We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolerable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orazia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orazia to your Saves list
Hotel Orazia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buonarroti, 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #594 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
@
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tolerable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

Hotel is located in a few steps from subway station Vittorio Emmanuele on the 5th floor of a huge building and very easy to find. You have to ring the bell to get the door open. Our double room was surprisingly spacios but bathroom was very simple. We were not disturbed with any noise at all. There were two extra pilliows and two extra blankets in the room. Also there was an moblile cooling conditioner (which we didn't use).
Breakfast room was never crowded. You'll find a standart breakfast in it with the automatic coffee-machine. Cornflakes, muesli, yogurt, croissants, bread, jam, cheese, fruit compote: like in most 3* in Rome.
We paid 70 euro/day for a double room which I consider to be an adequate price.

  • Liked — Close to subway station and to points of interest, too. Not pricey.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
40
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South east England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

We have just returned from a weekend in Rome staying at the Orazia hotel. Booked the hotel through British Airways and paid extra to stay there. Read about the lift and location just before we left. On arrival huge wooden doors and an intercom. Then up in what we called the tardis an ancient lift wire caged with wooden doors. Reception the guy could have been a bit more friendly, room huge, with massive wardrobes, huge double bed, spotlessly clean. View of Sqaure and flower sellers. Breakfast more than adequate, pastries, cheese meat, rolls jam and more.
Very peaceful hotel. Location at first we wondered, but its okay, a supermarket just down the road selling nice pastires and all you need. A block away turn left there is a small pizzaria very reasonable with lovely pizza, lasanga and more. Metro station on door step. 10 min walk from the termini for trains to airport. 25 mins from the collisium and Roman forums. We too went out at night and were fine did not feel at all in any danger.
Not the place we would have choosen if we knew the hotel was on the fith floor, but it worked out well for us, and we enjoyed our stay at the Oriazia.

Don't book the Rome hop on bus ( green) bit of a rip off, use the metro buy a two day ticket.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Situation
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

I loved this hotel. I loved the area. I will stay there every time I go to Rome. It has so much to offer and was so cheap.

Just to set the background, my 2 x twenty-year old sons were booked into a hostel 2 streets away, & initially I was to have stayed with a schoolfriend for our 3 nights in Rome. My arrangement fell through & I booked the Orazia at the last moment as it was close to the boys' hostel. After checking-in & seeing what the Orazia offered, I bit the bullet & moved the boys to the Orazia as well for the 2nd & 3rd nights .. even though we lost the pre-paid hostel accommodation, it was well worth it.

Hotel Security:
Excellent. 24 hour reception. Street entry after 11pm controlled by outer door, inner door plus 2 men at desk. Very alert & aware of exactly who is in the hotel. We (quite rightly) came under severe scrutiny as I (quite wrongly) allowed my un-registered sons full access to my single room during the first day.

Staff:
The staff were excellent. Most spoke good English, all were smiling & helpful, except maybe for the night manager on the 1st night who was very stern about these young men running in & out of my room .. as I said before, he was absolutely right to behave that way, and it gave me enormous confidence in security at the hotel.

Area:
Although every guide book I read warned against the area south of Termini, I didn't find the surrounding streets threatening or "shady" at all .. & not just on the occasions when I was flanked by 2 x 6' sons.
I always felt completely comfortable walking alone in the area. and found the street vendors, cafe owners, passer-bys etc etc very very helpful.

Location:
I knew we were "central" .. but to go for a walk on our 1st day and fall over the Colesseum a couple of streets away was wonderful. Even a fat 49-year old heavy smoker really can easily walk to all the traditional sights !

Cleanliness:
Immaculate. Rooms serviced fully in morning & again at night with shutters closed etc

Facilities:
My single room had desk, double bed, minibar, wardrobe, bedside drawers, good lighting & lamps, efficient air-con/heater, wardrobe, TV, separate bathroom with efficient shower & loads of hot-water. It was a little cramped, but for the budget price far more than I'd expected.
The boys' twin room included all the above, a far bit more passage way and also a small balcony area.

