay.

After checking in we requested if there were towels in the room, the answer was "no - you have to pay 2 euros per towel"! The so called towel was TINY, i couldn't believe it.

The room and common areas+kitchen was not the cleanest. The room was never cleaned during our stay, and sometimes there was no hot water in the shower.Also wifi was not working in the room...come on, it's 2013!

The kitchen had no cuttleries or plates/knives/forkes.Everything is broken and dirty!

Oh i almost forgot, when we asked for a map of Rome they told us they were finished................

I believe you can find better places in Rome, for a cheaper price.
Would never stay again, and i don't recomend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Beautiful? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Beautiful

Address: Via Napoleone III, 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 632 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Beautiful reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Beautiful Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Beautiful, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.