We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel ... will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceania

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oceania to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oceania
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Firenze, 38, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel ... will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and one year old son on a three day trip to Rome. close to metro stop and up a quiet street. the hotel is on the third floor and there is a lift which is very small. we usually had to make two trips if we had our pram.
The staff are polite and helpful. Rooms cleaned daily and very quiet. We had no issues whatsoever.

The breakfast is continental ... pastries, rolls, jams,cheese, biscuits, nutella etc. Was okay and we took stuff away with us to eat later.

There is a little terrace area connecting the hotel where guests can have a drink or a cigarette.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend.

There is also a mcdonalds on the corner which may not suit everyone but it suited our toddler and our pocket just fine!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    119
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
72
125
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, recommended through family, for 3 nights. The service was fantastic! We arrived a bit early but the room was already available and we were able to check-in early. All questions were answered regarding travel information, directions etc. Breakfast was included and offered from 7:45-10am. Rooms were a bit small but expected. The location is a quick 10min walk to central shopping centers along Piazza Spagna, metro, Roma termini. Please note upon checkout that there is a Rome tax fee that has to be paid in cash (ours ended up being 12 euros). The only odd thing about this hotel was that we had to leave our room key in a small bowl at the front desk every time we left the hotel. They would ask for our room number upon our return and retrieve the key in a small locked cabinet drawer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Italy, and the highlight was our stay at Hotel Oceania, it was wonderful, the room was beautiful and clean, it was centrally located and Air Conditioned!!, Very Important. The staff couldn't do enough for us and was so helpful, we will return. Frank Ventura NYPD.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool and fitness center as expected, but it had a great elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our family of four stayed for four nights in mid-June in 2013. We were very pleased - the room was much larger and more comfortable than similar hotels in other cities. The air-conditioning kept the room comfortable all night - which is something in Rome! The service was polite, professional and accommodating. The breakfast and staff were outstanding. While others note the convenient location to Termini, for us the location was central and allowed us to explore Rome's neighborhoods on foot. All of this combined to give us a great base to explore and enjoy the Eternal City. We would highly recommend this hotel to any family and will stay there again when we next visit Rome!

Room Tip: Write early to ensure that you get a family room - if that's your wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Near the Termini train station, four of us walked here with a roller bags after a train ride. Rooms were comfortable, with a refrigerator in the room and A/C if you need it (we didn't in early June). The Rick Steves write up was accurate to us.

Anna was an excellent host and very helpful. There is a nice little patio where we enjoyed afternoon wine and some opera music (it seemed like there was a school elsewhere in the building and we got to listen to people practicing - very fun!) Breakfast was included in the rate - great way to start your day!

It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the Trevi fountain, and lots of other sites available along walking routes from there.

The Target restaurant (5 minutes walk) was very good; the Trattoria Giovanni only OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel Oceania is a ten to fifteen minute walk from Termini station in Rome. The walk is easy, except for a lot of cobblestones that can make pulling a rolling suitcase a bit of a workout. The hotel is on the third floor of a building on a quiet street. The other occupants of the building are another hotel on the fourth floor, some commercial space and apartments.

After climbing some steps to the lobby, you enter a small elevator - and I do mean small - taking it to the third floor. The building has a lovely interior courtyard. My room opened onto this courtyard so noise was not a factor. The rooms are a nice size and quite comfortable. The hotel has a dining room where a really great breakfast is served. A very nice selection of juice, coffee, bread and assorted pastries and cakes. You can also order some drink items after hours.

The staff could not be more friendly or helpful. We had a problem with our train reservation to Naples and they were able to help us get it straightened out. We told them we would be returning to Rome after a few days on the Amalfi Coast to spend a few hours before we left for an airport hotel. They offered to let us store our luggage at the hotel for the day even though we were no longer guests there.

It was a great hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it for people that want to be near Termini. The Termini neighborhood is not exactly in the heart of the tourist zone, but you can walk to the Spanish steps in ten or fifteen minutes and train or bus every place else conveniently. I would definitely stay there again when I am in Rome.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the courtyard are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights on a recent trip to Rome. The recent earlier reviews captured most of the comments we would want to make: great central location, clean and modern facilities, excellent breakfast, reasonable price for what we received. What is worth reemphasizing is how helpful, friendly, and accommodating the staff was, without exception. From storing our luggage when we arrived early in the morning until the room was ready, to always being ready with directions to sights, restaurants (and their recommendations were always good) and once even to a laundromat. And to top it off, for atmosphere there was someone else in the building giving voice lessons to budding opera singers--fortunately during daylight hours only.

One more note about the location: fantastic if you are a runner. It is less than 3/4 mile from the Villa Borghese, a large park with lots of running paths, and both times I ran there (suggest early in the morning, before rush hour) I saw other runners and dog walkers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Address: Via Firenze, 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#184 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.