We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did the job!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acropoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Acropoli to your Saves list
Hotel Acropoli
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,133 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“did the job!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went in the spring for a city break, and it does what it says on the tin. The hotel is in walking distance to most of the citys attractions, and for the Vatican its next to the main terminal which is easy to use and fairly priced. In the area there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and snack food outlets. Not as posh as in the city centre, but perfectly alright.
The rooms weren't huge or plush, but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean.
The double glazing helped with the street noise but remember your in the centre of a city.
The welcome, breakfast and everything outside of the room was poor. But your in Rome and you'll have better things to do than stay in your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    42
    74
    57
    198
See reviews for
72
124
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice, not really spacious for a family with small children. We had a 5 beds room with a tiny bathroom, the shower has only a small curtain but doesn't stop to wet the floor and become a pond. It is nicer for groups or backpackers to stay over. Every day the room is well cleaned, not very quiet as I could hear our neighbour chatting. Small but nice breakfast, no juices only coffee or water with bread and jam. Nice and really helpful staff who can speak several languages as French, Spanish and of course English. Well situated in only 15 min. To the Coliseum and Mouth of Truth and many other touristic sites.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with patio view, very quiet and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here in April (2 adults and 3 boys aged 8-12). We had a family room with 5 beds. It was clean and quiet. If you are looking for a place to sleep and have a hot shower after a day of sightseeing then this hotel is perfect. There is no TV or mini bar but it is absolutely fine if you are in Rome to see the sights and just want a place to collapse at the end of the day. The breakfast was fine - not loads but enough to get you going in the morning! We have no regrets about staying here - it was central, clean and perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My sisters and I visited this hotel last August - 3 people. Before booking we were told that there is Air Conditioning in the room. Once we walked upstairs we saw that the room did not have any form of AC. I went back downstairs to the receptionist (who spoke perfect English when I was booking) to ask if there was a mistake and he said no there is no air conditioning in the room but he can just give me a fan by charging me 10 Euros a day for it. I told him I was not going to pay that 10 Euros because just minutes ago before I booked he promised me there is AC in the room. At this point he just forgot to speak English altogether. No cleaning in the room while we were there, had to go downstairs to ask for toilet paper. The towels were like paper-towels. Breakfast was a joke. The shower was a mess. To top it all off, on our last the cleaning crew came and kicked us out of the room before the check out time. If you can avoid it! Do it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is not spectacular but from my point of view has some perks. The location is great - close to the Termini Train Station so you can make full use of that. We stayed for 2 nights (July 2011) - exploring the city so we stayed in the room just for shower and rest. The breakfast was OK...something warm to put in your belly. And for all these ...the price I think that reflected the quality. It was a cheap stay....and we made full use of it. We didn't go to Rome to stay and whine about the hotel room! After the Vatican and Trevi who cares about the lack of TV?!?!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place needs a good clean up. I did not want to take off my shoes in my room because the carpet was filthy! The ensuite was small and the beds were not comfortable. I understand that this is a cheap place to stay; however, there are still standards and this falls below those standards. The place needs a good renovation and upkeep. The staff at the reception counter can be helpful. The wifi access was terrible. You can only get wifi in the reception lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you have other options, do not consider this hotel. We stayed in this hotel because we didn't have any other option. One advantage though was that it's very close to the Termini Station. We just didn't like the rooms because we requested for a double room and we were surprised to see 6 beds in the room and it felt like we were in a school dormitory instead of a hotel. The room felt very eerie and the bed sheets, blankets, etc. were not washed properly. Our room was located at the end of the hall which was beside the common bathroom so it was really disturbing and we really didn't get a good sleep. The room rates were really cheap but there were other hotels in the area with the same rate and was so much better. I guess if you were a student and traveled with a group, this hotel would be fine. Though we really didn't enjoy our stay in this hotel but I can say that they have friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropoli

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,133 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropoli 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Acropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acropoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.