We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what they really offer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margaret Rome

Save Saved
You added Hotel Margaret Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Margaret Rome
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #696 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what they really offer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I came here time ago, I was travelling with friends and family. I chose the hotel because of the location. During the days we stayed the lady said that they won´t offer breakfast because they had some stuff to repair in the kitchen.

The place looks very old and not maintained. The rooms are dark, noisy and the shower room are very tiny! It takes quite a while to get hot water.The sheets looked old also and the bed was pretty uncomfortable. I was very ashamed with the people I came with because I was the one who selected this place.

The price is very high for what they really offer....I have seen cleaner hostels or posadas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    56
    39
    20
    11
See reviews for
16
40
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Margaret for four nights on a short break to Rome with my partner and 12 year old son.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and the beds were made up daily.
I was concerned that it might be noisy but didnt find it noisy at all.
It is close to Termini station and there is a metro stop nearby so it was easy to get to all the major sites in the center if you didnt feel like walking too far.
There was wifi available. The breakfast was okay but basic, just croissant, bread roll, jams, cornflakes, coco pops, fruit squash and a tea and coffee machine available to use.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms dont have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here for four nights in July and the stay was amazing. The stay was very friendly and helpful with getting me a map of the Rome and showing me the best way to get to the places that I wanted to go. They also recommended good places to eat as well.

The price was not too bad either, I think I paid about 265 euros for the four night stay (Fri-Tue). The hotel was very well kept up. It also had a very good breakfast included.

The location is about 15 min north from the Termini station, the closest Metra stop is Repbblica, about 5 min southwest of the hotel.

I enjoyed my stay here. Also if you have the Rick Steve's guidebook, one of his recommended restaurants is right across the street. (This is also one of his recommended hotels!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Found this hotel in a travel guide. The price was right but the description was less than stellar. Very pleasantly surprised by the experience! Had a room for five that suited my family's needs, the location was good, and the staff was exemplary in terms of helpfulness and tips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My mom and I stayed at this hotel in September of last year. We wanted a budget hotel and this one fit our budget. I loved this spot because of the staff.

I've read some of the reviews and if you are looking for a high end resort style hotel, then don't look in this price range. For 80 euros per night, it was perfect. It is very close to the train station (a few minutes walk away which wasn't bad even though we had backpacks).

We were backpacking and this was our first stop and we fell in love. Monica is absolutely amazing! She is just such a beautiful woman!! She speaks great English and is so helpful with the tourist attractions in the city. She's a true gem.

Every morning we woke up to fresh baked croissants made by the same lady who was in early to make them and then to clean the rooms. They were so delicious and had a light dusting of icing sugar. Plenty of tea, coffee and juice at all hours!

The rooms may be small and the bathrooms outdated but it's clean and everything else makes up for it and really, you're in Rome...who cares :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice place to stay in Rome, good location close to train station. Clean and tidy room (traditional decor), very helpful staff and excellent breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was my first time in Rome - a great hotel for a short stay, cheap, clean and with really friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find from Termini Station too. I have already booked back in for a slightly longer stay next time I am travelling through Rome.

Room Tip: The single room is very small - go for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome
Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #696 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel margaret had changed the owner and the imagine of all structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margaret Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.