We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice boutique hotel sorrounded by green in one of Rome's best residential neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa San Pio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa San Pio to your Saves list
Hotel Villa San Pio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A nice boutique hotel sorrounded by green in one of Rome's best residential neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel San Pio is located in the Aventino, one of the seven hills of ancient Rome and one of the best residential neighborhoods of modern Rome. Aventino is very green, quite and discretely stylish, as only upmarket residential areas can be. And so is Hotel San Pio, a nice boutique hotel surrounded by a pleasant garden. The hotel is conveniently located at less than 10 minutes by car to the very center of Rome and 10-15 minutes’ walk to the Roman Forum and to the Colosseum. Rooms are wide and quite, with nice renaissance style replica decorations and wooden floors; they are modern and well equipped. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are state of the art with both showers and Jacuzzi. I strongly recommend to get a room at the fourth floor with a terrace: terraces are very wide and you can enjoy a nice view of Rome from the above. There is a fairly nice buffet breakfast in a separated building on the other side of the garden. Staff is discrete, kind and very helpful. The only minor negative is that there is no free Wi-Fi as you should pay for it. Recommended both to the business traveler and to the tourist. I have enjoyed staying there with my family. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor, with a terrace and a view on the cirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Paulus,

Thank you for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor your experience in our hotel Villa S. Pio. The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay met your expectation. Sorry to contradict you, but we do have free WI FI connection, you just have to get the username and password at the reception: only when the client does not have a laptop or a tablet then, can use our internet point and it costs 5 euro for 1 hour otherwise the other connection is totally free.

The rooms with terrace or balcony are definitely are most charming, especially in October when Rome is marvelous and can be very pleasant as it's still warm, sunny and the city has a special atmosphere and a natural light that enchants its beauty and character.

Hope to see you again in our eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    257
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
157
321
35
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just spent two nights here. Everything was good, from reception, to when we left. We checked out about 10am, but they looked after our cases and ordered us a taxi for that evening, to take us to the airport. Breakfast was simple, but plenty of variety and enough to set you up for the day. Our room was perfect for what we needed, not enormous, but clean, well furnished and quiet.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum. We walked everywhere, so i can't complain about the location. Hotel is perfect for a couple, and has a romantic feel to it. Would recommend it to anyone. It was Good value too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Marion,

Thanks for your positive feedback about our hotel and the staff. We are also happy that you had a wonderful stay. The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received during your stay meet your expectation.

Hope to see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here for many years now. We book via telephone and despite going through the extra effort, a mistake was made and our room was rented for our final night, probably an oversight. While we can accept mistakes, we found the front desk to be far less friendly and helpful than on previous occasions. In particular, one receptionist was abrupt and occasionally acted put out whenever we asked for simple favors, such as precise directions to various restaurants. We did note that there were quite a few pushy, arrogant Americans who visit, but still... We speak Italian fluently, and even though we've stayed many times in the past, there was not the same personal and welcome feel we've experienced on previous visits. They moved us to the Hotel San Anselmo, which was fortuitous, as now we have a new favorite Hotel in Rome just a block away. Despite everything, the room they gave us was super. We recommend you request one with a terrace. It is more costly, but it is so worth it. You will not be disappointed with the facilities, nor the breakfast, incidentally (but also not as good as it used to be).

Room Tip: Upper floor, and see if they can jetison you to the Hotel San Anselmo! Be sure to visit the nearby c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear sir,
thank you very much for your comment.
I'm very disappointed to read your review and I'm sorry you didn't have a nice experience in our hotel. We really appreciated the time you spent in letting us know what went wrong during your stay.
In fact it's very important for us to have feedback from our valued clients because even the negative ones will help us to improve our services and standards.
I don't undestand what went wrong with your reservations on the phone, probabily a misunderstanding that's why we always suggest to send and receive a written confirmation where the dates of arrival and departure are clearly stated and are helpfull to avoid such problems.
Regarding the behavour of the concierge I'm very surprised about it and I apologize if he wasn't helpfull or rude somehow and expecially if you didn't have a sense of warm hospitality as past times.
We are happy though, you found in our 4 stars sister hotel S. Anselmo your favourite hotel in Rome which is just one block away.
Yes indeed the room with the terrace are the best one even if more expensive but you can enjoy a beautiful and romantic view from it.
Hope to see you again in one of our property of the Aventino hill.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I read the good reviews on Tripadvisor and somehow thought this hotel would be more 'wow' than it was. It's not unpleasant by any means; the garden is lovely, full of orange trees, breakfast is great, especially when sitting out in the conservatory, and the bathroom is huge (although curiously the shower is tiny and angled at the wall, so you have to contort yourself to get your head under the jet to wash your hair). But I felt a bit let down on several fronts - firstly, it was noisy in my room. The soundproofing is terrible and I could hear everyone else's televisions, loud conversations, extractor fans, the workings of the lift, etc. even with the windows and shutters closed, which woke me up at around 6.30 every morning. Then the room was really chilly in the mornings and evenings, and worst of all, the bed wasn't comfy - the mattress was all lumpy with springs poking up through the material. It all looked lovely, but it just wasn't good for sleeping. I also got a few mosquito bites, which isn't the hotel's fault, but it's a good idea to sleep with the window closed if you do stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Arthur,
Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry to know you had an unpleasant stay with us. The room you had is for sure not one of best rooms in the hotel VILLA S. PIO and for that reason we really hope you’ll give us the chance to accommodate you in one of our best rooms during your next visit in the eternal city.
Anyway, it’s nice to know you like the garden, the breakfast served in our beautiful garden and also the neighborhoods.

