We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stella to your Saves list
Hotel Stella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelfidardo, 51, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #633 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in mid-July. The hotel staff, in particular, the two ladies at the reception, Jana and Rodica, were very friendly and helpful. I took their assistance while planning this trip and they promptly replied to all email messages. Since we were travelling with children and arriving early in the day, we requested for an early check-in. They had kept the room ready for us. The room was cozy and comfortable. The location was just perfect...about 10 minutes walk from Roma Termini station. The breakfast was basic but sufficient. The croissants were delicious.... There were many restaurants nearby where we had our meals. We had a wonderful stay in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    134
    104
    29
    21
See reviews for
63
96
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Terrace, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We only needed a room for one night just to sleep and have a shower before our train ride back to catch our flight early the next morning. Unfortunately we ended up lying awake till 2AM due to the constant noise! We were on the 3rd floor.
This room was the worst of our whole 2-week Italy trip. The only positive thing is the powerful air conditioner. The walls are so paper thin we could here everything from in the hallways to the streets to our horribly loud neighbors in the room next to us. Now I know why the Welcome Hotel Piram in Rome where we stayed for 4 days at the beginning of our trip had double paned windows. Construction was going on outside from 10pm-1:30am. Trash collection was picking up cans/bottles and dumping them into into the back of the truck. When our next door neighbors came in at 10:30pm we couldn't believe we could hear their full conversation, constant cell phone ringing, and laughter till 2AM! Even when they plugged something into the wall it freaked me out because it sounded like they were in the room...the walls are so thin!
The shower leaked over half bathroom floor, the toilet's water container up by the ceiling had so much condensation on it it would drip onto the tiolet seat/lid, and then it made a dripping sound all night. The towels are some weird flat cloth, like a giant kitchen cooking towel. I had never seen a bath towel like this anywhere else we stayed in Italy.
Be prepared to leave your room key every time you go out as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Hotel Stella is a short (5 min) walk away from the Termini Station (main railroad, metro and bus) in Rome. We stayed 4 days or so for a brief overview of Rome. The room (triple) was small but adequate (typical European). Decent bathroom. A/C worked well and was necessary during the high heat (well over 38C/100F). It can be easy to get turned around in Termini, so take a map with you. If you need help, exit Termini to the bus depot side, then head towards the car park which should be towards your right. A couple of blocks over is a small plaza, the road for the hotel is off the plaza.

Breakfast was very good, again typical Euro breakfast - cereal (muesli), juices, tea/coffee, sweet rolls and toast/jam/honey/etc. Pre-pay in advance or pay as you go, either is a good deal compared to the local cafes. Breakfast starts at 7:30 AM.

Quibbles are small. Wifi is only available on Floor 0 (reception). The shower opening is tight - if your chest is over 42" or so, it will be a tight squeeze! Not difficult, but I am not used to the smallish opening.

Reception was very helpful. English was very good overall, much better than my Italian.

We recommend the Hotel Stella and would return without question. Being close to Termini we would go out early (8-8:30), return around 12:30 for a siesta/respite, then go out again around 4-ish after the worst of the heat. Easy when it is so convenient.

Also, if you take the bus to the FCO airport, the hotel is on the correct (closer) side of Termini where Terravision Cafe is located for the return journey. Saves you a few steps with luggage.

Room Tip: Elevator takes 2 ppl max, so if you are more than 2, request a room on a lower floor. Floor 2 is whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Stella Hotel at the end of May. Location is really perfect and easy to go anywhere you would like. Having to take the train to Venise, made it really easy to be at the Stella Hotel. Wi-Fi was available, but only in the computer room, not in our bedroom and 1 night we had an issue with the night clerk, so had to sit in the lobby in front of the reception to use the internet... but that was taken care the next morning and once home, we even received an update on the issue we had and they excused themselves for it... So Customer service is important for them and very much appreciated by us.
Room is rather small... View was non existant since it was showing us the interior courtyard, with construction... but we weren't there for that.
Shower is "extremely" small and with an overhead shower, it's not very easy to take a shower. Plus the water was going from cold to very hot... and there is no place to move, so that wasn't fun.
Breakfast is VERY basic, but from my experience in Italy, that's the norm.
Room was clean, but the maid will start her work on our floor around 8h00 and would be very noisy with her supplies, so it would wake us up every morning.
Washcloth and towels are mainly what in Canada we use to wash and dry the dishes... same type of material...
They suggested to us a restaurant called the Famiglia... BEST EVER!!! and at a very good price... so I would strongly suggest it.
Overall, considering it's in Rome and the location... I would probably stay there again... at least it's close to Termini and La Famiglia!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed there from 17th/June 2012 for three nights.It located in a nice and quiet area which is only unless 10 mins walk to Termini(Central train station in Rome) where you can access to anywhere very easily by Metro. Our room is not big, but the space is enough for two people. The bathrrom is quite small. The drain of the shower isn't very good. I stopped in the middle of my shower every time in order to drain the water quickly. There was no air-con in the room. It would be more comfortable if they put one there.

The breakfast was simple, to be honest it was a surprise that they only offered you two breads in the morning.althought I know it was typical continental brekfast but I was still a little bit disappointed. Luckily there was a supermarketjust around the corner, you can buy daily supply there such as water, bread, snacks ,biscuits etc etc.You'd better buy some water before you go to town because the water can be 2 euros a bottle in the busy sightseeing place. Some restaurants around the hotel but I didn't go any of them so I don't know the quality .

The people from reception were ok, typical receptionists. I wouldn't say they were cold but you could tell they were just doing their jobs. One thing I found quite annoying was you have to leave your key in the reception everytime when you go out. The reception is 24 hours but personally I prefer go to my room straight away after a long day rather than report to the reception and get the key back.

It wasn't a bad hotel at all . I do underastand every one is different and has different expectations. This is just what I thought about the hotel. If you wanna stay in a good location please go ahead, if you need a luxury stay then this hotel is definately no good for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stella is an easy 5-7 minute walk to Termini, the central train/bus station, which makes getting anywhere you want to go super easy. The neighborhood was quiet (OK, you'll hear some traffic noise and sirens - as you will in any large city - but with the windows closed for the night, it didn't bother us) and we felt very safe walking around. A/C worked, water was hot and our beds were comfortable. The breakfast was ample - we all ate a lot! - and offered a good variety. We are a family of 4 (children ages 10 and 12) and were very comfortable in the corner quad room on the 5th floor which overlooks a lovely garden. Two good restaurants nearby are Florians and Ristorante Famiglia (around the corner and a couple of blocks down on the left). Stella is not fancy but does offer everything you need at a great value and we all recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed here on our way to our holiday in corfu .the room was nice but very small there was no resturant but there were plenty of places to go to eat.breakfast was verey basic but ok .the hotel was very noisey as when we stayed there were lots of teanagers staying that thought it was fun to run up and down the corridore knocking on eachothers doors .when we booked we were told that there was parking but when we arived no parking and we had to park round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Via Castelfidardo, 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Hotel Rome
Hotel Stella Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.