We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acropoli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acropoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acropoli
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,149 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Total disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Location is relatively good - it's about 200 meters from Termini Main railway station. Everything else is a horror show.

Room is big enough to put a bed and a closet, and to leave just enough space to maneuver somehow. The biggest shock was a "bathroom". Actually, it was split: to your right hand side is a "lavatory" with approximate dimensions of 70 cm x 70 cm. Includes a sink and a shower. Don't try to turn around while showering, you will end wrapped in a shower curtain (covered with suspicious stains). One will not be able to enter this room and wash his face or teeth, because there simply is not enough space! To your left hand side from the entrance door is a "toilet" - wide just enough to put a toilet from one wall to another and leaving some 30 cm of space which is unusable because of the tissue rack.

If you are looking for a good night sleep, don't bother looking at this hotel: if your room is faced to the street, you will find hard to sleep because of the constant noise coming from the pimps and inarticulated vendors from Delhi, Mumbai or similar regions. On the other hand, thin walls will allow you to feel the real excitement of having a ravaging excursion in your proximity. It was impossible to close a century old window entirely, and also impossible to open it widely.

Breakfast made me smile every time: two peaces of... something that looks like a bun, couple of packs of butter, and a marmalade. Just enough to make you feel the urge of tasting some of the surrounding Oriental dishes which filled you room with tasty curry smell all day long.

And you get all of that for 90 EUR per person in twin room (which has turned to be, actually, a double room, with no extra blankets, towels etc.).

Room Tip: A best way to choose a good accommodation in this hotel is not choosing it at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    48
    45
    164
See reviews for
55
91
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days. When we booked it I didn't think it would be THIS bad.. Being in our room felt more like a hostel. Not clean at all. Bathroom was poor, shower head was half blocked and the toilet systern was leaking down the wall. Their breakfast is a waste of time - only thing available is coffee and a hard bun which is given to you. But the location is perfect for everything and the staff are friendly enough. The price per night is cheap but it should be half the price for what you get. I would look at other options before booking here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The good - literally 2 streets from the railway station, walking distance from the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain. Short metro ride from Vatican City. $115 AUD for 2 people for 2 nights. Private bathroom. Breakfast included. Interesting neighbourhood. Friendly reception staff.
The bad - no air con, loud street noise, tiny bathroom with shower curtain that sticks like glue the entire time you're in there.
Overall, great if you're on a budget. To all the people who complain about how bad it is, what else would you expect for this price?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was skanky to a degree, but for £20 a night in the centre of Rome, it seems ridiculous to complain. The shower/bathroom was weird, but worked. No air-con but the fan did its job in the mid-July summer heat.

Obviously a 'double room' comprising of twin beds, peeling wallpaper and pipes protruding from the floor, it's not a place for a romantic get-away. However, for the more intrepid couple or group who'd like to actually see the city, it's a decent sized room in walking distance to all sites of interest (with free breakfast included in the price).

Plus the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's really not a luxury hotel or not even a normal one. But it costs like an hostel and you get a private room with a private bathroom. Shower wasn't the best and room was very weird but still I actually slept well in the centre of town for really cheap. the price also included breakfast. again nothing special but better than nothing!
The staff was very helpful and friendly. I needed advice on something to buy in town and all the staff working at that moment came over and gave their opinion.
If you are travelling on a low budget and you are not too picky I do recommend this hotel!
(don't go for coffee in the place opposite the hotel. it's terribly expensive and not special. walk to the historic centre and have a coffee in one of the lovely squares. it's still expensive but at least you can enjoy a nice view/atmosphere).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This my first that negative rating, actually it deserves 0 stars. I have seen many bad hotels and I don't have much money to afford me an expensive hotel, but this one is how you can spoil your stay in Rome. What is positive about it: it is indeed in the city center, you can walk to most sites - and this is it. Negative is nearly everything else:
1) worst breakfast ever - we even had to stay in a queue to get into a micro room where the guests are asked which drink they what to have (coffe, tee or milk) and they get a piece of bread, marmelade, nutella and this is it - nothing else and you cannot take anything else yourself - this breakfast does not even deserve your time
2) no service anywhere, during the breakfast, at the evening, never ever
3) when we stayed there it was extremely loud in the hotel: there were some drunk students there crying the whole night and this is the first hotel where I could not sleep 3 nights out of 4. I even went EVERY day to the check in desk to ask for assistance to quiet those students.
4) the rooms are terrible - there is nothing inside, not even a tv set, no air conditioner of cause
5) the bath is the worst I've ever seen in a hotel - I do not exagerate - and I have been to many low budget hotels: the bath has appr 1.5 qm, you cannot take shower there and cannot even sit on the toilet directly.
6) the beds are bed - when I was slipping in it got broken - people I weigh 75kg - what kind of beds do they have there?
I can'T even mention all those negative things we experienced there.
Don't spoil your stay in Rome, it is a wonderful city. This hotel does not deserve any existence and has to be removed completely, it is ridiculous, it is worst hotel ever. I was even more satisfied with camping sites.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After a tremendous 7 day Cruise aboard Navigator of the Seas of RCCL we decided to stay an extra day to visit Rome. Very good choice as Rome was one of our highlight stops.The reception desk with a very nice lady who spoke very good English was very helpful when we arrived at about 10:30. We left our luggage in the dinning room and took off on a hop on hop off bus tour of the city. The problems began when we returned about 5:30 to get our key. Please look for another place to stay. Now a man who couldn't speak English was at the desk.It was very hot in Rome and didn't cool of at night much with no breeze the room with no A/C was unbearable to sleep in. It had a very small bathroom with an even smaller shower. There were no towels or anything in the bath. I went downstairs to the desk and asked for a towel using google translator. Nice app. He gave me a table cloth to use. My wife and I were cracking up. You just had to laugh. The bath was 2ft by 2.5ft maybe with a curtain that stuck to my body the whole time. Very annoying. Room was second rate at best had 5 small cots with the worst mattress I have ever seen. Half the rooms on the 3rd floor had police tape on them sealing them off from use. Don't know why and don't want to know. Had a large shuttered window opening to a court yard in the rear of Hotel. This actually had some European character to it. However it was 32 deg C that day and no breeze and I need sleep before our 24 hr travels back to U.S.
There were plenty of other Hotels on this very popular street that I wish I had stayed with a/c units on the windows. Please find those and pay that price in the hot summer. I'm sure in the cooler temps this would have sufficed for the nice convience and the cheap price. I paid 49.00 Euros a night. 2 blocks from Rome Termini station. Nice alfresco restaurants outside along the street gives you that great European experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Acropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropoli

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,149 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropoli 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Acropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acropoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.