We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay Even Better than First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second Stay Even Better than First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Antonio and staff were wonderful to us as we returned to this hotel for our last night before heading home. We requested a room with a larger shower and were pleasantly surprised to be given a spacious and comfortable room. So this comes as a big endorsement for this hotel and those working there. Italians definitely have special skills when it comes to hospitality. Only a 15 euro taxi ride from The Termini train station it's a great spot to stay and great value. Not a place for those who want to walk out the front door and be in the middle of the action but ideal for us. Plus an amazing restaurant nearby. Will definitely return to Villa San Lorenzo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    146
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
105
242
44
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for two nights, having been inspired by the good reviews.I don't know whether or not we were missing something, but we were not wowed by the hotel. Yes Antonio was very helpful to us, when we arrived at the hotel, giving advice on public transport, and what to see. I thank him for that.However the service did not compare to the service we received, in Verona, where we had stayed the previous two nights, where all the staff really did go that extra mile to ensure you had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is a little too far out of the city, and we like to walk! It is not in a very pleasant area, although we did not feel threatened returning to the hotel late at night.
The courtyard outside was quaint, and a lovely space. The hotel interior and our room, we felt was no more than average. It was clean, but the bedside lamp did not work and i would not liked to have risked sitting on the chair in our room, for fear that it may have collapsed.
There was a good choice of continental breakfast in the morning, and we had an enjoyable time in Rome. However I personally would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with a beautiful courtyard and wonderful breakfast(included in the price). The area around the Hotel was a little "interesting" and noisy, however as soon as you walked into the courtyard it was very peaceful. The rooms were charming. A special thanks to Antonio, he truly made our stay. This was our first trip to Rome and he went out of his way to help us navigate our way around Rome and he gave us great suggestions for places to see on a limited time frame. He also recommended several very good restaurants in the area. All of his staff was very attentive and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
P.S. Ask Antonio to show you his card trick, it is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a superb little hotel with first class staff who are prepared to go out of their way to ensure your stay in Rome is one to remember. Don't let the surrounding area put you off, we never felt intimated whilst walking about at night. Being greeted by Antonio, who is quiet happy to sit down and help you plan your stay in Rome, over a cup of coffee, is something we have never experienced at any other hotel we have ever stayed in. Antonio will advise you on the best way to travel to the sites from the nearby bus and tram connections. He will also recommend local restaurants in the area and again we were certainly not disappointed in the price or quality of the food. If you are coming from Fiumicino airport you can book a minibus at the tourist office which will take you to your hotel for 15 euro each. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very friendly hosts that took care of me from the beginning to the very end. Ok standard large rooms. I have however stayed in rooms with higher general standards. In an interesting part of Rome with very good bus and tram connections to most parts of the city. SanLorenzo is a part of Rome worthwhile being explore by tos having been there some times. Breakfast with freshly baked pastry. Very ncie outside garden where I was sitting in the beatiful evenings doing my computer work.

Room Tip: Enjoy sitting outside in the evening. You may like to do some shopping at the next door grocery befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice room and splendid service by Antonio and colleagues, who went out of their way to help us make the best of our three days in Rome. Excellent communications with nearby trams but the surrounding area was not to inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

San Lorenzo was simply a joy. Unique quaint atmosphere, super friendly staff, perfect distance away from the tourist bustle, but close enough to not miss a thing. And their delicious breakfast starts every day the right way, in a intimate dining room with other happy guests. Perfection!

Room Tip: Court rooms are very nice. They have a few very small rooms so discuss room size with Antonio if tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Business Hotel in Rome
#53 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.