We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff, tiny room, noisy. Good location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margaret Rome

Save Saved
You added Hotel Margaret Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margaret Rome
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #710 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
atene
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very friendly staff, tiny room, noisy. Good location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My room was next to the breakfast room, so noise was terrible every morning from 6.30 a.m. I asked them to give me another room, but there were not any available. They should not have had a room there any way. The staff was ok or most of them. Location is perfect for my standards: 6 min. walk to Termini, 20 min. to Fontana di Trevi, 15 min. to Piazza di Spagna, 30 min. to Ppiazza Navonna, 30 min. to COlosseum, 40 min. to Campo dei fiori, depending of how quickly you can walk. Tv does not show many channels, but you dont really need this in Rome. Before you book, make it sure that you dont get the room next to the reception.

Room Tip: Avoid ABSOLUTELY the room 7 (if I remember right), just next to the breakfast room. It is tiny and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    58
    41
    21
    11
See reviews for
17
42
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, ME
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for one night because we were looking to add one night to our stay in Rome but our other hotel was booked for the extra night. We decided on Hotel Margaret because it was affordable and located near-ish to where we wanted to be for the night. Walking distance to the Borghese Gardens/Museum.
The staff was VERY helpful and assisted us in finding the buses we needed to get elsewhere in the city.
The breakfast was sub-par. A hard roll, croissant, and some grapefruit juice. The espresso/cappuccino/coffee was from a machine, not ideal while in Italy, so we got some elsewhere.
The room was very small, which was okay, but the bed wasn't very comfortable and the room felt really stuffy and damp. The bathroom was probably a 5 or 6 out of 10. It was a bit old and smelled pretty bad. It was really damp in the bathroom, as well.
Again, the staff was great and made it a good stay. They allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel after we checked out so we could explore the city some more until we went to our next destination.
The elevator was small but worked great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for five nights with a friend.

Pros: the hotel is located near the main tourist attractions. The price we paid was low and the staff friendly and helpful.

Cons: Te rooms are very small and noisy. The breakfast was rudimentary and of poor quality. Theoretically, our room was claened daily; however there was a lot of dust below the beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I came here time ago, I was travelling with friends and family. I chose the hotel because of the location. During the days we stayed the lady said that they won´t offer breakfast because they had some stuff to repair in the kitchen.

The place looks very old and not maintained. The rooms are dark, noisy and the shower room are very tiny! It takes quite a while to get hot water.The sheets looked old also and the bed was pretty uncomfortable. I was very ashamed with the people I came with because I was the one who selected this place.

The price is very high for what they really offer....I have seen cleaner hostels or posadas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Tipperary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Margaret for four nights on a short break to Rome with my partner and 12 year old son.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and the beds were made up daily.
I was concerned that it might be noisy but didnt find it noisy at all.
It is close to Termini station and there is a metro stop nearby so it was easy to get to all the major sites in the center if you didnt feel like walking too far.
There was wifi available. The breakfast was okay but basic, just croissant, bread roll, jams, cornflakes, coco pops, fruit squash and a tea and coffee machine available to use.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms dont have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here for four nights in July and the stay was amazing. The stay was very friendly and helpful with getting me a map of the Rome and showing me the best way to get to the places that I wanted to go. They also recommended good places to eat as well.

The price was not too bad either, I think I paid about 265 euros for the four night stay (Fri-Tue). The hotel was very well kept up. It also had a very good breakfast included.

The location is about 15 min north from the Termini station, the closest Metra stop is Repbblica, about 5 min southwest of the hotel.

I enjoyed my stay here. Also if you have the Rick Steve's guidebook, one of his recommended restaurants is right across the street. (This is also one of his recommended hotels!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Found this hotel in a travel guide. The price was right but the description was less than stellar. Very pleasantly surprised by the experience! Had a room for five that suited my family's needs, the location was good, and the staff was exemplary in terms of helpfulness and tips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel margaret had changed the owner and the imagine of all structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margaret Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.