We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just location and nothing else.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acropoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Acropoli to your Saves list
Hotel Acropoli
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,129 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just location and nothing else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is a little less than basic. The toilet is very tiny and terrible: it got soaked after shower and the flushing system didn't work. Beds and housekeeping service are ok, wi-fi connection a little slow. The staff were friendly and helpful, they speak English and Portuguese. The best of all: it's just a 5 minute walk from Termini Station, where you can take trains and subway to everywhere, including international destinations.

Room Tip: Check if the flushing is working before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    66
    52
    178
See reviews for
66
108
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Got stuck here because our other hotel cancelled our reservations. So rather than spend valuable time finding a good hotel, we walked next door and stayed here. However, for 80 euro's a night we got absolutely nothing in the room except beds. No hair dryers, no plug ins for shaving etc. All we got in the bathroom was mold like you wouldn't believe. Room 105 we stayed in, and it was very dirty. Only gave it 2 because it helped us out, but will never stay here again. The front desk staff was nice though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Up side of the hotel is that it only takes 2minutes to reach the main Termini station. Staff that are able to speak all sorts of languages. The lobby definitely shocked us with the elegance and decorative area. After leaving the lobby, everything was a disappointment. The rooms were tiny, 3 single beds next to each other, leaving absolutely no space to walk! Bathrooms were definitely a let down too, minute shower area, not even enough space to bend down to wash your legs! Water pressure is poor too. Breakfast was awful. All we got was a basket of cold hard bread, jam, chocolate spread and coffee served by the waitresses. I don't even think waiteresses are needed. They need to consider those weak points.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubna, Russia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is located in 2 minutes by walk from Termini station. A lot of good Italian restaurants infront of the hotel. Staff speakes English, Italian, Russian, German and so on, it was a bit supriseng. Room was wet and bad smelling. Awful shower and toilet. Breakfast too poor. Very noise street under the window and no nise isalation at all. But it cost its money. WiFi works only at reception, but is is free of charge.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked this hotel online through a different travel site. I just needed one room for one night. I was ending a week-long trip in Pisa, and I had booked a return flight home to the US from Rome, as it got me home sooner than if I had left from Pisa. So I found this place online. It sounded ok, and that was what it was: ok.

So after taking the train from Pisa to Rome on a Friday morning, I went to the hotel. It was very centrally located and very near to the train station. I walked there easily. The front desk staff was very, very friendly. Because I was there so early I was only able to leave my luggage while I took off to explore the city. The front desk staff was very helpful in letting me know how to get around town.

After exploring the city I came back and settled in. I had to get up by 4:00 in the morning, so I wanted to go to bed early. The room was small. Very small. It had one king bed and one twin bed that were laid perpendicular to each other. There was a small writing desk under the window that looked out over the street in front of the hotel. The street noise was rather loud. At first it sounded quaint, the clatter of silverware on dishes at the sidewalk cafe below. But that got old as I tried to get to sleep. The window surprisingly cut out all of the cacophony of the street below, but as there was no air conditioning it was almost necessary to leave the window open. I turned on the ceiling fan, but it had a constant "pop, pop, pop, pop..." sound that it made with each revolution.

The bathroom looked like something that had been added to the room after the place was built. It was raised, ostensibly to prevent water from the shower to get out. There was a bidet and a toilet, separated by the sink. Directly opposite the toilet was the tiny, tiny shower. This was nothing more than merely a very small drain pan with a shower head above it. It was so cramped in there that the shower soaked the toilet paper dispenser for the toilet. Luckily I noticed that before too much of the toilet paper was ruined. But it was such a small space. And the shower head was one of those that delivered an almost razor-sharp spray of water. Ouch.

While the bathroom was tiled, the rest of the room was a very worn indoor/outdoor carpet. No padding. I may as well have been walking on concrete. That also made for an echo in the room. Luckily there was no TV to add to the echo.

There was a complimentary breakfast, but because of my early departure I was not able to take advantage of it. And speaking of my departure... that evening I had asked the front desk if I could get a cab as early as 4:00am. She said they could arrange a transfer. From what she described it sounded like a Super Shuttle kind of transfer. I asked how much. She said 55 euros. Ouch! I asked how much a cab was, and she said about the same. I should have known that wasn't true. So I asked if this transfer would take credit cards, and she said yes. So I said fine, I'd take it.

The guy shows up on time in the morning. After we take out I double-checked and asked him if he took credit cards. He said no. Ugh. But, he explained, he could stop at a bank. Great. He hauled us around looking for an ATM at 4:00 in the morning. I thought for sure he'd take me to some dark street where his buddies were waiting to steal my money. But that went without incident. He stopped to pick up his next fare, and they were running late. He did, however, finally get on the road and drove like a demon to get us to the airport. The vehicle was a nice van. Very clean.

The surprise, however, was when we got the airport. It was not 55 euros as the hotel had told me. It was 58. Live and learn.

I can't recommend this hotel if it's for more than one night. If it's just an overnight trip, it's not bad, and it's not in a bad location. I walked to the Colosseum easily from there.

Room Tip: If you can't stand the noise and need to leave a window open, ask for a room that's not over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Proximity to the main train station (Termini) was good, which is why we selected this hotel.
The room itself? If you live in the USA, think Motel 6.
The room we stayed in was typical, outdated Europe hotel room, with small bathroom and tiny shower square (at least it did have a shower curtain).
As I mentioned, there is no A/C - thankfully, we were there at the end of September and didn't deal with a hot Summer night. We did have to have the window open, but not too much noise from outside.
Standard bread & jam continental breakfast was portioned out in little baskets - nothing impressive.
Overall, not the best, not the worst; hence, the 3 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had booked three nights to stay here for ~40 euros a night. We checked in, climbed four flights of stairs to a small, L shaped tiny room with two single beds (which couldn't be put together because of the room size). We had paid for a double room, so we asked the manager for a different room but he was rude and said that's all they had so take it of leave it! We ended up searching Rome for another hotel and thankfully we only had to pay for the Hostelbookers deposit. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pre-book online, book at the Hotel AFTERviewing at the room if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropoli

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,129 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropoli 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Acropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acropoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.