We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for its price it's very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paisiello Parioli Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paisiello Parioli Hotel to your Saves list
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paisiello 47, 00198 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #996 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“for its price it's very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

A bit old and not renovated recently hotel, but with its style and charm, and very clean. Very friendly and extreemely helpful staff. Breakfast is simple, but if you leave too early they'll give you a take-away breakfast.

Location is a bit remote, you cannot walk to Spanish Steps or anywhere in the centre, it's simply too far and there are no other sightseeing spots on the way. But the hotel is linked to the city center with 3 bus lines, which are also direct to Termini train station, and a tram line direct to Vatican, so unless you really mind public transportation, the location is not a big problem. Provide about 20 min to get to Termini, 15 min to Barberini, 25-30 min to Spanish Steps. Taxi price from Vatican or Termini is less that 10€. Ok if you have a car, though the street is off the toursit city center map.

Overall, for its price it's very good. Feels no worse than any priced 3-star hotel, and much better than a 20-euro less expensive overcrowded hostel.

  • Liked — good price/quality
  • Disliked — a bit far from city center
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
8
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

Just returned from Rome yesterday. Stayed at this hotel. How it got its 2 stars beggers belief. Its run down, not very clean, it needs shutting down and starting again. The room we stayed in was not shown on the web site - and it no wonder - it was terrible. The bathroom was dirty, mouldy, sinks had loads of cracks etc. No air conditioning - like sleeping in a sauna. The breakfast was terrible. The whole place needs shutting down and starting again. I would not recommend this hotel at all. But Rome was very nice - shame about the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

Just back from 5 great days in Rome. Stayed in this hotel. Staff were very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. They recommended a great resturaunt (Rossini's) nearby. The hotel is clean tidy and although not new it has a warm atmosphere. The bed in my room was terrific. While the hotel is a little out of town ( but in a nice area) a 52 bus will take you to the centre near Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps and a 910 bus will take you to Termini. You can get a bus ticket in the tobaccoinists near Rossini's.
The breakfast was a little uninspiring but adequate.
All in all a good value for money hotel in a nice area with helpful staff. A great base for exploring Rome.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

Well, I'm reading thru the previous posts and I cannot believe my eyes!
We have just returned and have had a great time at this hotel. I get the feeling some people are expecting a home from home but what is the point of that? I go to another country and I want to experience THEIR cultures and life.
The rooms were exactly what I expect an Italian hotel to be with a balcony looking out to a typical Urban scene, pure class!
People, it is a 2 star hotel and was just that.
As for the comments about the staff, the male members could not do enough for us. They booked stuff for us, rang around and get this, we made a phone call to the UK and they wanted no payment! Oh and we can't understand the problems with luggage storage, nobody charged us! Maybe if you make the effort with locals they will respond positively, I dunno?
All in all, just what we expected and an authentic experience, - well cool

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

We just returned from Rome and we stayed at the Paisiello Parioli hotel. The rooms were O.K. for a 2 star hotel. Breakfast was good - sweet rolls, bread, cereal, juice, and yogurt. Nothing fancy, but given the price of breakfast at a restaraunt in Rome it was fine.

As mentioned elsewhere, the beds were really firm, but after walking all day, they were quite comfortable. We had 2 nice balconies. The place was clean and had plenty of hot water for showers.

The hotel is located north of Villa Borghese and related park so it is a 1+ mile walk to get to the main down town part of town. Once we learned the short cut through the park, it made the walk quite enjoyable and much shorter to the Spanish Steps, etc.

The only suggestion I would make for the hotel is that they get some friendlier reception staff. Also, checkout time was 11:00 and we did not need to leave for the airport until 2:00. They charged us Euro 10.50 to hold our luggage in the reception area. It's not a big deal, but it just struck me as a petty attempt to take advantage of us.

One thing to watch out for - A nearby restaraunt called the Rossini. They expect you to order appetizers, first course, second course desert etc. and if you don't they treat you like crap. We did order a lot of food (54 Euros worth) and they were really not nice at all. FWIW

I would probably stay at the Paisiello Parioli again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

We had very modest expectations and so we were delighted to find Paisiello Parioli friendly, clean and accomodating. Our room was spacious, although the beds were excruiatingly firm. Despite warnings about the breakfast, we found a very adequate selection of sweet rolls, yogurt, good coffee and fruit juices everyday. We were literally around the corner from the Villa Borghese and less than 10 minutes by bus from ancient Rome. We would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2005

We were given a ground floor room, which was fine as it was quiet. However this room lacked natural light and seriously needed a good clean. The floor was dirty and dusty. The bathroom was very outdated- pink was the main colour scheme of the bathroom! The whole bathroom had mould growing in every corner possible as well as on the broken shower curtin. The ventilation of the bathroom was very poor and a lot of broken light bulbs which I had to request twice wth the reception staff to be replaced. There were also lots of mosquitoes around the room. There is also no air conditioner which we needed as a small fan in the room didn't do much at all.

The breakfast room is situated in the basement of the hotel and seriously needs a refurb. The set up is rather a very strange set up as you basically walk past an open area which has tables and chairs which are not in use and the layout of the room is very poor. The food is pretty average-nothing special. Recommend that you go to breakfast early as the later you go the less food there is as the staff don't bother to replemish.


The location is good as there are bus stops right out side the hotel and a tram stop down the road to get into the centre. Tip is to buy plenty of single travel tickets or a travel ticket that is valid for the day because once the tobacco shop is closed there is no where in the area that you can buy travel tickets. There are 3 restuarants down the road, one which we went to twice, but the second night we went there was a major dissappointment as we waited ages to the food. The waiter got our food order wrong and I had to send my food back to the kitchen.

The service of the staff at the hotel was very poor. Not that they were rude or anything, but interms of security when requesting for the room key, we weren't asked for any id or name- we were just given our key. This I thought was pretty bad, as we could've been anyone just walking off the street.

The highlight of our stay was on checkout when we requested to have our bags stored for a few hours we were charged €3.50 per suitcase. The justification of it all was due to the fact that we had booked through an agent and not direct wth the hotel. That I thought was the most stupid thing ever for charging guests €3.50 per bag to have stored for a few hours; as I have worked in hotels before and never have I ever come across hotels charging guests for storage of their cases esp at that high rate- to me it sounded more like a way to make a quick buck. The receptionship said that it would be in a secure area...putting a plastic chair in front of the suitcase was not quite my idea of secure but that is basically what happened and we had no choice but to try and enoy the rest of our day out!

The conclusion: I'd much rather pay a little bit more for a hotel that will ensure the room is clean, has a clean bathroom, ensures that the staff on reception are trained to check the name of the person staying in the room and make sure that the hotel doesn't charge for storing your bags on top of paying for your accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paisiello Parioli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paisiello Parioli Hotel

Address: Via Paisiello 47, 00198 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #996 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paisiello Parioli Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paisiello Parioli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Paisiello Parioli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paisiello Parioli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.