Hopefully this inconvenience will not ruin your memories of the trip in Italy.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a lovely two nights at Villa San Pio. The location was wonderful - a quiet, green neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and cafes in walking distance. The hotel was beautiful and romantic. Breakfast was excellent - I especially enjoyed the chocolate croissants - and served in a spectacular atrium in the garden. Staff were friendly and helpful. Negatives: we could never get the internet to work in our room and the shower was awkward.

Room Tip: Room 528 has a delightful balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing such good comments with the community of tripadvisor.
The staff and I are very pleased to know that the service received meet your expectation.
It’ also nice to know you loved the location of our hotel Villa S. PIo which is a residential area no far from the most attractive sights and where you can also enjoy a wonderful view of Rome from the Oranges’ park or the famous key hole, both far just few steps from our hotel.
We are also glad you appreciate the breakfast (particularly our croissant with chocolate) served in our beautiful garden with a relax atmosphere.
We are sorry to know you had problem with the internet connection but sometimes can happen especially when the hotel is full and all the guests are connected, but we will try to solve it quickly.
Anyhow, hoping to have you again as our guest during your next visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My new husband & i stayed here for 4 nights/5 days at the start of our honeymoon. As we were on honeymoon we wanted to be near the city but also wanted a quiet location & San Pio seemed to fit this bill well. The garden in particular attracted us. We checked in on a Monday evening & found the gentleman at reception to be quite unfriendly & this seemed to be the theme over the 4 days. There was 1 helpful lady at reception but no one at reception was very pleasant or friendly to us over the 5 days we were there. Maybe because we had just come from our wedding we expected more of the same friendliness we had been experiencing in the previous days! The gentleman from the Phillipines who helped us with our bags etc however was lovely, very friendly & helpful to us over the week right up to when we left on Friday evening. Our room, 263 ,was a generous size & was well equipped with a lovely bathroom with great shower pressure, it overlooked the small garden area where breakfast is served. We did not find the noise at breakfast disruptive at all but it was the end of Sept so was a bit quieter than the summer months perhaps?. Breakfast was good for us, it was the same each morning, selection of tinned fruits, cold hard boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, good selection of breads, crackers, yoghurts, pastries preserves etc. Plenty to keep you going for the morning/afternoon. Coffee was lovely on our 1st morning but on the following mornings not so good, Great selection of teas however! Some fresh fruit wuld have been nice
The location was great, 20 minute walk to the main attractions & we never once used a taxi. There were some lovely local restaurants apart from those mentioned on the map of the area the hotel hands out so explore the area & you won't be disappointed.
Wifi was poor, you can only access it at reception or in the part of the garden where breakfast is served,it would have been great if we could have accessed it in our room.
Also don't bring clothes that require ironing unless you have a good travel iron, the hotel iron is very poor & is located in a special room in a separate building to where we were staying.
Overall a nice hotel in a lovely area with a little room for improvement!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Honeymooners,
we thank you so much for staying with us in the beautiful and romantic Aventino hill for your honeymoon and glad to know you liked your room and our lush garden where breakfast is served.
We really appreciated your suggestions and considerations which will help us to improve our service and our quality standards in order to satisfy needs and desideres of our affectionate clients.
Thank you again for your visit.

Looking forwards to see you for your wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Villa San Pio was the last hotel on our 2 1/2 week tour of Italy. Sadly, it was the least liked. We booked the hotel based on all the positive reviews on trip advisor. Checked in late afternoon after long day of travel from the Amalfi coast and were given rooms 288 and 290. The front desk staff were not very cordial upon check in and appeared bothered to help us. Both of the rooms were located on the first floor (not what we had requested). Room 290 was very small and had a view of a parking lot through the one window with bars on it. The room had an unpleasant odor and did not appear, in our opinion, very clean. It was also noisy from the parking lot and garbage service in the early morning. The other room, Room 288 two doors down, appeared to be a handicap room. The bathroom shower was just a curtain in the middle of the small bathroom which proved challenging to say the least. We were told the hotel was fully booked. Note: we had booked the hotel 6 months in advance so you would think we would have received some preference on room type. The hotel breakfast was fine and the garden setting was nice. It’s unlikely we will stay here again on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kathy
We are so sorry to know you had a unpleasent stay during your last days in Italy and that the rooms did not meet your expectations.
Yes, unfortunately rooms 288 and 290 are not our best rooms as they are located on the bottom floor (not first floor) close to the reception and the parking area which make it noisy at sometimes.
We apoligize that it was not possible to upgrade you to a superior room or to a different level because in high season the hotel gets fully booked very quickly.
Hopefully this inconvenience will not ruin your memories of the trip in Italy and we’ll be honored if you will give us the pleasure to accommodate you in one of our best rooms during your next visit in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via S Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Rome
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#61 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa San Pio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.