We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orto di Roma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Orto di Roma to your Saves list
Orto di Roma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Grotta Perfetta,551, 00142 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #452 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
scotrompol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An excellent base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a 'Superior' room, which was 'superior' probably on the basis of it size: accommodating a double and twin beds comfortably. Hotel was easy to find, on the unfortunately named 'Grotta Perfetta' - careful as its two words on the SatNav.
Room was ideally placed within the hotel, on a separate building from the Reception and Breakfasting room, but literally 15 paces from either and 20 paces from the car in the carpark. Bathroom was a good size and our family (2 adults and 2 boys) had plenty of space during the 5 days. Breakfast was adequate, once you get used to having a sugar burst as you waken up! Furnishings were clean and housekeeping was very good. Very handy for a 766 bus which connects with the No 8 tram into the centre of Rome, although it takes about 45 min - 1 hour to get in. All in all a very good base to stay and explore Rome and the outlying areas.

Room Tip: We could hear noise from some English cyclists next door arriving and leaving in the early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
36
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coro, Venezuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were a large family, from baby to grandmother, traveling in Italy. The Orto di Roma was a very nice place to stay, away from the city and still close enough by public transportation. We had two good size rooms with well equipped bathrooms. Breakfast buffet had plenty to choose from, american and italian coffee, cereals, breads, cheese, hams and most of all very nice and helpful staff.
The restaurant next door, with lots of families on a Saturday evening, had very good and well priced food and a great service.
I almost gave it an excellent score but sadly I left my cane and cell phone charger in the room and kept calling for two weeks. There was never a definitive answer, only "if we find them we will call you and mailed them".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for business with a colleague. Same price but the rooms seemed worlds apart. Mine was small, single bed, no cupboards, no hangers, no fridge, no safe, no kettle, but had a table and chair and 2 bottles of water, whilst my colleagues was twice the size, with a little more character and larger bed. Shower was underpowered and sometimes little more than a dribble. Internet was free which makes up for lack of facilities in the room but you need to be in a room near to the router otherwise the wifi signal can be weak. I could see 3 hotspots including the reception. No shaver socket. Tv worked most of the time but the Sky box did not.
Walls are thin as paper and you can hear conversations and snoring 2 rooms down!
Maybe it was just the block I stayed in. The hotel has several buildings so perhaps I am being a little unfair.
Outside, the hotel had a nice charm with plenty of places to sit and take in the peaceful surroundings. Vending machines sold hot and cold drinks.
Breakfast was fine but no hot food.
What made this hotel worth staying in were the staff who were very helpful and took the time to explain directions in spite of limited English. The restaurant next door also served very nice food and was inexpensive when compared to the city. Bus to the metro station was convenient but you need to look out for the station as the bus driver pretty much ignores any questions you have! In the end we missed the stop and had to walk back. Taxi from centre of city back to hotel was €25.
Going back to the airport, hotel advised us that the 100 minute travel card would cover train to airport. It does not. Getting off the train, we were initially asked to pay €50 each for the train ticket. When we argued that a taxi would Bly have cost €35, the grad immediately changed hs tune and said €50 for both of us - more than a little dodgy! Next time I will take a taxi and save on time and cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bed! Room 325 which my colleague stayed in was larger and directly near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel away from the downtown core. It was an easy bus and subway ride into the sites in Rome (takes about 40 min). The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. Great breakfast! The restaurant next door had fabulous service by Antoni.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We travelled as a family to Rome and stayed 5 nights. We were very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, clean rooms, good breakfasts and lovely Italian meals in the restaurant.

There is a regular bus service to the nearby metro and you can be at the Colosseum in about 30 minutes or so.

The reception staff were very helpful giving advice about local transport options, helping us book a shuttle.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Orto Di Roma Hotel recently with my boyfriend, having been recommended it by a good friend of ours, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is a little gem located in located in the quiet business district of Rome, very close to the centre and a stone’s throwaway from the Colosseum. A welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of the chaos and crowds of Central Rome. It is situated in a nice green area with a countryside feel, ideal for those looking to unwind and relax, albeit on a business trip or for those wanted to do the ‘tourist’ thing. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left, we were both very impressed.
The front desk staff were all very professional and helpful, but what struck us most of all was their friendliness, where nothing is too much trouble for them. We were given good recommendations about places to visit and eating out.
The hotel is newly refurbished and has a nice modern feel, yet feels very Italian in its outlook.
We stayed in the Superior room, which was decorated to the highest standard. On arriving at the room, there was a complimentary basket full of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine, we were not disappointed. The hotel comes with free parking with plenty of available spaces, hence, more free time to explore and travel around easily. Our room was of a nice size. Everything was well kept and the cleanliness second to none. The bed linen was of a highest quality; all soft and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and cute comprising a bidet and nice sized shower. The room was very comfortable with an adjustable air con unit and had a homely feel. Everything is of the highest standard.

The hotel has many positives:

· Free parking (with plenty of spaces, hence, more free time to explore and travel around easily)

· They provide a free shuttle bus to the Colosseum. (ask at Reception)

· They offer a taxi transfer service to and from the airport at a discounted rate

· Free unlimited wi-fi and satellite tv

· An abundance of complimentary water/coffees etc

· Hearty traditional Italian breakfast

· Restaurant which serves the finest Italian cuisine

At the end of our stay we were given a gift of a bottle of olive oil by the management, where the owner Massimo gave us a tour of the hotel including the different rooms.
All in all, everything was of the highest standard. This hotel surpassed our expectations. We have nothing but happy memories of our stay and are very grateful to all the management and staff for their warmth, friendliness and the excellent level of service. I will definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to all my family/friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orto di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orto di Roma

Address: Via di Grotta Perfetta,551, 00142 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#73 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#130 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orto di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Orto di Roma – Feels like home!Located within the famous Appia Antica archeological park and surrounded by lush greenery in an antique Manor House from the 1800’s, the Hotel Orto di Roma welcomes both business travelers as well as tourists visiting the “Eternal City” in a charming and relaxing atmosphere.An unexpected and ideal place to relax after a busy day of work or a tiring, even if very enjoyable and interesting, excursion to the incredible Eternal City.Small but charming, with delicious simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orto di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto Di Roma Rome
Orto Di Roma Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orto di Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.