We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, quiet location, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa San Pio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa San Pio to your Saves list
Hotel Villa San Pio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northern california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, quiet location, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here in late October 2013. The staff was great, from the desk staff who helped us find a store to buy clothes and lent us an electric converter (luggage lost at Rome airport overnight), to the breakfast crew (who noticed one morning when we came in later than usual), to the cleaning crew who left sweet grazie notes for our tip. The residential location is a respite from the hordes of tourists visiting the Eternal City. The quiet at night was amazing for a city the size of Rome, and we left the windows open at night. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest from California,
thank you so much for this review! We are very glad that you enjoyed all our staff kindness and courtesy from the reception desk to the bar and the housekeeping department. Moreover we are very pleased that you loved our enviable location, like an oasis in Rome, so peaceful and relaxing.
We are really excited for your next coming to Rome!!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    283
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
167
353
40
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I loved our late September/early October 2013 stay at the Hotel Villa San Pio in Rome. We were greeted at check-in by a helpful attendant who carried bags and gave us chilled juice as the English-speaking check-in person handled our reservation with swift competence. The staff is top notch: carefully attentive, English-speaking, full of useful advice on public transportation, and catering to us with cheerful enthusiasm. Our room was spacious with private bath and a very large balcony overlooking a quiet, leafy street. Of particular note are the beautiful breakfast room and garden, where one can enjoy breakfast outdoors. Drinks are available there in the evenings, which makes a pleasant end to a busy day. Our drinks server (Agapito) was particularly helpful with good service and transportation information. The hotel is also wonderfully located, just 15 minutes walk out the door to the left to major attractions (Circo Massimo, the Colosseum, the Forum) and 10 minutes walk out the door to the right to a wonderful public transportation (buses and subway). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
we really appreciated your lovely words regarding our Hotel Villa San Pio and above all, our Staff..
We always take care of our guests in order to make their stay smooth and pleasant.
Moreover our hotel location enriches the Roman experience of everyone..!!
We wish you to come and enjoy our beautiful Rome very soon in our Hotel Villa San Pio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my husband stayed one week in this lovely and calm villa located a few steps from the city centre. We had our breakfast in the garden every morning while reading the papers, the staff was friendly and helpful and our room was finely decorated. Defenetely a spot to remember And to suggest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mrs.Dominique,
thank you so much for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor.!!
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.. relaxing yourself in the garden, reading the papers.!! The first good step to start the new day..
I really appreciate your comment about the friendliness of my team..and they are so proud to hear that their efforts have been highlighted..!!
We wish a lovely autumn, hoping to see you soon for your next trip in Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Returned to this quiet hotel in leafy Aventino for second time last week with a friend for short trip. As I remembered, the room was comfortable and elegant and it was nice to return from crowded sights to somewhere calm and relaxing.
The staff are knowledgeable and helpful and a special mention for the lovely man who chased up the coat I had left in a taxi.
Sorry that they have stopped serving dinner but the recommendations offered were all up to the mark; authentic places full of character and serving tasty and good food to meet all tastes, within walking distance of the hotel.
My friend was equally charmed by the San Pio and we will both return in the future.

Room Tip: I would go for a room on third or fourth floor for views across the city and to reduce risk of chatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for such a positive review about Hotel Villa San Pio.!!
We are so delighted you enjoyed the fabulous Aventino hill, an oasis of calm surrounded by ruins of ancient Rome all within the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city.!!
Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to the eternal city..the entire team and I would be delighted to welcome you back again.!!
In the meantime we wish you a very fabulous autumn and remain..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel San Pio is set in a gorgeous up market area of Rome with beautiful Roman Villa type properties all around and lush trees, and plants in every window box and terrace.
It truly is an oasis in a very vibrant and busy city. The hotels best feature is its lovely garden area where you can sit and have breakfast or enjoy a drink after a busy day sight seeing.
The hotel is approx 20 minute walk to the historical centre , Coliseum and Travestere area but with so much to see on the way you will hardly notice (and we are not used to walking far). We tended to walk to most places but we did get the metro home once which was very easy and cheap and only 5 mins from hotel. (Circo Maximo stop) A taxi from the hotel to the Vatican museums which are the other side of Rome costs approx 13 euro and well worth it. I would much rather stay in this location than near to the Vatican as it is far more convenient for every thing and greener. I would also avoid the Termini area as it is very run down compared to the rest of Rome which is stunning.
The hotel staff were friendly and polite and gave useful maps and directions. There are some authentic Roman restaurants nearby if you dont want to venture back into the city centre in the evening and also it is not far from the very old and pretty area of Travestere for a change of scene. Meals out are reasonably priced and the wine is as cheap as the minerals/soda.
We had a lovely room with a sort of shabby chic Roman style decor and a balcony overlooking the avenue. I would suggest you ask for a balcony or terrace as it is wonderful to sit there in the evening with a bottle of wine. I would say this is a typically Roman hotel - not 5 star luxury - but quaint and full of character and its garden and location set it apart. We had a fabulous time in Rome and will probably stay here again one day ( but when the hotel rates are a bit cheaper.)

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace or balcony overlooking the avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for such a positive review about Hotel Villa San Pio.!!
We are so delighted you enjoyed the fabulous Aventino hill, an oasis of calm surrounded by ruins of ancient Rome all within the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city.!!
Please do let us know when your travels bring you back to the eternal city..the entire team and I would be delighted to welcome you back again.!!
In the meantime we wish you a very fabulous autumn and remain..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our third stay and we'd been looking forward to it for months. Once again exceeded expectations - started off in a small noisy room (machinery of some sort, a/c maybe, from another room). Asked to change - and were quickly moved to a room on the first floor in the main building. About three times the size of the original room, large bathroom, splendid bath and balcony, and on a corner with more balconies. Delightful. Breakfasts were as good as we remembered as were drinks later in the day in the garden.

The hotel is in a great location, close to Palatine, Forum etc and also to Testaccio where there are great, reasonable restaurants - and near Pyramide Metro and Train stations. Also close to the Orange Garden and famous keyhole at the top of the hill.

All the staff we encountered were pleasant, helpful, chatty.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rome. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for the positive review about our Hotel Villa San Pio...and for choosing again our beautiful villa!!
I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pride ourselves on providing our guests with warm and genuine service and I’m so proud that our entire team was successful in achieving this with you.!!!
We remain at your service for another memorable roman experience..in our Hotel villa San Pio.!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via S Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
#51 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#59 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa San Pio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.