We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely base in Rome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margaret Rome

Save Saved
You added Hotel Margaret Rome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margaret Rome
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #687 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Tipperary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A homely base in Rome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Margaret for four nights on a short break to Rome with my partner and 12 year old son.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and the beds were made up daily.
I was concerned that it might be noisy but didnt find it noisy at all.
It is close to Termini station and there is a metro stop nearby so it was easy to get to all the major sites in the center if you didnt feel like walking too far.
There was wifi available. The breakfast was okay but basic, just croissant, bread roll, jams, cornflakes, coco pops, fruit squash and a tea and coffee machine available to use.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms dont have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
43
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed here for four nights in July and the stay was amazing. The stay was very friendly and helpful with getting me a map of the Rome and showing me the best way to get to the places that I wanted to go. They also recommended good places to eat as well.

The price was not too bad either, I think I paid about 265 euros for the four night stay (Fri-Tue). The hotel was very well kept up. It also had a very good breakfast included.

The location is about 15 min north from the Termini station, the closest Metra stop is Repbblica, about 5 min southwest of the hotel.

I enjoyed my stay here. Also if you have the Rick Steve's guidebook, one of his recommended restaurants is right across the street. (This is also one of his recommended hotels!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Found this hotel in a travel guide. The price was right but the description was less than stellar. Very pleasantly surprised by the experience! Had a room for five that suited my family's needs, the location was good, and the staff was exemplary in terms of helpfulness and tips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My mom and I stayed at this hotel in September of last year. We wanted a budget hotel and this one fit our budget. I loved this spot because of the staff.

I've read some of the reviews and if you are looking for a high end resort style hotel, then don't look in this price range. For 80 euros per night, it was perfect. It is very close to the train station (a few minutes walk away which wasn't bad even though we had backpacks).

We were backpacking and this was our first stop and we fell in love. Monica is absolutely amazing! She is just such a beautiful woman!! She speaks great English and is so helpful with the tourist attractions in the city. She's a true gem.

Every morning we woke up to fresh baked croissants made by the same lady who was in early to make them and then to clean the rooms. They were so delicious and had a light dusting of icing sugar. Plenty of tea, coffee and juice at all hours!

The rooms may be small and the bathrooms outdated but it's clean and everything else makes up for it and really, you're in Rome...who cares :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very nice place to stay in Rome, good location close to train station. Clean and tidy room (traditional decor), very helpful staff and excellent breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was my first time in Rome - a great hotel for a short stay, cheap, clean and with really friendly and helpful staff. Easy to find from Termini Station too. I have already booked back in for a slightly longer stay next time I am travelling through Rome.

Room Tip: The single room is very small - go for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011 via mobile

Excellent budget accommodation with abit of style and feeling of an hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and we werent expecting to much. It's reasonably clean and is tidy every day. Yes the bathroom is small but for 87 euro it's excellent there is wifi and small breakfast 2 pastries and serial simple machine coffee and juice with packet toast. It's on the 4th floor but with elevator and close to buses from termini station (ie bus 84) and to repulic square metroe. We are a young coupe 26 and 27 and we walked from the hotel to all of ancient Rome district including colosseum for example the trevi fountain is approx 1.4 km away and it's a nice walk. Another plus is that it's just off from the tourist area and some nice budget resturAnts in the area. To conclude this is 2 star hotel is perfect for our needs and hate backpacker hostels. If your looking for a4 star hotel keep in mind this is not the place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Margaret Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margaret Rome

Address: Via Antonio Salandra 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Margaret Rome 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel margaret had changed the owner and the imagine of all structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Margaret Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaret Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margaret Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.