Breakfast:
Unlimited help-yourself buffet in a lovely room overlooking the Piazza.
Cereals, yogurts, fruit juices, cheeses, meats, fresh fresh rolls, rye breads, biscuits, stewed fruit, tea, coffee etc etc etc.

We visited Spain, England, Amsterdam & Rome during our tour and stayed in several hotels .. all more expensive than Orazia.
This was by far the best stay we had.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Although located on the 5th floor, this was no problem, at all, there is a lift. The hotel staff were VERY welcoming, friendly and helpful with finding our way around, best times to visit etc. reminding us about security. The hotel entrance is only a few feet into Via Buonarroti and is just round the corner from the Vittorio red metro line, easily connecting to the other metro lines. Hotel Orazia is within easy walking distance of the beautiful S. Maria Maggiore and if you like walking, the Colliseum. One stop away on the metro takes you to Termini and the number 110 open-top bus route, a great 2-hour ride round all the main sites. You can hop on and off the bus around the route. The area around the hotel is busy and friendly and as two older women, we felt quite comfortable walking back in the evenings. There was no kettle/hospitality tray in the room, but this seems to be general in Europe, and you can order tea/coffee via room service and the reception staff will give you hot water if you ask for it. Enjoy your stay at this hotel, we certainly did.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

The Orazia is in a side street off the Victor Emmannuel Square, on the fifth floor of a rather anonymous building.Do not be put off by the entrance!The square has a faded grandeur and a lively feel, with clothes, flower and shoe stalls late into the night, even a tarot reader.Lots of local life and colour. Pharmacist and supermarket within 2 mins walk, and the metro could not be nearer. We did not feel unsafe at any time.
Our room was huge, with a marble floor and massive repro furniture. It overlooked the square, with a pleasant view over trees, etc. The bathroom was a good size, with a full length bath with shower attachment, basin, loo and bidet. Although there was traffic noise from the square, the hotel itself was very quiet.
All areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained, but the most striking thing was the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The guys in reception always greeted us by name, gave us loads of help in, eg, how to buy metro tickets, booked restauarants and a limo to the airport, and even wished my partner Happy Birthday (they must have looked in his passport!)
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value,friendly, comfortable base while in Rome

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

This is just 10 min walk from the Terminal & 2 min to the U-Bahn.The area is a little busy but the rooms are very quiet. The staff are very helpful. The rooms are very good.........it looked like as if they were all newly furnished and most important they were kept clean. The rates are also reasonable. We had it booked by a travel agency. The beakfast is a little simple but deifnately healthy and hygenic. The lift is a little like the old times..............but the hotel is very well modrenised and clean.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

Coming to this hotel was a terrible experience - so bad, in fact, we made a decision to check out early after only a few hours. The hotel is located on the fourth and fifth floors of a dark, dungenous building, with dim lights and a cramped elevator. The area of town, we later learned, was not the safest location in Rome. Upon arrival to the Orazia the man behind the desk prolonged a personal phone call while my friend and I waited at least 7 minutes to even be acknowledged. The room we were given had filthy dirty walls and the shower flooded while turned on and took 15 minutes to drain. When my friend and I complained to the reception desk, the man was rude, offered no solutions for us and generally did not seem to care for our well being. We felt unsafe in this hotel and would not recommend this place to anyone. I have never been to a hotel and been treated so poorly and rudely, particularly at a place that deems themselves 3-stars. There are much much better places to stay at in Rome for cheaper - this place is not worth your time or your money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orazia

Address: Buonarroti, 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orazia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Orazia is a charming, elegant and very quiet hotel in Rome centre: the Hotel Orazia offers its Guests the advantage of a very central and well-connected location to visit Rome. You can easily reach all the Rome' s attractions either on foot or by underground.There is a walking distance of only a few minutes from the hotel to many historic sites of Rome like the Colosseum and Ancient Rome, Central Termini Station, the big Basilicas of Santa Maria Maggiore and San Giovanni in Laterano. The entrance to the underground is underneath (about 15 mt ) the Hotel, make able our guests to complete the tour of the Eternal City visiting the Vatican with the Sistine Chapel, and many other sites of interest in Rome. By underground, or walking a bit further, you arrive at the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, famous shopping streets and the most important Museums of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orazia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orazia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.