We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got the wrong room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acropoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Acropoli to your Saves list
Hotel Acropoli
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,144 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We got the wrong room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had booked three nights to stay here for ~40 euros a night. We checked in, climbed four flights of stairs to a small, L shaped tiny room with two single beds (which couldn't be put together because of the room size). We had paid for a double room, so we asked the manager for a different room but he was rude and said that's all they had so take it of leave it! We ended up searching Rome for another hotel and thankfully we only had to pay for the Hostelbookers deposit. I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pre-book online, book at the Hotel AFTERviewing at the room if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    47
    84
    62
    215
See reviews for
81
137
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klaipeda, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't know why this hotel has such bad reviews. Our stay was very nice. There were 3 of us staying in the room, room size was good enough, the room was nice and clean. Service was also good. the breakfast, well it was usual Italian hotel breakfast.

The location of the hotel is the best! everything you need is near by - sightseeing, shopping, train and bus stations, metro.

I would stay in this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I didn't like the look of this hotel when we we're told for our college trip this would be where we we're staying for a few days. But actually it wasn't too bad! The room was basic but clean, a tiny bit dark; but it's ment for sleeping in. The ensuite was small but with 4 girls sharing it held up well! Although the loo roll holder was in the shower... but we just moved the loo roll... not hard! The shower was always perfect temperature and pressure and the room and ensuite was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and made beds!
Now the beds we're excellent. They were. No question about it! We'd been informed the hotel which is based underneath another hotel (no biggy. . Never saw anyone other than my own college) is under new management and everything is being replaced; explained the modern ensuite although some of the decor was a litte dated... it gave the place character! The hotel was in a lovely location with countless bars, restaurants and cafes around. It was an enjoyable trip and some of the reviews on here are bogus. Granted I think we had one of the best rooms, but it was comfortable none the less. I really don't know why there are such harsh reviews! The price paid is certainly worth it and when in Rome, you don't really have the time to pay attention to your room, only the fluffy pillow at nightime. I even had a nose bleed and the friendly staff asked no questions and we're very helpful in supplying a clean one; I did apologise! I was happy with my stay.
The only downfalls we're the breakfast which yes, was a little disappointing, but we just had brunch in the city instead. (Other reviews are fairy accurate on the breakfast front)
And that of the street noise at night; we all jumped up and looked out from our window down to the street to see another group enjoying their night out.. we've all done it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don’t have enough bad words to describe this hotel. Check in was a slow and agonizing experience, matched only by the horrific ride in the cage elevator. The room was atrocious. It was narrow and dingy, with dirty walls and a very high ceiling with a single light. The shutters opened up into the noisy street with no screens. Needless to say, there was no air conditioning. The bathroom is beyond description. It could not have been more than 3ft by 5ft. The shower was so tiny that I constantly ran into the walls trying to wash. The room is void of any decoration, the carpet is filthy, and the bed is a awful. The breakfast is nothing more than stale rolls and bad coffee. I have been all over the world, and this hotel still stands as the worst experience of my travels. However, it was only $50.

Room Tip: To my knowledge. There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having read the reviews, we were somewhat scepticalabout the hotel, to the extent we even had some sheets made up JUST IN CASE all the evils mentioned in some of the reviews were in deed evident!

The Joke was on us! we booked two rooms for three days, and from the moment we walked into the reception, our fears were allayed. the staff were friendly, the rooms were spotless, and the bathrooms were a pleasure.

it is a basic functional hotel, in a prime location with plenty of places to go to in close proximity, and the Termini station, for both Trains and bus services, including the Hop on Hop off was two blocks away.

No Television, but none required. we left each morning by 08h00 (Breakfast of Great coffee Rolls Nutella and jams) and returned around 22h00.

A clean hotel that served our purposes perfectly in terms of Price, location and quite comfortable for our needs.

Room Tip: i think it would do no harm to ask for the newer rooms id they are available. the Hotel is busy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was hot, dirty and ugly - I've stayed in hostels that are in better condition. It was quite cheap and on a fairly good location but I still wouldn't go here again. I suspect there were some sort of bedbugs because I got a bad rash after the trip and the room seemed like it wasn't cleaned properly often enough. Bed was quite uncomfortable too. Breakfast included coffee / black tea, a bun and marmalade. We stayed here in July 2011.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I don't regret staying here because we had a private hotel room for a hostel price.

The lobby had someone 24 hours. The stairs to go up to our room are very run down, but that didn't ruin our stay or anything.

Our room was clean and the shower had great pressure. Since we were sight seeing all day, that was really all we needed. You get what you pay for, there are no frills. But there is coffee, rolls and nutella for breakfast, which is nice!

Also, walkable to most of the sites in Rome (if you aren't really lazy), especially the Colleseum and the Forum. Don't eat in that area though - overpriced and touristy! Also, I wouldn't spend too much time walking around there late at night. Not the safest place I don't think.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#841 of 1,269 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#939 of 1,269 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#842 of 1,269 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#733 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#931 of 1,269 in Rome
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Hotel Laura
#760 of 1,269 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropoli

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,144 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropoli 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Acropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acropoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.